We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Thira Tavern

Mama Thira Tavern
Firostefani Village on the Cliff, Firostefani 84700, Greece
+302286022189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Edwardsville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We lucked into a table outside and the view was great. Looks like a busy restaurant. Typical salads and pastas on offer for the vegetarian. I had ravioli and salad. Food was good, sauce creamy, but not too rich. Nicely presented.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    134
    60
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband was really disappointed with his calamari. My Greek salad was good. The service was not so great, but the view is nice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Espectacular view, Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We walked by this place everyday in our way to town, so one day we decided we were going to give it a try and see the sunset from the terrace.

We went for dinner and food was ok for us. The best thing was dessert - a chocolate lava cake - which for me it's kind of disappointing since you except local food to be the absolute highlight.

Still, overall it was a good experience. And you get and absolutely gorgeous view of the caldera for the sunset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was staying at Vallas Apartments right behind Mama Thira for a week in June and on my first night, I thought I'd give it a try. The terrace overlooks the caldera and I decided to enjoy the sunset there. BUT, I had not noticed the dirty glass panes before I sat down and ordered. We were encased behind smudged glass and people had to get up to take pictures of the sunset. It kind of ruins the experience, in my opinion.

The food was good, the service was kind and fast, but the atmosphere was awful. The tables are very close to each other, it was uncomfortable. Maybe the layout inside the restaurant is better...

I grew to hate their terrace. Every night, a few rowdy patrons would ruin the calm for everyone in the area! It was sometimes impossible to go to bed until they closed. The staff seemed completely unconcerned by the loud drunks on their terrace. What a shame.

Also, there was a little dog that hung around there (I don't know if it belonged to the owners or neighbors) that would bark NONSTOP from 11 to 11:30, making guests speak so much louder.

I really enjoyed my food, the menu has interesting options and everything was fresh. They also serve Santorini Brewing Company beer, which is very good (Yellow Donkey, Red Donkey and Crazy Donkey). I'm sad that my experience was ruined by the awful terrace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A cozy restaurant right at the edge of the cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely views of the Kaldera and the opposite volcanic islands, rich menu, quiet environment and reasonable prices!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Thira Tavern also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Mama Thira Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Thira Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.