We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simos Taverna

Simos Taverna
Firostefani Main Road, Firostefani, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had dinner here one day during our stay.... Its a good one.... Recommended for dinner.... Service was good with reasonable place...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    102
    35
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food for take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We ordered at this place a take away menu yuvetsi and pastitsio! The food even though that was for take away was very tasteful with generous portions and a whole bread (not charged)! Price was reasonable for the quantity and quality being served! It is recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, great value, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and as everything is so inflated in price elsewhere, we didn't bother eating anywhere else.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. There was a good choice of dishes at very reasonable prices and everything we had was delicious. And the house wine was great and sooo cheap!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a meze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The waiters chose a selection of starters for us, and they were all delicious! Funny staff though - they try to convince you to eat something even if you want another dish!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I ate at Simos for a late lunch with my husband and some friends.

As soon as we walked in the owner was sitting at one of the tables with his family. He called the waiter and got us a table.

The waiter was lovely and funny, we ordered beers and he joked about getting one for himself because it was so hot. We asked him for recommendations and he ordered for us the white eggplant (which is one of the specialities of Santorini) and a spinach and feta pie, he also recommended lamb for me and I was so glad that he did! The lamb was a whole massive lamb shank cooked to perfection, the meat fell off the bone and it was cooked in tomatoes and onions and served with fried potatoes. The Greeks really know how to cook potatoes!

Simos is a place that reminded me of my grandparents kitchen and the food they used to make, it was like being a guest at Simos' house rather than his restuarant. A fantastic place and one I will recommend and come back to again and again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simos Taverna also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Simos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simos Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.