We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Nureyev” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tsitouras Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tsitouras Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tsitouras Collection Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Firostefani 84 700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Firostefani
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“House of Nureyev”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in The House of Nureyev for 4 days in September'13. What an unforgettable experience. Eleni and her husband George treated us like family.

It's hard to put into words the experience at the Tsitouras Collection Hotel. The room was beautiful, quiet and private.

Waking up and having breakfast on the private balcony, overlooking the caldera, watching the cruise ships approaching the port of Fira.

Then there is the amazing pool, and the friendly efficiency of the staff - Eleni's recommendations on where to eat , always making sure we have a table reserved and George's advice on places to explore were great.

You get great hotels with indifferent service, but not here... everything is just perfect. In fact, I feel like I've been spoiled and will never encounter such a unique experience again.

George and Eleni knows the secret of giving their guests a truly relaxing and stress free holiday, thank you very much!

11 out of 10 !

Room Tip: Each room is unique- Review the hotel website and choose what suites your taste and requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent four nights at The House of Winds , one of five apartment/Villas , and from the moment we were picked up at the airport to the time we were dropped back our stay could not have been any better . George and Eleni are the most wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble . As we were two married couples travelling our Villa was a two bedroom with two bathrooms , perfect , and more than ample room for us all . The location is perfect , a 10-15 minute stroll into Fira with lots of cafes , shops along the way . Even my fear of heights palled into insignificance at the amazing views to be had from both the pool deck and courtyard .. I would highly recommend The Tsitouras Collection to everyone , try and find fault , I couldn't !!!!

Room Tip: The House of Winds is perfect for two couples or small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

George and Eleni treat their guests like family. The hotel is Eleni's baby and it shows, she is passionate about it and wants to make every guest's experience a happy one.It comprises of 5 very large, individually designed rooms, plus a 3 bedroom villa. It is a stroll to restaurants and shops and a 10-15 minute walk into Fira. Nothing is too much effort for George and Eleni - they will advise on restaurants, car hire, day trips and arrange all for you. On our first evening, George recommended a few restaurants, made a booking for us and then walked us to the restaurant- where would you find that kind of service? There is a lovely pool which as it serves only the 5 rooms, no worrying about getting a bed by the pool! The views are amazing, and unlike a lot of hotels on the Caldera side, there are not many steps. In other words, we cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Eleni and George for a wonderful 5 days. Beautiful hotel, which actually felt like we were staying with friends. Food was fantastic at the resort with breakfast being our favorite meal. We looked forward to breakfast each night as we went to sleep. Eleni and George planned our whole vacation to perfection, with reservations at restaurants, car rental and seaside beach chairs. We were quite stressed that we left our two ypung children with my in-laws who live in central Europe, but after a few short days of being pampered, we were so relaxed. We are looking forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strombeek-Bever, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and fell in love from the very first moment. The personal approach eleni and georgi have is amazing. They make you feel at home and ensure instant happiness. While they give you the amazing background information of their place you are breathtaking with the caldera view you have from their brilliant rooftopterrace. Without a doubt the best swimming pool and lounge terrace of santorini.
We stayed in "the house of sea" which is a very spacious and luxurious suite. You have all the comfort you need and a very good bed! Because of all the artwork and the history off the house you have a special feeling throughout the whole place.
The breakfast in the morning is a true breakfast for kings! Everything is fresh and from local products.
In the evenings we had dinner in 3 restaurants they recommended and it was everytime perfect.
We will return for sure as, although we have visited already many 5 star hotels, this is a hotel that stays in your mind. We felt like kings and want to thank the whole staff for making us feel like this!

Room Tip: Because they only have 5 suites every room is good. We had the house of sea and can't complain a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are tired of hotels, and villas are either expensive or requiring plenty of supplemental services there is a hybrid model for you which I can describe as heaven on earth.
It is the Tsitouras Collection
A modern collection,made of four miniature villas nestled in a historic setting combining the old world and the new. Amenities galore , fabulous service and owners who treat their guests like an extended family. Every place for rent in Santorini brags about their views that is because they all have fantastic views but none like the setting at the Tsitouras. with a large private infinity pool and terraces that provide you with a180 degree of unobstructed breath taking caldera, not shared by tens of hotel guests.A choice of spacious,extremely modernized , with unique flavor villa like rooms in contrast to the usual hotels . A piece of heaven on earth ... If that is not enough for you they have detached villa about 15 feet from the collection that could accommodate 3 couples with the same outstanding views , service and private pool , Eleni and George are the most fantastic, helpful ,gracious and knowledgable hosts. They make you feel as if you are an extension of their family.
For us, and for all mature seasoned travelers , this is the best place to be, period!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our two days at this gorgeous hotel were somewhat eventful, but nothing to do with the hotel itself. The day we landed on the island, a fire at the island's power station wiped out the entire supply and we had pretty much no power for our entire two days' stay. It was disappointing as we were not able to experience the stunning hotel to its full potential - the lack of basics such as running water and lighting made for an interesting stay!

We felt so sorry for our hosts Eleni and George who are marvellous. I know the situation caused them a lot of stress as it meant they were not able to provide the perfect service to which they aspire, but they did their very best under the circumstances, providing an adequate breakfast, water in the room for washing and candles at night.

The hotel really is stunning... gob smackingly so, actually! It is littered with antiquities and has the most incredible views I have ever seen. Our stay - despite the power problems - was magical and we have such fond memories of our two days. We were unable to charge our phones and George even offered to drive around in his car to charge them - this shows the quality of the service this gorgeous couple provide!

For both our two nights, George had arranged tables at two wonderful restaurants and we felt honoured to have experienced two very special gems, which we would not have done would it not be for George's recommendation.

We fell in love with the hotel, its wonderful hosts, and this beautiful island and will certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tsitouras Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tsitouras Collection Hotel

Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#1 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tsitouras Collection Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mansion that forms the nucleus of the Tsitouras Collection was built in 1780. It was renovated in 1985 by the art collector Dimitris Tsitouras, who converted it into five units, each with a separate theme and name, all demonstrating his personal style and respect for the Greek tradition and the needs of modern travellers. Each suite has a complimentary wet bar, CD player, satellite TV, DVD, direct dial phone and safety deposit boxes. All bathrooms are in Greek white marble and fully equipped. An a-la-carte breakfast is served, and lunch and dinner are also available in this boutique hotel. In 2010, a pool was been built on the Maria Callas Terrace where guests can enjoy snacks and refreshing cocktails.Located at the quite village of Firostefani, a 10 minute walk from the main town of Fira. Easily accessible via air and boat transportation, 8 Km from Santorini airport and Athinios port. The Tsitouras Collection is a boutique small luxury hotel in Santorini, facing one of the most breathtaking views in the world. It consists of 5 suites only, each with a separate theme and name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Tsitouras Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitouras Collection Firostefani
The Tsitouras Collection Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tsitouras Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.