We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simos Taverna

Simos Taverna
Firostefani Main Road, Firostefani, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were recommended to visit by our hotel and decided to head out to them on our first evening. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter, who brought out a whole tray of starters to show us what was available. I chose the aubergine and my husband the mushrooms, both of which were delicious. Next I had a lovely home cooked moussaka and salad and my husband the fish, which the waiter recommended. It was beautifully prepared and my husband was delighted with his choice. We drank local wine, which was a little too like retsina for my taste, but my husband liked it. The waiters were chatty and tolerated our pathetic attempts to try out our Greek on them. We were also given free dessert. For the meal and wine including a second jug, we paid €62 which was very good value for Fira. We look forward to returning later in the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    94
    33
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a great time watching the World Cup game and eating great food at this restaurant! The staff was so friendly and playful, and the food was tasty and fresh. We were tired after a long day of sightseeing, but we felt right at home at this restaurant! Definitely a meal we will not forget!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of Greek heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

What a place, what a food, what a service.

First, the atmosphere - like a traditional and cozy Greek home. You're welcomed warmly and sincerely, you enjoy the friendly and genuine Greek hospitality.

The food. Mixed grill plate for two: reasonable priced, versatile and tasty mix of different kinds of meat, vegetables and fried potatoes. Got so overloaded, it was difficult to walk back to the hotel.

Tuna fillet: a pure pleasure. Grilled, beautiful fillets (2 of them) of tuna, fried potatoes and carrots. It was the best tuna I've eaten.

Beef steak: size of a plate, grilled steak, fried potatoes and carrots. I was told by the eater it was absolutely fabulous.

And the tzatsiki was also the best I've eaten. Ever.

Then the service. Very seldom you get so friendly and personal service you just have to go back. I feel bad I can't remember the gentleman's name who served us, but he's just a character you cannot forget. He's a wonderful and funny guy who makes the customer feel herself special. The young boy was also special and took very good care of us.

Overall, a great great place with a big and warm heart! And the bill - unbelievably small :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formigine, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Turistic but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had dinner twice there.
Nice terrace (eastbound).
Varied menu, both fish & meat.
Low prices compared to Santorini's average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We agree with the positive reviews on Simos. A very friendly owner and a lovely young man waiting on us, we sat upstairs in the garden deck -- much to the chagrin of the cat where we chose to sit. The owner brought up a tray of examples of the appetizers, which helped us as we are not experts on Greek food (I note in another review that someone said this was touristy, but as Santorini exists on tourism for 7 months of the year it seems prudent for the owner to cater to tourists).

Our entrees were great. I have not been a big fan of zucchini flowers but my wife ordered them and they were sensational. We also had the tomato cakes, very tasty, and the squid salad. All good. For mains, one daughter had the schnitzel with mushrooms (probably a little too heavy on the mushrooms unless you are a major funghi fan), the other daughter had lamb chops which she enjoyed, and my wife and I had the mixed fish plate for 2, with calamari, swordfish, prawns and sea bass, which was excellent.
Without a doubt though, the "winner" of the night was our son, with the 'lamb in oven'. Falling of the bone and beautiful flavour.

The children were given free ice creams and we got a free local dessert as well. The owner also saved us money by suggesting the local house wine instead of the pricey bottle we had picked, and it was very nice.

As a final nice gesture, the owner gave my daughter a fresh paper table cover with the Santorini map on it that she really wanted. A great family dinner, great service and tasty food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simos Taverna also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Simos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simos Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.