We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking Greek-style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aktaion

Aktaion
In Firostefani Square | centre Firostefani on pedestrian street, Firostefani 84700, Greece
22860 22336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is also by a small parking area just off the Oia road, and has a sunset view of the caldera.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Home cooking Greek-style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a great meal last night - I took the dish of the day, slow cooked lamb with potatoes and vegetables while my wife had the chicken; both delicious. Before, we shared a serve of feta cheese balls deep-fried in beer batter - amazing! Better to book, it's a busy place. Owner is grandson of the founder, it's been in business over 90 years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    89
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“really enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate at this taverna twice during our stay on Santorini. We had not read the reviews and chose to eat there as there were plenty people already dining which is always a good sign. Locals included. The menu was limited but the food and service excellent and we wouldn't hesitate to return when in Firostefani.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We love this great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Had two meals while staying in Firostefani and can't fault either, on our first day we ventured out to find lunch and came across this place 10 minutes before they shut but they were happy for us to stay. On our last night we had dinner and were not let down once more the same waiter served us and remembered us we got a table overlooking the sunset. Can recommend this place to anyone good food and wine also quite reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Greek salad, reasonable prices, great place to watch people go by.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a nice welcome at this place for lunch so we came back for dinner the following night. We were able to get a little table to see the sunset from. Great little taverna.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very average Greek restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for an average Greek restaurant with average food and average service, this is the place for you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktaion also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Fira, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Aktaion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktaion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.