We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aktaion

Aktaion
In Firostefani Square | centre Firostefani on pedestrian street, Firostefani 84700, Greece
22860 22336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This restaurant is also by a small parking area just off the Oia road, and has a sunset view of the caldera.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

While walking from Imerovigli to Fira, we found this little taverna that looked a bit more authentic than the other ones (if possible in Santorini) and decided to stop there for diner.
The staff was very kind, the food came out quite fast, the food was very good (not excellent but good for a taverna) but the best attribute of this place is definitely the view. We were lucky to experience the sunset there and it was stunning.
Definitely recommend for a nice romantic diner in a taverna that feels more authentic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    78
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow Genuine Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

my husband and I went to this restaurant during our stay in Santorini, its a nice small family restaurant that has been in existence for over 90 years! and has been passed down from generation to generation, our place mat had old pictures of the restaurant and showed the owners and when it first started which really nice to see. We were really looking for a place to eat genuine home made style Greek food and we certainly found it! we sat inside because it was full and really enjoyed listening to the greek music in the background, I ordered a Moussaka which was the best ever I have tasted and I am not easy to please when it comes to food, with each mouthful I was in heaven, my husband ordered a kebab dish on freshly made pita bread which he loved so much he ordered another plate, we shared a panacotta for dessert with a sweet fruit preserve and that was also divine, this is a place I would highly recommend and is a must if you are in Santorini !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Dined at Aktaion on our first night in Greece - what a welcome! Food was traditional, service was good and we really enjoyed the setting on the patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I really loved this family-run restaurant. The waiters were so friendly and it's an adorable little place; we chose the tables on the sidewalk that had an incredible view. The best part was the food!!!! We shared zucchini pie (so incredibly delicious), pureed fava beans with smoked herring, and the moussaka, which was mouth-watering and even more delicious than the zucchini pie. Highly recommend the moussaka; it was fabulous!!

I don't understand some of the other reviews and how they had bad experiences, especially with the moussaka. I would not hesitate to come here at all. We tried many different restaurants in our 5 days here and this one was by far the best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Walk on By”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My partner and I visited here, after walking past it daily, so we decided to pop in.

We sat outside, under the cover. But, it was very windy that night and napkins were blowing away and everything was a bit haphazard. There were only two waiters on duty and frankly, the wait for our dinner was really NOT worth it.

We both chose the same main dish, which was kebab in a tomato and garlic sauce. The sauce tasted as though it had come out of a tin and had the look of tomato passata. There was nothing special about it, no herbs or anything added to it.

We ordered a mixed Greek salad with our meal and we did specify that we wanted to eat this with our meal, rather than separately. However, this was served separately and we HAD to eat it because by the time our mains arrived, we were starving.

Service with a smile goes a long way in the hospitality industry, even if the food is rubbish. If your hosts are greeting you with friendliness then you can almost forgive them about the food.

In this case neither applied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktaion also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Aktaion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktaion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.