We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Change of Pace - Excellent Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Sushi Lounge

Ginger Sushi Lounge
St. Gerasimos | Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
+30 2286 021336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace - Excellent Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We like our sushi and after being on Santorini for eight days having some sushi sounded good. And what a great surprise Ginger Sushi Lounge was. Firostefani is between Imerovigli and Fira and although it doesn't have views of the Santorini caldera it has a wonderful outdoor seating area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    54
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“We loved it so much, we went back to Ginger Sushi Lounge four times...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

...during our week-long stay in Santorini :-) My husband and I are sushi fiends - well, we just basically love good food & Ginger Sushi Lounge ranks right up there with the best Japanese/sushi restaurants we've been lucky enough to eat in around the world. The fish was super-fresh (we looooved the yellow-fin tuna)! All of the food on offer was beautifully presented & simply delicious (totally recommend the beef filet, the tuna & truffle tartare), all served in a relaxed atmosphere - the ambiance was fab! What kept us coming back for more was not only the amazing food, but also the wonderful staff - they were all so welcoming & attentive! It's always nice to be remembered as a return customer & the team at Ginger genuinely welcomed us back each time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best sushi!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I dined here two nights ago and had beautiful food and great service. The spicy tuna tartare dish is amazing and the sashimi was so tasty, especially the blue fin tuna and salmon, we loved every dish we had here and will be going back again before we leave. Thank you to our waiter and the owner for the extra dishes we received and the great food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Split vote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice atmosphere and service but expensive for what you would get at a traditional sushi restaurant - chef special was ok BUT the tempura California roll was simply fantastic ! We ordered another! This lifted it almost to four stars !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Unexpectedly good for Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

There aren't a lot of non Greek options on Santorini, so if you are looking for a change from souvlaki this is a good option.

I'm not an adventurous Japanese foodie so I had tempura California roll which was great. My husband has sashimi which he also enjoyed. Other customers seemed happy too.

No tacky photos of the menu, but the staff are able to give good descriptions of the menu if needed. Reasonably priced range of sake cocktails also recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Sushi Lounge also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Ginger Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Sushi Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.