We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lithies Traditional Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Firostefani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lithies Traditional Homes
Save
You added Lithies Traditional Homes to your Saves list
Firostefani, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lithies is a really nice to place to stay on Santorini. They pick you up on arrival at the port, and have someone to take your luggage down the 80 or so steps to your room. The on site manager Maria is just a fabulous person, really helpful and hard working. On arrival there are chocolates and a bottle of wine waiting for you. The rooms are very interesting, I think there are 4 separate apartments built into the caves. There is a common area where there are lounge chairs, tables, umbrellas, a small plunge pool, all with a great sunset view of the caldera. The apartments are clean and comfortable, with modern bathrooms and a small kitchen. Compared to similar properties on the cliff with caldera view I believe Lithies offers great value. The rooms stay cool because they are built into the cliff. There is a small church next door and on the Saturday we stayed there was a traditional Greek wedding, complete with all the bells and whistles. Lithies is down the steps from the main square in Firostefani which has a number of very good restaurants all within a 5 minute walk of the room. Maria really does a great job making you feel welcome, and is one of the main reasons I loved staying here. I would give Lithies my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were met by Maria, who was charming, warm and welcoming. The place was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved it here. The view is absolutely wonderful too. Maria recommended some nice restaurants in the area that was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lithies is by far one of the more spectacular places I have stayed. It is made very special by Maria, the wonderful, wonderful woman who takes care of everything at Lithies, from the bottle of wine on arrival, breakfast every morning (you pick from a list of items), to cruise ship niceties like little chocolates on the bed and towels folded into fun shapes. She keeps it spotless, and all the homes are lovely.
We stayed in the smallest house; Eros (there are 5 houses). It had a marble bathroom, bedroom, sitting room and small kitchen with a washing machine. Lines to dry clothes outside. Some of the homes have dryers. The other homes are much larger and looked wonderful, but Eros was perfect for my husband and me. Maria makes you feel like royalty.
Lithies is located in Firostafani, which is the best place to stay on the island. A little quieter than Firo, and Oia, but still plenty of good restaurants and shops within close walking distance without having to fight with too many tourists. The place includes transfers from boat or plane, and someone to meet you at the top of the steps to carry your bags down (82 steps) or back up when you leave. Lithies is located on a steep cliff with spectacular views. The sunset views from here are exceptional. There is a small pool, and two common areas to lounge and take in the sun, or watch the sunset.
Did I mention Maria? She is the life of this place. You will fall in love with her and Lithies your first hour.

Room Tip: There are 5 homes here, from 1-3 bedrooms and 1-3 baths. Eros is the smallest, but it is the prettie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If your are looking to visit Santorini and are confused by the vast variety of choice look no further. From the minute we arrived Maria and her daughters made us feel at home. All the apartments are spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Never have we stayed in a place where the bed linen and towels were changed so frequently yet unobtrusively. Maria is a mine of information and helped us out with many queries. The highlight of her generosity was the beautiful birthday cake I was presented,complete with candle and a rendition of Happy Birthday.
The location of the apartments is also spectacular. Located in a quite area of Firostefani but within walking distance of all the hustle and bustle of Fira.

We stayed 9 days in total and would definitely recommend car hire. It is the best way to see the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This has to be the most glorious accommodations I have ever experienced. I am traveling with my brother and sis-in-law so thought this sounded unbelievable and perfect for the 3 of us. We had 2 separate bedrooms each with its own spacious sitting area and bathroom. We also had a spacious & well equipped kitchen with a washing machine. Our private patio overlooking the caldron was breathtaking. Go to their website and see for yourself. Everything that is listed on their website is the truth. Maria was so charming and always made sure we were well taken care of. She worked so hard taking care of us. Loved the sunset wine and snacks as well as the unbelievable breakfast made to our specifications. Thanks to Anna & Tommy too. This was a hard place to leave. We stayed in the Dione house which is beautifully decorated including the pottery and ceramic pieces by Andreas Alefragis. We had the pleasure of meeting him at his studio near by. Ask Maria for directions to his studio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our extended family of 12 spent 10 days, occupying all four houses in this beautiful complex of cave houses cut into the side of the Caldera on Santorini. Each of the houses is charming and well-equipped. In Santorini style, they are painted white with blue trim, and have a stunning view of the Caldera and other islands. From our explorations around Santorini it became clear that this was one of the nicest places to stay.

On top of the accommodation and the location, we cannot praise enough the delightful care provided by Maria, her husband and daughter Anna. We strongly endorse the comments of other reviewers. The ambience offered by Lithies, the welcome, and Maria's attention to detail are in a class of its own.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived yesterday and have 6 more days of nothing but paradise! Maria and her daughters are SO welcoming and when you walk in to your rooms, it's a total "wow" factor. You won't want to leave. Every detail is well thought out, breakfast is served beautifully. Cannot recommend it enough!

Room Tip: No fitness centre but the steps are a good enough workout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lithies Traditional Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lithies Traditional Homes

Address: Firostefani, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three homes integrating modern Greek culture, ancient myths, and Greek art and history through the ages with first class convenience and amenities to create a memorable experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lithies Traditional Homes Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lithies Traditional Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.