We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dome Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Dome Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Dome Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platanias, Chania | Crete, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we came as a family of four. Had an amazing weekend at Blue Dome Platanias, june 2014. The service was good, also the roomservice, the beds were good and good space both outside and inside. Beutiful hotel, nice for famylis. The pool was nice as well, and it all went perfect when it was placed at the beach. Quiet and comforting. If yo are going to Platanias we highly recommend this hotell!

Room Tip: Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel,nice and clean. Great service, view and close to the beach.
The rooms were nice, the only thing that were not so great was the wifi , it was very slow, but for us it wasnt very important. Platanias is a nice place to visit, and this hotel is a great place to stay. We travelled with our 7 year old boy, and he loved it as well!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I absolutely loved the Blue Dome! Each room has a deck that overlooks the ocean and the rooms are indeed little apartments. There is a small kitchenette in the rooms so you could cook meals and keep your own drinks in the fridge if you wish. The rooms were very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel Nicos and Mary's is excellent and I ate lunch there everyday while watching the sea.Yummy drinks and cold Mythos beers as well. A very nice pool. The beach was very clean and it is just a beautiful place to relax. I very much hope to one day return to this place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view. I would perhaps try and get one close to the pool but it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijverdal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our 2 room apartment in Blue Dome was a wonderful experience! What a perfect location right at the pool, beach and sea, no disturbing road in front of you. We were there in low season (May 5-16), so it was very quiet. However, only 100 meters away you find many shops, restaurants and the busstop to Chania (in May every half hour).
We had apartment 511 at the front of the complex in the east wing, close to the pool. Enough sitting space, a tiny kitchen (enough for breakfast), good beds and warm shower. spacious balcony, no morning sun , a bit cold because of the northern wind we had for many days.
Staff is friendly and helpful. We advise a rental car, because of the many trips you can make from there. We enjoyed our stay here for 100%. Thank you Claudia and your staff!

Room Tip: There are apartments with shower or bath, also bedrooms with twin bed and double (1.40 m). The east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were supposed to stat at Blue Dome hotel, but unfortunately the hotel was delayed in its opening for the season. I had booked through Expedia and the hotel owner had informed Expedia 14 days before our arrival that our booking unfortunately could not be effectuated, however we heard nothing from Expedia. It was by coincidence I wrote directly to the hotel and then got the information. The hotel owner went out of her way to help us and ensured that we got beautiful apartments at a near-by hotel. Next time we come to Platanias we will definitely stay at the Blue Dome:)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A very good hotel with a very kind staff.
Perfect to relax and all day you can hear the relaxing sound of cicadas.

The hotel has a beautiful view to the beach and mountains.

The airport broke the wheels of my suitcase and one of the hotel staff fixed it for me and was happy to do it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the first moments with the exceptionally pleasant and knowledgable owner Dr. Danciou to the first dip in the blue waters in front of the apartment we experienced a superb experience of warm hospitality. I loved the sea view and that quality of the room furnishings , especially the bed and its super mattress. I definitely would love to come back and tell my friends about it!

Thank you BLUE DOME!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dome Hotel

Address: Platanias, Chania | Crete, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Dome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful destinations, in the island of Crete, the Blue Dome Hotel is a beach front luxurious complex of thirty-nine apartments in the unique village of Platanias, not far away from the picturesque city of Chania.  Like its colour name, the Blue Dome Hotel is associated with sympathy, harmony, faithfulness, friendship and confidence. A sense of peaceful calmness surrounds you from your first moment here, while the stunning view over the sea and the comfortable apartments, will delight your senses right away. The warm and amiable ambiance, brings you directly into the feeling of carefree summer days. With no doubt, your stay at Blue Dome Hotel will be a truly magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dome Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.