We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Houses Elegant Suites to your Saves list
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 stars 516 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow - what service at Mill Houses.

Champagne on arrival, breakfast to our room every morning at a time convenient to us, weather updates, impeccable cleaning, amazing staff.....need I go on?

A special mention to Nenard the waiter/bar staff, who helped my boyfriend set up his proposal to me. He went out of his way to set the secret up - before this being our own personal trip advisor.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHousesSantorini, Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a real pleasure for us to have you in the Mill Houses elegnat and an honour that you chose to share such a special moment as your proposal with us. We wish you all the best for your life together and hope to see you again soon.

Best of wishes from the Mill Houses team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    83
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
368
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Its hard to start this review as every other review on here is absolutely glowing! Based on these reviews is why we chose to stay at Mill Houses so maybe we went in expecting too much however, our experience was just not WOW....

Upon arrival the room wasnt ready even though it was past check in time and that was fine it didnt take too long before we were in. We received 2 glasses of sparkling wine as a welcome drink which was very nice to enjoy whilst looking out over the caldera.

Our stay was for 8 nights hence our disappointment on a few things. The room we had was tiny and I would say the smallest in the place. This wasnt an issue at first but upon seeing the other 2 rooms next door to us (which were twice the size) VERY disappointing. We booked months in advance so you would think this would be taken into consideration. People who were staying 1 or 2 nights had the much better rooms. The other issue was the pool area which is tiny with only 4 sun lounges. Now I know there is very little space for pools on the caldera cliff and we were aware of this however not one day in the 8 days could we get on a sun lounge!! Fortunately we had hired a motorbike so we could go to the beach which was lovely but it would have been nice to utilise the hotel facilities at some stage during our stay.

The view from our room was distorted by TV antennas and we were right on top of a hot noisy air conditioner. Personally there were a lot of better options in this location and I was kicking myself I didnt choose one of them instead. Admittedly we were there in high season but for the money paid it was not worth it.

On the good side the housekeeping lady Maria was a dream! So efficient and helpful and a pleasure to see on a daily basis. The breakfast is great served to you at your room or you can take it in the hotel restaurant. Plenty of variety and you could order a latte which was awesome! Location is also perfect lots of restaurants on the door step and a short walk into Fira town. I would recommend the location but choose one of the other hotels if I went back to Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHousesSantorini, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do value the opinions of our customers and we are truly sorry to read about your disappointment. Should we have known how frustrated you were by the room you had, we would have tried to give you another one, even for some of the days of your stay.
We always put all our efforts to make staying a pleasant experience for our visitors, and to help them enjoy their vacations in Santorini.
Regarding the pool area, we are aware of the problem, but unfortunately we do not have any more space for more sun beds.
As for the antennas in front of your room, they belong to the hotel and houses underneath. Please be aware that we have filed several complaints to the Municipality about them, but they do not seem to have the will to help us sort this out.
Thank you for your kind comments about Maria, we are proud to have her on our team.
We would also like to thank you about your comments on our breakfast. We are happy to know that you enjoyed.
Again we truly apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory to you and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts to us.

We wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Santorini is a beautiful place. A great hotel such as this one can only make your holiday there better. The location is perfect (only Imerovigli might be considered better), the hotel very nice and the staff and service impeccable! Obviously, it is pricey but all hotels facing the caldera are.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHousesSantorini, General Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Mill Houses elegant suites and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel soon!

Best of regards from the Mill Houses team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We have spent two days during our wedding trip to Santorini in this place. And it was really great.
Staff is helpful and friendly.
The Mill Suite is so nice! And it was great to have our breakfast on that cozy personal veranda with the caldera view.
And also the food we have ordered there for dinner was very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHousesSantorini, General Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to accommodate you in the Mill Houses elegant suites and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your suite, the service and the food.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in Santorini!

