We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moussaka heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aktaion

Aktaion
In Firostefani Square | centre Firostefani on pedestrian street, Firostefani 84700, Greece
22860 22336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This restaurant is also by a small parking area just off the Oia road, and has a sunset view of the caldera.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Moussaka heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stumbled on this place on our first night in Santorini and realised how lucky we were after the dishes started to be served!!

It's very small but very traditional and family Greek run.

The Moussaka is very very special, some of the best we have ever had.

Service was also excellent.

On problem now is trying to find somewhere to beat this place?!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    86
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Delicious homestyle cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Like the last reviewer, this was the first restaurant we ate at while on Santorini. It was recommended by the proprietors at Lithies. We arrived at nearly 10pm and the place was packed and loud with patrons obviously enjoying wine and Ouzo as well as food. We lucked out and found a table on the patio and enjoyed some of the best food we had during our vacation. We ate there twice, both times it was great. This is a family restaurant not a fancy one - the service was brusk, but efficient and fast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was the first place we ate in Santorini, by recommendation of our hotel. They said it served delicious "traditional Santorini cuisine." It was amazing. We ended up eating here the next night as well, which is a testament since I always like to try new places. The moussaka was one of the best things I've ever tasted. The mezes were also amazing. The prices were about average, and I think a great value for the quality of the food. The small patio was charming and had a view of the sunset. The service could be brusque, but not rude. This place is very busy, but since Greek people eat extremely late, we were able to get a table on the patio before 7 without a reservation. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Moussaka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best moussaka ever! And other dishes are also delicious.
Authentic atmosphere preserved.
Despite being surrounded by tourists, it has not surrendered to the fast food fashion, this is proper home cooked Greek food, on a magic island, by the Caldera although not right above it.
The waiter is super efficient and friendly, backed by a super Chef. Prices are very reasonable.
Surely one of the best places to eat in Santorini. P

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Food with Something Extra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay on Santorini. The food I thought was very good and carefully prepared from local ingredients. The service was excellent. It is traditional Greek food but more gourmet then in a Taverna.
The lamb in vin santo sauce was excellent, zucchini pie appetizer and yellow fava app were very good. The pasta tasted home made, with a tasty but super garlicky tomato sauce. The moussaka was wonderful too. Great small wine list with Santorini's best producers represented. A bottle of Hatzidakis Atheri was marvelous. A glass of home made raki melo comes gratis with the check. Loved this restaurant, highly recommended. Different specials every night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktaion also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Aktaion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktaion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.