We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikastikies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ikastikies to your Saves list
Ikastikies
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Firostefani 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We just loved our stay - George and his manager were great and really took excellent care of us. There was nothing they couldn't do to make us happy. The rooms were great and the view was unbelieveable. Even the 84 steps that we had to go up and down were definitely worth the stay. Thank you George.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Ikastikies has four suites. We stayed in the Spilia suite for 2 nights and the Rosa suite for another 2 ... Spilia was an upgrade for us by the hotel staff at no cost. The staff were awesome right from the pick up at the ferry right to the time we were dropped off at the end of the stay. There's a highly personalised level of service. Carafe of wine and fruit to start off the stay. They bring breakfast to your suite at your requested time .... very fresh - fruit, yoghurt, jams, nutella, bread basket, eggs, juice, etc. There was lots of food and we grazed for most of the day. The hotel boasts incredible views of the caldera, with breathtaking sunsets. The location is great if you want to be close to Fira. There are plenty of restaurants and other shops within a short walking distance. Caveat: this is a boutique hotel with a very private feel ... so not the ideal place to be if you want to be around lots of people. I would rate this among the best hotel experiences - up there with Oberoi Amarvilas in Agra!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We are a family of five (parents & 3 adult children), and we stayed in "Spilia", the largest of the rooms. Words cannot do justice to this place. Ikastikies captures the essence of Santorini. The accommodation is truly extraordinary and the views are indescribably fabulous. Situated in Firostefani, it is just far enough away from Fira to impart a feeling of quiet solitude and close enough to put you in the heart of bustling Fira after a 10 minute scenic walk. The staff (Giorgos, Justin and Nancy) went above and beyond the call of duty to cater to all our needs and make our stay an unforgettable experience. We have stayed in many world class hotels but Ikastikies is in a class on its own.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is only my 2nd review after using trip adviser for many years, last week I was privilaged to have stayed at the very friendly Hotel Tagoo on Mykonos (#1 of trip advisor) and had the best time with family and friends, so I gave it a great review. I am now on Santorini and had decided to splash out and get something special since all the prices here seem higher than on the other Islands we have been to. We decided to stay at Ikastikies and have not been disappointed from the time we arrived everything has been perfect. All the staff have been friendly and helpful, the suite we have is of a very high standard with spa bath , view etc and best of all its quiet and private. Justin is the prefect manager making sure we have everything we need. The year before last we stayed in the middle of Thira and found it too touristy when the cruise ships arrived during the day (over 6,000 tourists in a small area). Firastefani is a short walk from Thira (under 10 min) on a well lit walking track , so its a nice location away from the crowds but with the same great views as Thira. Also there would be at least 10 great restaurants within 100 m from Ikastikies.. so its easy to dine out here if you dont feel like walking to Thira... I can thoroughly recommend Ikastikies for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. We were greeted by Justin immediately after getting off the bus from the port...he took us down to our room (75 steps, if that worries you!) and gave us a giant bottle of water. That evening he offered to take us to dinner with him at his favorite local restaurant which is only a stone’s throw from the hotel and we had a fantastic meal and wine. Our room was the Ostria suite, which is the smallest of the 4...but it wasn’t small at all! We had a small kitchen area, large bathroom with whirlpool tub, and a big, comfy bed. The decor was very modern and beautiful. We had stairs that went upstairs to our own private balcony complete with comfy chairs and an umbrella. Also easily accessed from our suite was the little pool...while we were there there was only one other couple staying and we felt as though we had our own private pool. While there is a lot to do on the island we could have stayed on the hotel grounds for most of it...the view was absolutely incredible. We ended up watching the sunset from there each night and then went to dinner afterwards, rather than fighting the crowds for a place to eat and watch the sunset. One night we were also treated to wine and figs during sunset provided by the hotel. The location is great as it’s close to a few good restaurants in Firostefani. We really only went into Fira b/c we felt like we should...it was a good 10-15 minute walk along a path with a great view...but beware of lots of steps and inclines and wear comfortable shoes! Justin also helped us rent an ATV, and we drove to Imerogivili and Oia for sightseeing...and we even found a little beach. Lastly, just have to include a few words regarding the breakfast provided...it was fantastic! The night before I mentioned I loved mushrooms and the next morning I was presented with the best omelette with mushrooms that I’ve ever had. You will never have a shortage of food at breakfast and they will present it to you whenever you want. My husband and I felt very accomodated by Justin and George and would love to stay at this hotel again if we ever have the chance to go back to Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

