We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platanias Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Platanias Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Platanias Mare Hotel
Arkadiou Street, Platanias, Crete 73100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ljungby, Sweden
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here end of August 2011 and were very pleased!
The hotel is close to the beach and centre of Platanias but still there were no noise at night, we slept very well!
Platanias is very touristic but it offers a lot of nice restaurants, Socrates in old Platanias was really good!
The rooms are cozy and we even got a room with two bathrooms:)
The beach is nice, but it can be a bit windy (and a lot of people) and it gets deep very quickly.
We would recommend to go to Maleme, which is just 10min with bus from Platanias.
Stavros is a really nice beach, with clear water and a nice restaurant "Mama´s Place". They had delicious cheese burgers!
Elafonissi is definitely worth a visit, it´s something really special! So beautiful beach with crystal clear water, lovely to dive in!

Anyway, we would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My holyday in this hotel was great. Everything was excellent. The staff was very nice and pleasant, keeping the home filling. The hotel is very clean. The food was excellent especially the dinner.
I hope to come to the same place again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We travelled eight people together to Platanias, Crete. I had one of the best holidays ever! The hotel was great in so many ways!

The staff is wonderful, especially at the bar, always smiling and they were so service- minded! The food was also great! Platanias Mare is located on the beach and about a 5 minutes walk from "downtown". Restaurants and shopping is very close. You can choose from so many different restaurants, its very convenient!

The only thing that bothered me, was the bathroom. Very small, when you shower the water is all over the room. Except from that, very clean room!

I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great time in a great place! We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnmøre
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Lovely hotel. Nice staff, cleen rooms. Quiet by night, you can sleep well.
Lovely poolarea, and the beach was cleen and nice!!
Too windy i May, but otherwise wery recomendable!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

My husband and I were looking for somewhere not too busy, yet with a bit of something to do in the evenings-
Platanias Mare fit the bill perfectly!! Located right on the beach with a fantastic little beach bar, the staff were excellent.
The reception area and rooms were really nice, the room itself was one of the better that we've stayed in in Greece (although still fairly basic.)
The pool was nice and warm, and the beach was amazing (although it did get quite busy.)

The Sunset Cruise in Chania was a waste of money in our opinion, so bear that in mind if your rep tries to rope you into it.
We were squeezed into a taxi with two really, REALLY large people, which was a very awkward 30 minute ride. We then were shown around a large market which smelled of fish, and some shops that sold leather handbags on leather street... we then went out on a boat to see an old leper colony while the overzealous German rep yelled "IT'S RAKI TIME!!" and tried to force shots down us.
Sunset itself is beautiful, Rest of that trip was a joke though!

Platanias as a resort was ideal for us, it wasn't over developed (like Ayia Napa / Paphos) but had a great selection of tavernas and small but friendly bars. The beach bars were open until late, but again weren't over busy. I wouldn't recommend Platanias as a resort to someone looking for a clubbing holiday, nor would I recommend it to someone looking for unspoilt, traditional Greece- but for somewhere between the two, it's ideal.

Platanias mare is in a handy location, around 1km away from the town square (which is the busiest part of the town)
Around 300m to the nearest tavernas and bars, handy minimarket & car hire just 100m from hotel.

Sunbeds on the beach right in front of the hotel were around 5 euros a day, air conditioning was 50 euros for the week and well worth it.. (especially as we were there during the heatwave which saw temperatures hit 40+!)

  • Liked — The staff & location
  • Disliked — Only a minor problem, but we probably only met 6 other British couples, everyone else seemed to be Swedish/Northern European
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platanias Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platanias Mare Hotel

Address: Arkadiou Street, Platanias, Crete 73100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Platanias Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanias Mare Hotel Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platanias Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.