We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Grand Suite a Must.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Rocks Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Rocks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Fira - Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Haymarket, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Grand Suite a Must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We had an absolutely great 6 night stay in September of 2008 at Sun Rocks. The place is spectacular - very white and very high above the sea. We travel a lot and have stayed at many of the finest 5 star resorts in the world from Aspen to French Polynesia to Zermatt - and the Sun Rocks is right up there with the best of them. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Santorini. The other high end places in Oia seem to be overpriced and a bit snooty (we checked them out while there and weren't too impressed), while I think you really get your money's worth at SR.

I have to say, though, that I would not have wanted to stay in any other room but the Grand Suite, which is the only room with a private pool. Many of the other rooms weren't private at all - but it turns out that privacy is rare commodity anywhere on the island. The terraces of the rooms at this resort, neighboring resorts and private houses are stacked up like cord wood; that's just the way it is. Even the grand suite has a public stairway practically coming right through the middle of it. The pool area, however, which is partially covered, has a totally private built-in couch in the back with a fabulous view over the infinity edge of the pool. This is the place to watch the sunset, drink some excellent local wine and light the huge lanterns that decorate the place as the light fades. There's even a CD player in this area so you can softly play some bouzouki music. Forget the expense, this room is a must in this hotel. In fact, a picture of the pool in "Islands" magazine is what alerted me to this property and prompted me to book this room. My only grievance is that the pool isn't heated and since it's partially shaded the water was rather chilly - watch out for shrinkage. They should have a solar heater, since there's never a cloud in the sky.

This suite also has a large, beautiful terrace with your choice of several sets of chaise lounges, potted olive trees and a killer view.

In general, the hotel is in a pleasant, quiet area well away from the absolutely ridiculous mobs of cruise ship passengers in Fira (don't stay there whatever you do). There are some good nearby restaurants (recommend Remvi) and two little grocery/wine stores right down the street. Allow a day or two to visit Oia - it's the epitome of Santorini, where all the pictures of blue domed churches are taken.

  • Liked — The particular room we had.
  • Disliked — Pool was chilly.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    46
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
3
202
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

My wife and I had an excellent stay at the Sun Rocks. We stayed there in mid August but I’m just now getting around to writing my review. The staff was very welcoming and professional and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.

Firostefani is a very pretty and quiet little cluster of hotels with some really good restaurants and a few shops. It’s a beautiful (but somewhat strenuous) 10 minute hike to Fira along the Cliffside walking path and a great place to stay if you want to a little more for your money and are willing to stay a bit further from the heart of the action. Tip: if you arrive by ferry, I highly recommend you have the hotel pick you up at the dock. It’s a long ride and would be very expensive by cab.

It was my birthday during our stay, and the staff gave us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries by the pool and also had a nice bottle of wine and some treats in our room later in the day. They really took care of all the details to make us feel special.

The staff helped us rent a four-wheeler for two days during our stay, which I highly recommend. It’s a great way to get around the island to see the other great spots in Santorini -- Oia, the beaches, the wineries, etc.

We stayed in the “Experience Suite”, which was very modern, clean and comfortable (yes, the room is just as beautiful as the pictures), but there are a few things I should mention. First, we didn’t mind and enjoyed the exercise, but you should know that the Experience Suite is at the very bottom of the cliffside – more than 200 stairs down from the hotel reception/the main path to Fira. The in-room hot tub looked amazing, but it took over an hour and a half to fill up with hot water, which was disappointing. The shower also looked great, but you couldn’t control the temperature control very well (water was either very cold or very hot; didn’t stay in a comfortable zone). Also, on the last night of our 4 night stay, the power went out on the whole island (apparently this happens fairly frequently). Everyone else got their power back within 30 minutes, but the surge protector in our room blew out and we never got power back. The hotel staff tried really hard to fix it, but after 2 hours they realized they needed a new part so they moved us to the Honeymoon Suite. The manager called us several times (from home) to apologize and go out of his way to accommodate us. He even gave us a credit on our bill for the inconvenience and let us stay in the Honeymoon Suite until 5pm the next day since our flight didn’t leave until the evening. This was totally beyond the hotel’s control and they went above and beyond to make us happy.

Overall, the Sun Rocks is top-notch and is a great choice for a perfect romantic getaway. My wife and I will definitely stay here when we come back!

  • Liked — Beautiful views, spacious and modern rooms, and staff's impeccable attention to detail
  • Disliked — at times the water temp control and pressure didn't work that great (as can be expected on an island)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at Sun Rocks for 6 nights at the beginning of July in 2008 for our honeymoon. What can I say, absolutely amazing. We booked a junior suite and were given probably the best one available - can't remember the number of the room, but it is on the bottom section, and there is a large wall to wall window at the foot of the bed in the bedroom that just out over the cliff - such an amazing view to wake up to each morning!

The pool was amazing, the breakfast fantastic, and the staff during our stay were amazing - the guy working the bar sat up late with us one night just to have a chat and served us free drinks all night (off the record of course)!

Liked the free internet room (although a lot of stairs to climb just to check your email), and the location was perfect - gave you the chance to walk along the cliffside to get to Fira.

To sum up - this hotel is amazing, the staff go out of your way and the little restaurant that seats 4 couples is highly recommended. Just beautiful. I was told to go to this hotel by at least 5 people who'd stayed here, and it really does live up to all the hype.

