We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel on the caldera” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ilias

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 3 more sites!
Villa Ilias
Firostefani Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save Up to 25%
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Firostefani
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A budget hotel on the caldera”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a solid budget hotel at somewhat inflated prices, due to its excellent location on the caldera. Our room (#7) was extremely small but very clean and well-kept with modern furnishings. Technically it was a caldera view room but really it was a view of the pool and terrace umbrellas with some water beyond. Because it opened up directly onto the pool area, we did have some noise issues with kids and partying travelers, but nothing you wouldn't expect at a major tourist location in high season.

Terrace and pool are small - you have to go early for a sunset seat - but you can't beat the view. Buffet breakfast also very nice. I noticed a lot of reviews of their cave houses so I can't speak to those, but I'm not sure I'd stay in the standard rooms again. It seems like it would be worth it to save up for a bigger room or a fancier hotel.

Room Tip: Room 7 opens straight onto the pool - may or may not be a selling point, depending on your desire fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    104
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
251
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dudley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our 5th time to Santorini and villa ilias is one of the best spots on the island. We stayed for two weeks in one of their lovely cave houses. The terrace is a great sun trap but had no problem sleeping due to the all day cool cave. There are two cave houses set about 2 minutes walk away from the main building and breakfast / reception room. Resturants, mini markets and bars are close by, and it is about 15 minute coastal walk to Fira.
The veiws are fantastic, we spent a lot of time on the terrace, watching the cruise ships ,sun bathing, reading and drinking the local wine watching the sun go down. Our cave house was spotlessly clean, and was kept so on a daily basis by the very cheerful staff. There was a good size fridge , typical two ring hob, coffee maker and even a small oven, enough to make your own meals if you so wished.
Breakfast is included, this was buffet style, and had a large selection of items with something new every morning. Even after two weeks we still enjoyed having breakfast on the out door patio. Some may find the pool area is little small but the veiws from there are even better than the cave house. The pool is a great treat after a long day out, especially considering any pool is an additional luxury on the caldera.
Pauline, George and all the staff were very helpfull and friendly. Nothing was a problem for them, and they are full of recommendations.
All in all, great value for money, and i would strongly recomend anyone to stay here.
We will certainly do so.

Room Tip: All rooms have a/c, but the cave house is cool without using the a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great 3 day stay relaxing,Firostefani ,postcard views . Excellent stay here in Santorini the most wonderful awe inspiring views. George and Pauline and staff are great breakfast quiches are lovely and very quiet area stayed in exclusive room fabulous view from bed try Simos restaurant 30 metres past main square lovely food home style..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Villa Ilias is a very nice hotel made even more special by owners Pauline and George, two of the most gracious hosts we have ever met. It didn't have to turn out this way. We made a sudden decision at the last minute to return to Santorini at the end of our Greek island tour and at the end of June that can be a problem when it comes to finding quality hotels on the caldera. But George responded quickly to our email queries and had us set up with reservations in a short time. He apologized for not being able to keep us in the same room for all 4 days (which didn't bother us because of our last minute reservation) and ended up putting us for two nights in the nicest room in the hotel -- room number 1 if you're wondering. It has a great balcony overlooking the hotel pool below and then the wide expanse of island and ocean below. It's the kind of place that makes you want to walk back out on the balcony every few minutes to check the view. The rooms themselves are very nice: clean, of course, nicely furnished, some with kitchenettes, good air conditioners for no extra charge (important in late summer), comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and a pleasant pool with a great view from the deck. Breakfasts were excellent, with the standards plus hard-boiled eggs, freshly-made quiches, breads, and other pastries, and plenty to drink. Perfect for a patio breakfast. And again, the staff is friendly and helpful, led especially by George and Pauline. We'd spend a month in this place, and we'd go back next week. The final consideration: the price is very reasonable, and considering the placement on the caldera, downright inexpensive. G&P--thanks for a great stay and a really nice end to our trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool, but there never seemed to be a noise problem with those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to stay here for 3 days and it was the best trip in so far I had travelled.
Convenient, with supermarket, gelato shops and restaurants nearby.
Breakfast was not bad, and the view was fantastic.
We chose the one with the caldera view and it was worth the price. Got to see the one of the best sunsets in the world.
Plus, they had a stove and several kitchen utensils for you to cook if you feel like saving abit of money.
Great service with friendly staff, would recommend this hotel if anyone is heading Santorini!
Cheers. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vejen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is one of the best spot to see the amazing and famous sunset in Santorini.Just 15 minutes walk from main center in Fira and 15 minutes from Imerovigli.I stay only one night and get the best room with privat balcony on the roof -just marvelous!!! I expect some simple room with not very good view ,but this ...this was amazing for me !!!The staffs was perfect,for wellcome I get a free beer ,map .The bus station was about 50 -100 meters from the hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The view. The location. The friendly staff. The breakfast. So much value for money and a lot more. We have only the hightest of praise for Villa Llias. Thank you Pauline and George and the rest of the staff for one of the best weeks we had on our trip to Europe. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Ilias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias

Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Hotel
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Santorini/Firostefani
Address: Firostefani Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breath taking views that areunique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous Volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ilias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ilias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Ilias to your Saves list