We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments to your Saves list
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Firostefani, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London (South African)
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We booked the studio at Blue dolphin in May and then closer to our trip, there was a few reviews that caused me a bit of concern and I was wondering whether we made a mistake, but we didn't and we had a wonderful time. Our studio was on the first floor and although the room was very small, it was spotless and we had a wonderful view of the caldera and even a small table and chairs just outside our room. The studio rooms at Blue Dolphin is a wonderful answer if you are on a bit of a budget. For the same price you can probably get a larger room in town, but having a caldera view is a must when visiting Santorini. Yes, there are about 40 plus steps, but this is the caldera and the majority of hotels will have steps and lots of them. The hotel is in Firostefanie and not Fira and that may be why one of the reviewers felt it was far from everything. It is about a 20 minute stroll along the caldera to Fira and it is such a beautiful walk, you would not mind doing it twice a day! It is also a nice (uphill) walk to Imerovigli. We hired an ATV to explore the island and pop to the beaches on the other side.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    66
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
320
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed in May at this beautiful hotel!!
The service was excellent and the view was so grand....
I can only say we missed it and wish we were there..
Alexis the owner is always there to help and answer questions..
The rooms are clean and the breakfast is a nice buffet with the best greek yogurt and homemade jam..from his mother :)

We are going back next year..
We highly recommmended....
A romantic place ..quiet and luxirious!!

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My stay at the Blue Dolphins hotel was a delightful surprise. I was in the hotel's only cave house, which seemed unusual at first because it was quite large and I was traveling alone but it ended up adding to the overall experience being in Santorini. The rooms were very clean though the cave did get a bit humid. It would have been perfect for a family. There was a bedroom with queen-sized bed in one room and 2 twins and 2 day beds in the other with 2 bathrooms, kitchenette, and a private little courtyard with a table. The room itself did not have a view, however the balcony for the hotel did at it was spectacular. Blue Dolphins is the perfect location if you want to be close to Fira but not right in the middle of it. It was near the pedestrian path so plenty of great restaurants were only minutes away. An evening stroll down the pedestrian path after the sun goes down is a must!!! I do recommend renting a car (which the hotel can arrange) if you want to see the rest of the island like Oia. While breakfast itself was not worth raving about, the spectacular view of the caldera made it a good way to start the morning. I think the rest of the hotel had free wireless, but the cave did not. I couldn't even get a phone signal so that is something to keep in mind if you are thinking of staying in a cave house anywhere on the island. Also, the hotel can arrange transfers to and from the ferry which runs around 20 euros each way.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is in the Firostefani which is far away from Oia and Fira. You need to walk 20 minuts with many steps to Fira bus station. Although there is a but stop near the hotel,but fee bus will stop as the but always full loaded.
The staff is apathy,thers is 50 steps to the hotel, no one comes out to take the cases for the customer.
And the reception is amost not there forever,I wait for 30 minutes to check out, the staff comes me then argue with me why I not told him I will check out currently.
No restaurant near the hotel, everything is in fair,you need to walk 20 minutes to find a restaurant.
The price is too high, you can find a better on in fira with the price they offer. I will never recommend this hotel to my friend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

The view is unbelievable ! Spetacular! You have your breakfast overlooking the Caldera -just perfect!
Location is excellent, few minutes walk from the busy Fira. Some parking space available (which is quite rare around there!). Transfers, boat trip to the Volcano (highly recommended!!) , rental car can all be arranged as described on previous reviews. Owner extremely helpful, gave us a great brief about the Island; Rooms are very confortable and clean making our stay really special.
Overall very good value for money , highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We were very happy with the Blue Dolphins! We had helpful correspondence with Alexis, the owner, before arriving. He arranged a transfer for us from/to the ferry, provided pages of restaurant and "to do" recommendations for us upon arrival, and good discussion about them as well. We also had a two-day car rental included in the price, very nice.

The views from the breakfast terrace can't be real, but they are! We couldn't take enough photos. Our room was right next to the terrace and was large. Our doors opened to the terrace view of the sea and our window opened to the view of all the beautiful white structures cascading down the caldera and the sea. We had a wardrobe, dresser, tv (didn't watch), fridge; an extra room with table & chairs and an extra sink/counter; and the bathroom. Like all the showers we encountered in Greece, the engineering is different. This one has curtains, but no dam, so a shared floor with the rest of the bathroom. Surprisingly, the water drains into the floor drain well and it dried very quickly.

Breakfast was great with eggs, yogurt and honey, sweet cakes, good coffee, juice.

We would definitely stay here again! Alexis and his staff really took care of us and we got that real family feel that we like.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed in a Blue Dolphins' Apartment next to the veranda where breakfast was served. The view was great. The room was large and easy to find. It was a 15 minute walk downhill to Fira. There is a small market and restaurants within a few minute walk. The staff was great and the breakfast had a good selection with homemade cake or sweet bread each morning. The room included the use of a rental car for a portion of the stay. Really good value for the room. I'd stay here again. The only downsides: we wanted to sleep in, but the breakfast noise from the veranda woke my wife, so light sleepers ask for a room away from the veranda. Also, I never had any problems with the hot water, but the wife said that when she tried to shower in the late morning, there was none left.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Address: Firostefani, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphins is situated in the village of Firostefani, which is a 10 minute walk from the capital village of Fira (through a beautiful pedestrian path on the caldera). We have the privilege of being at a magical location in terms of view and peace of scenery, but also close to the restaurants, bars and nightlife of Fira, the capital of Santorini. Blue Dolphins is also connected to the picturesque village of Imerovigli which is also just a 10 minute walk through a pedestrian path on the caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.