In planning our trip to Santorini, my husband and I decided to book a suite at Ikastikies, a traditional cave hotel in Firostefani - it turned out be a great choice. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from these caves (Flintstones, anyone?), but was pleased to find that our suite was spacious, quite modern, and stylishly and thoughtfully furnished (e.g., very comfortable bed and linens). Although we had booked the smaller Rozaki Suite (where we stayed for our second two nights), our first night was in the huge Roza Suite, which had two bedrooms, a modern bathroom, a kitchen and living room, and (hooray!) wireless internet. (Note: the bathrooms have only tubs, but they have extendable shower heads for those of you, like us, who are used to showers.) Rozaki was very similar, just a little smaller (one bedroom instead of two, and slightly smaller bathroom).

The two proprietors, Giorgos and Justin, were sweet and accommodating, warmly welcoming us with cocktails and snacks and urging us to make ourselves at home. During our stay, both Justin and Giorgos lent their helping hands to make car rental reservations and dinner reservations, to carry our baggage up and down the steep stairs, and to transfer us to and from the ferry and airport. Justin also makes a huge breakfast every morning, delivered directly to your suite - two different kinds of cereal, Greek yogurt with strawberries, a bowl of fruit, a plate of meats and cheeses, a basket of breakfast breads, and his famous made-to-order omelets.

Overall, the atmosphere of the hotel is very much like a group of friends hanging out together - on our second day at Ikastikies, we were invited into the patio of the executive suite where our neighbors were having a little pool party (with Justin serving as the very accommodating bartender!). We found it very difficult to leave such a beautiful place where we were welcomed like family. Bravo, Justin and Giorgos!

[Note: As a warning, unrelated to the hotel, we were awakened every morning by what we think were church bells, at 6 a.m. and at 7 a.m. . . . they are pretty darn loud and impossible to sleep through, but over in a few minutes. Nothing that Justin and Giorgos could have done - just something folks should be aware of if they like to sleep in, like us!]

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

From our first contact with George at Ikastikies, we knew we had chosen the right place. This feeling was confirmed on arrival and through out our stay.

George and Justin looked after us as if we were family. There was nothing they would not do. They were gracious hosts and ran a professional operation. The property is located on the cliffs of Firostefani and we thought we had discovered the best place on the Island.

The view is incredible, the accommodation modern, funky, clean and comfortable and the upstairs deck attached to our room was amazing. We could not get enough of the sunsets each night. The cave bathroom with Jacuzzi was the perfect start or end to the day.

We were served a gourmet breakfast each day and the coffee was hot. The location is perfect and a nice stroll to the busier part of town. Finding a place for lunch or dinner was easy being so close to Firostefani. We arrived a week before Easter and the weather was warm in the sun but you certainly needed a shawl or sweater in the evening. It was far from busy and a lot of places were just opening the next weekend. But there was plenty to do and see. The people were welcoming and friendly where ever we went. We would highly recommend this hotel and the Island of Santorini and look forward to the day we can come back and do it again.

My husband is an Airline Pilot and we travel extensively and this place is truly exceptional! Thank you George and Justin for a Perfect Vacation and on the top 3 all time vacations for us.

Steve and Yvonne McLaren

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ikastikies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikastikies

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikastikies 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ikastikies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikastikies Hotel Firostefani
Ikastikies Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikastikies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.