We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your point is the Island and not the hotel then ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Margarita Hotel to your Saves list
Margarita Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Firostefani 11, Firostefani 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Firostefani
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If your point is the Island and not the hotel then ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a decent place to stay. Clean and very pretty building. The staff is sweet and you feel like you have visited a family friend's home. It is easy to travel north and south from this place as it is kind of in the center of the island. In all, if where you stay is not important, then a good budget place to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    23
    10
    17
See reviews for
5
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We picked up a last minute all inclusive seven day holiday to the Hotel Margarita in late October. The flight was on time, the transfer bus waiting, and Hotel rooms ready on arrival. The hotel is family run with a number of English speaking staff, all of whom were very helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy, although the beds seem a little hard, and the buffet style food offered a good selection of salads and hot dishes. The pool is clean and tidy although there seems to be quite a lot of flies about. There was some entertainment in the evening, although this was geared to the families and children. All in all good value for money, and the sun shone every day!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the front ,to get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Family run Hotel we were there in October and the tourists had slowed down, we were picked up from the ferry and taken to the hotel, it was the middle for the day but we found the staff was just going thru the paces.
We are senior married couple and given room with single beds, on asking for a double bed was given another room. Very small, and very hard bed.
Location was good and we booked it with Island package tour not known what we paid for accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a family owned and operated hotel , located in a town Firostefani, it is about 10 min walk up the hill from the nearest bus stop. The hotel's room is small but very clean , insludes private terrace, and shared swimming pool area. The personnel is friendly and welcoming, they gladly share maps and useful information about the town. There is a short walk to see beautiful view of the town. The price was affordable ($65) per night. The bus ride to Oia is just 15 min away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Margarita Hotel is a small, friendly, family run hotel within walking distance of the town ( and I am 67) and close to good restaurants and good positions to watch the sunset. There is a bus stop close by for the town and Oia. We were met at the port and were served a cup of coffee on our terrace on arrival at the hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful on all occasions. We loved being able to sit on our terrace to enjoy the view and to watch the donkeys/mules parade by in the mornings and evenings. The pool was a good size and everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was basic, but who cares when the atmosphere is so pleasant..

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I didn't mind it here at all. I had a room right off the pool which was nice. The bed, while not luxurious, wasn't miserable at all. There is AC in the rooms and though I had to move things around to accommodate my needs, I did manage to find space to do a little bit of a workout in the rooms. This was before I discovered the 'work out room' next to the pool. The equipment isn't exactly in working order but there are some weights and it's a nice idea. Also there are some mats there which are nice to have access to. I didn't use it but I know my neighbors really enjoyed the sauna there.

Probably not the most important information to be sharing to most folks, sorry!

The rooms were decent however I had a minor infestation with ants-those little tiny ones so small that you can't bring yourself to kill them because a breeze goes by and they just blow away-those ones. However, they were there and it's worth mentioning. I personally had no problems with the bathrooms but yes, you did have to deal with splashing water all over the room-even with the odd semi circular shower curtain. After so many travels I'm used to this so no problem to me.

Breakfast-served to each person on a tray(brought out by the owner)-cold cuts, cheese, toast, a muffin and yogurt. Your choice of coffee or tea and juice. You won't get fat on this breakfast but it'll get you out the door!

Location: It's a very short walk up the hill to get to the main center of Fira and all the restaurants and shops. Also from up there you can look down on the Caldera area which by anybody's standards is simply beautiful. If you walk just a short distance, you'll be at the best restaurant I enjoyed while in Greece, called the Taverna Romantica-an authentic Santorinian restaurant that the hotel staff suggested to me. There aren't spectacular views to be had from this hotel in comparison to the rest of the island, but they aren't too shabby, either.

Value and Service: For under 50 Euros per night during high season (July), I can't complain about very much here. Having a pool is really nice for when you just want to sit and reflect on your journey, and the staff was great about letting me stay in the room until my boat left (at midnight) for Rhodos. They also gave me a ride to the port that night. I cannot wait to return to Santorini and I would not complain about staying here agian.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This place offers relatively good location, balcony in the room with ocean view, short walk to Fira Center, descent breakfast. However, the room size is small and cluttered, most doors don't work well, shower splashes the entire bathroom, toilet and toilet rolls, and this problem could easily be resolved with a simple shower curtain. Staff did not offer much information, including basic and practical info for first time visitors to Santorini, unless one asks very specifically. Shuttle service was very helpful and prompt.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Hotel

Address: Firostefani 11, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Margarita Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Margarita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Firostefani
Margarita Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.