We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minoa Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Minoa Palace Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Great accomodations. Clean room with comfy beds and a large bathroom.
Very good food. Everything you could wish was available.
Nice staff.
We had a great week at Minoa Palace.
The hotel is well located at the end of Platanias. The main building has a direct acces to the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    164
    39
    14
    1
See reviews for
189
307
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here 6th – 20th May booked through Thomson UK. The good points have largely been mentioned previously, but we have given the hotel an average score as the bad points are ones that we would not expect to find in any reasonable 3* hotel and we would not return because of that.

THE GOOD POINTS

The hotel was impressive and clean, staff very polite and helpful, food selection good and varied, and there is a very calm atmosphere in the hotel. The ability to change dinner venue to the waiter service restaurant by the beach (at no extra charge) was brilliant as the views, food and service there were excellent and the staff very pleasant. There was fruit and wine in our room on arrival as I think is supplied for all guests. We had mentioned that it was a special wedding anniversary during our stay and shortly after our arrival there was a knock on the door and we were presented with a bottle of Prosecco in a wine cooler and a cake, which was a lovely surprise.

We were at the back of the hotel and the view from our balcony was overlooking the countryside and mountains and there was late morning and afternoon sun on it, which was good in May.

THE BAD POINTS

There was a very big extraction vent just below and slightly to one side of our balcony. This did not appear to be working in the late afternoons, but it started up before 7.00am every morning with a high pitched whine which pulsated irregularly and woke us up early every morning, hence I was very tired for much of the holiday. We considered asking to be moved, but had already seen a couple of rooms that had drawbacks and walking round the outside of the hotel left us thinking that most rooms could be noisy because of the road, bins, etc. so we stayed thinking we would get used to it, but we did not.

The pool area in the old part of the hotel was alongside a busy road, so we only went there once as the traffic noise was extremely prominent, so we went to the Imperial pool or the beach, both of which had a pleasant ambience. However those areas had some problems. The porous mattresses on the pool sunbeds were not put into indoor storage at night or in bad weather and were then just left draped over the backs of the sunbeds to dry in the mornings. Hence at times you could just lift them up and water poured out of them. The parasols by that pool were very heavy to put up and some would not even go up high enough to put the holding pin underneath them as the canvas covers are too small. There was no pool attendant to help with sunbeds/umbrellas if you needed help. There was a person who gave out towels on the beach, (when he was there), but he had no interest whatsoever in helping with things like that, but worked in the bar much of the time. On one occasion we had particular problems with an umbrella which would not go up and we had to go to the bar for help. A barman came to help and tied it up with the pulley rope, which was both insecure (as the umbrellas are very heavy) and left the ends of the umbrella ribs nicely at eye height! We moved to another umbrella. One day we noticed two remnants of cocktails left on a sunbed table by the beach at 5.00pm and they were still there at 11.00am the next day. Also there was usually sand on the sunbeds by the beach in the mornings. The beach and pool area were not well maintained and bar staff did not come round to take orders for drinks. I went from my pool sunbed to the bar to buy a drink and no one even offered to carry it back for me. This did mean that we did not spend on drinks by day, as we found it easier to take our own drinks down to the pool or beach, rather than have carry them from the bar.

The toilets by the beach bar are down a marble staircase which has no handrail to grip and the polished floor surface was extremely slippery when wet after people got out of the pool before going downstairs. I realised the danger and was extremely careful going down there, but on one occasion I fell and hurt my arm, which was still painful three weeks later. After my injury I used to go to the main imperial building to use the lift down to those toilets, until I realised there was another set of toilets by the restaurant which were also accessible by lift – no one told me about those even after I fell. There was a ‘wet floor’ sign at the top of the staircase to the toilets where I fell, which showed that the hotel were aware that the stairs were dangerous when wet, yet they would often be wet by a swimming pool. The sign does not stop someone slipping when the floor is so dangerous. There were many polished marble floors and stairs around the complex, even in outside areas which do get wet, but there are few handrails to grip or any other safety features like non slip mats, even in the indoor pool shower area.

One night I tried to get into our bathroom at 5.00am to find that the door had locked itself. We rang reception and a porter came to unlock it and showed us how to unlock it ourselves, (there was a slotted screw head on the outside which could be turned with a keycard). The next day we went to reception with the support of the Thomson rep and a maintenance man came and told us that that is what the bathroom doors are supposed to do – he had no intention of repairing the handle lock which was clearly faulty. The door did lock on another occasion and it is NOT funny struggling to unlock a bathroom door in the middle of the night when you need to use the bathroom.

Coffee was provided in pots for those who wanted it at breakfast, yet tea drinkers had to go to a tight corner where there was a small hot water urn, loose tea leaves and empty ‘fill it yourself’ tea bags. This caused considerable delays at times especially when people were new and did not understand the system. The tight corner meant only one person could get there, so it was not even possible for one person to be filling a tea bag and another to be using the urn. At first we asked for a pot of hot water at the table so we could reuse the teabag(s) and make tea there, but towards the end of the holiday we were told that we should not be provided with hot water. The water urn was not always kept topped up, causing further delays. The restaurant servery in general was not well designed as there were many tight corners preventing easy access and hence queues built up.