Best of regards from the Mill Houses team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were blown away by Mill House and in particular the staff. The staff were extremely helpful on arrival and advised us of what to do and where to go. Nenand (did I spell that right?) is a legend and always happy to help and made us feel welcome. If you can afford the suites go for them as the view is breath taking. The studios are cheaper for a reason but still beautifully clean and offer breakfast served on the balcony. Slight down side is that Mylos restaurant is above the studios, however there is minimal noise. There is a shop near by to buy water, plenty of restaurants and bus stops close by to get to other parts of the island. Fantastic stay, very relaxing and great food/drinks/service. Thanks to whoever came to drop off my camera after I'd left it in the room after check out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The view from this hotel is stunning as it is built into the cliff face! Even with the island wide blackout they did an amazing job providing almost every service!!
A few points to mention that caused little hiccups. When we arrived we were informed that there had been a fault in the wiring in our room as a result of the blackout and we would need to stay in their "sister hotel" for our first night but would be able to get into our room after breakfast the next day. While a little put out, there was nothing else to be done. We got ourselves settled in our room only to find our only window opened onto a main thoroughfare which had people trekking past at all hours of the night, the room was also significantly older and smaller than the one we had initially booked. After breakfast the next day, we enquired about our new room, only to be informed that " the people in there had not checked out yet" so in reality, it is unlikely there was a fault, the hotel was just overbooked! Not a huge issue, just wish they had been honest with us from the start and possibly lowered the nightly rate for the one night, in the end, they covered one of our dinners at an affiliated restaurant which was very generous and appreciated!
Once in our new room everything was smooth sailing, the breakfast delivered to you room, to eat in peace on your private balcony overlooking the caldera was divine! The staff, faultless! Location perfect!

*please note, ratings based on stay in mill houses room, not sister hotel*

Room Tip: Ask for a room up the top, the stairs become quite torturous in the midday heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHousesSantorini, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do value the opinions of our customers and we are truly sorry for the problems in your room at the first night.
Unfortunately due to the electricity issues that occurred in Santorini during August, we focused too much in our effort to manage the problems that caused by, that we unfortunately miss our goal to a perfect service. For this we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies.
We are please to read that other than that you enjoyed your staying with us, and also your appreciation about our dining.

We wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night, as they were fully booked for the rest of our stayed. We wish we could have stayed longer! The views from the poolside are amazing and an ice cold FIX was a welcome on a hot day! We really enjoyed the ability to choose your own breakfast items from the a la carte menu. This was the best breakfast option we had in Santorini. The staff was very accommodating and even lugged our bags up the steps and took us to the port when we departed - all free of charge! We were really impressed and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHousesSantorini, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, even though you stayed only for one night. Your positive comments are very much appreciated and we hope you enjoyed a very memorable time in Santorini. Thank you very much for your recommendations and we hope to see you again in your next vacations.
We wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Houses Elegant Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Address: Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#6 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#8 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Houses Elegant Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The endless Aegean sea... Deep blue flirting with pigments of rugged stone... The breathtaking Caldera, as in a picture from a famous postcard... At the bay of Firostefani, on the stately rock that bridges the sky with the sea, the whitewashed figure of Mill Houses Boutique Hotel & Suites in Santorini, looks like hovering over the mesmerizing cliff. With a unique view to the volcano of Santorini - the symbol of power of a sea that historically united cultures - our hospitable suites seem entangled in an indiscernible dialogue with the mythical elements of the island. Live an unforgettable experiece at our dreamlike Boutique Santorini Hotel & Suites in Firostefani. Honeymoon in Santorini ? Make it an experience of a lifetime. We can skillfully organize your Santorini wedding according to your needs and wishes. Our Santorini boutique hotel offer honeymoon suites with verandas overlooking the Volcano island. Honeymoon in Santorini with hundreds romantic getaways, a perfect beginning to your new life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mill Houses Elegant Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Houses Studios Hotel Firostefani
Mill Houses Studios And Suites
Mill Hotel Studios
Mill Houses Elegant Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Houses Elegant Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.