  • Liked — The view, the pool, the amazing ambience, the fact that no children or pets allowed! Pure luxury...
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Firstly, it was hard to find, if you were not careful and missed the small sign at the gate. We went up and down and all over the place to find it. It was not easy in the high heat, after a 6 hour boat ride climbing up and down and getting very frustrated. This alone put us in a bad mood. Once there, greeted with a nice cold glass of champagne, very appreciated. We had a jnr suite booked. the cost of this was approx $550 AUD p.nt. we received very nice glossy photos of the resort - nothing like it. Could not find anything that resembled the photos, parts of it doesnt belong to them any more, or they have changed things around. Initially disappointed with the suite, also you dont get your own verandah, so hope you get the chairs before the neighbours do. this only applies to the ones right in front of your door. The breakfast is delicious, very very good. The restaurant is very small and also very nice, the pool is small but does the job, the view however is MAGNIFICANT and the pool staff are just lovely. We were leaving very early, before the restaurant opened, so they gave us a menu to pick and they will deliver the food. Well....I have never seen anything like it, and we travel 4 months every year. there was soooo much food, I asked for yoghurt, thinking a small tub, got a full pasta like dish of it. Asked for a couple of slices of bread, got a half a loaf etc. all very very nice. the rooms were clean and comfortable, and traditional. Also very well situated.

  • Liked — its all about the view
  • Disliked — the climbing - you MUST be very fit!!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Well, I'm kinda torn about this hotel. The staff was great, it was clean, and the hotel itself was lovely. The food was GREAT and the view was spectacular. Our room was also very nice. However,we stayed in the Honeymoon suite and the location of our room was horrible. We were the first room right next to the reception. The worst part was the maids closet was on our porch and everytime she opened it (which was about 30 times a day) it sounded like someone was breaking into our room. And, one of our windows didn't shut, so it was very, very loud. And not at all private. We just figured that for how much we were paying, we would have some privacy, if not total privacy!

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Disliked — Location of our room and noise.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

This was our second time staying at Sun Rocks. The first time was in 2004. A lot has changed since then. In 2006, the two families that owned Sun Rocks decided to dissolve their partnership and split Sun Rocks into two. Half the rooms stayed as Sun Rocks and half became Mill Houses Studios & Suites. Because of this, the rooms are intermixed with each other. However, Sun Rocks maintained the pool and the Elea restaurant.

We had a Superior Suite (room 140). It was a great room. It had a private outdoor hot tub (a warm tub really as the water wasn’t that hot). I believe the only difference between the Junior Suites and the Superior Suites is the hot tub. The veranda was shared with four other rooms. While the veranda was shared with three other rooms, there was no pathway by it so it was relatively private.

One thing that you need to be aware of is no matter how private your veranda or balcony is, sound carries incredibly well throughout hotels in Firostefani. So, even though Sun Rocks is for couples only, the hotels surrounding it are not. This includes Mill Houses Studios & Suites. The reason I mention this is one of our favourite things to do on Santorini is to get a bottle of wine and some spanakopita & taziki and watch the sun set into the Adriatic. However, one night as we were doing this all we could hear were children playing “Marco Polo” from the pool from the hotel above us. For this reason I will give this tip – leave your kids at home! Santorini is for lovers not families.

The Elea restaurant is amazing. It’s small and romantic. It’s a must if you stay at this hotel.

The pool has deck “beds.” When we stayed at the hotel in 2004, getting deck lounge by the pool was quite difficult. One had to get down early to stake out your spot. We didin’t find this the case on this trip. Even though the hotel was at full capacity on our stay, there was always a bed available. The hotel provides towels to place on the bed as a cover to the mattress.

Sun Rocks is about a 15 minute walk from the town of Fira were many stores and restaurants are located. However, there is a little market store that sells groceries, a small bakery & coffee shop, as well as some restaurants within minutes of the hotel. Sun Rocks is located closest to the edge of the cliff of the caldera. This means that to get up to the walking paths to town one has to walk up a great number of stairs to get to the walk ways.

The hotel offers free Internet for it guests. It has a small room with a couple of computers in it with Internet access. There is also a small fridge in this room that has bottles of free water that you can drink while you surf the Web.

Breakfast is served at the pool restaurant. It’s buffet style and, if you choose, you can eat on the pool deck and look out onto the caldera. It’s truly an amazing view as you eat.

The staff was very courteous and friendly. If you had a request, they did their best to try to fulfill it.

  • Liked — The View!
  • Disliked — The stairs.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney AUSTRALIA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My husband & I stayed here in September 2008 in room 111
(junior suite) for 5 nights and loved everything:
The view
The room
The pool
Breakfast
The staff
And did I mention the view?
Sure, there are a lot of stairs(90 from our room to the pool area)
so it is not for the unfit or infirm but lots of places in Santorini have lots of stairs it is the nature of the place.
It is only a 15 minute walk to Fira with all its restaurants & bars along a lovely cliff walk.
Would definately return.
Julie from Australia

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Rocks Hotel

Address: Fira - Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous aesthetics abound, reflecting its luxurious, low-key, in-house lifestyle where complete peace and tranquility in a magical setting artfully combine with abodes flourishing in comfort, convenience and seduction. Enmeshed around it is the meticulous attention to detail that makes all great hotels bask in magnanimity, that has made Sun Rocks Hotel, a key destination, time and time again, for Santorini weddings and honeymoons, a prominent couples only hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sun Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Rocks Santorini
Sun Rocks Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Rocks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.