OVERALL

The hotel does have many excellent points and most staff want to ensure guests are enjoying their holidays. It is a shame that the bad points exist, as they spoil the overall experience of the hotel and some of these points could be easily addressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great hotel with super staff. The food was excellent and the restaurant staff were really helpful and friendly. (Special thanks to the captain and maître de for arranging freshly prepared unsalted veggies for our baby daughter every day). We stayed on a half board basis and we were able to swop our evening meal for lunch and also ate at the beachfront restaurant a couple of evening swhere we had the 5 course menu instead of the buffet. Again this was excellent.

The hotel is very well kept and both the original and Imperial Wing are spotlessly clean and have lovely gardens. We particularly enjoyed taking a frappe in the cabana on the beachfront after breakfast. Cocktails also went down well!

The hotel has a very relaxed feel and entertainment is very low key which suited us perfectly. If you like big shows (and tacky entertainment) then this isn't the hotel for you.

Our room (a garden view bungalow) was a decent size and our worries about being cramped with a cot in the room were totally unfounded.

I used the spa a couple of times and had a fantastic massage from the male therapist. It was the best I've ever had actually. However, I was surprised that use of the sauna and jacuzzi incurred an additional charge as I've never known this to be in the case in a 5star hotel.

One thing dampened our stay at the Minoa - despite warm weather the unheated outdoor pools were freezing - to the point that our daughter cried whenever we tried to use them during the first week. I would suggest that the hotel considers heating the children's pools during early season as it did have a negative impact on our stay and I spoke to other guests from the UK who felt the same.


We booked via Thomson and felt the holiday was very good value given the high standard of the food and hotel. The rep, Sue, was also very good.

Overall, it's very worthy of the 5 stars and I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at The Minoa Palace for two weeks from 6th May.
The fact that it was our fourth visit says everything!. The accommodation and amenities are excellent and it is always spotlessly clean.
There are several restaurants offering great choices with an unbelievable array of food!
However the thing that makes it so special is its wonderful staff. You are always made so welcome throughout all sections of the hotel. They make it a total holiday.
We are already planning our trip for 2015 !

Peter & Angela (Shropshire)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Spent a week at this hotel with my 3 boys. Lots of facilities for older children - various swimming pools, tennis court (tip: take your tennis racket and balls), table tennis, gym (over 16's) etc. The hotel was probably only half full, not many English families mainly Scandinavians so no scrabble for sunbeds which was a relief. Weather was sunny with only one rainy day. We only ate in the hotel once as there were lovely tavernas on the beach and a walk into the local town (5 mins away). My only gripe about the hotel would be that the snacks/food/drinks etc were very expensive. We walked along to the local Lidl to buy water/soft drinks etc as it was a 2 min walk away. I didnt book transport from the hotel just took a taxi from the airport for 40 Euros which was easy to do. On the subject of transport. Be warned at the airport on the way back be prepared for LOTS of queuing.....wouldnt want to do that in the height of summer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed there in October last year. The hotel is amazingly clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and welcoming. It also had good kerb appeal - we went on excursions and people on the coach were amazed by it's appearance (often open mouthed as they left). The hotel is split into two halves - the older side (in which we stayed) and the modern side on the other side of the road which is linked by a walkway over the road. The modern side is nearer the sea. We had an inland view which was lovely and was quite quiet. The newer side seamed quieter when we were there but it was end of season (The hotel was due to close for olive picking season 2 days after we left).

The rooms were kept very clean on a daily basis - and the minibar is checked and kept stocked daily. They have buffet style meals which were really well cooked and tasty with a good variety of foods, and a waiter/waitress were friendly and sees to your drinks needs throughout your meal. They had greek dancing and singing on one occasion that was very good .

They provide pool towels free of charge at the pool bar which is really nice to sit at. The pool bar and the main bar staff are friendly and attentive but the cocktails are on the expensive side (it was nearly 10 euro a cocktail) but we do recommend the lumumba hot chocolate as a night cap!

The location is a few minutes walk into Platanias itself where there are lots of bars, restaurants and shops. There is a bus stop on the main road outside of the hotel. The buses (more like coaches) go pass the hotel every half hour and it is fairly quick and inexpensive to travel into Chania (through Plantanias) - which in itself is recommended, but if you go and want to come back late by bus - the last bus back is at 23.30hrs.

The Thomson rep was very good, with very good local knowledge and recommending places to visit and to eat and drink both nearby and in Chania. All in all - it was a great place to stay and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Although both sides of hotel are kept clean and tidy, we prefered to stay on the older side. The inl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My first impression was the cleanliness of the hotel & the professionalism of the staff. We stayed on the original side (not the beach side) and would stay on that side again as all the facilities are there including the shop, spa, gym, reception, kids area, beautiful gardens, main restaurant and of course the pools/bar. The other side has easy access to the beach with beds & parasols and the pool staff (on both sides) kindly get your drinks for you. The outside pools are not heated but great to cool off during the hot weather. Go all inclusive if you like your alcoholic drinks as all drinks average 10 Euros each, unless you like beer (Mythos costs 3-4 euros)!
The food is very good, especially breakfast. Breakfast had complimentary tea/coffee and juice options but if not all inclusive there are no complimentary drinks at dinner. I didn't eat at the Al a carte restaurant as there was only one vegetarian option but apparently its worth visiting. If you do get bored go next door on the beach to a place called Cozmo, I loved it there, that was up to the point where they overcharged us on our bill! There is a wide variety of food options (don't let the pictures of food outside put you off) and Check Your Bill! There is a lovely chilled vibe and you can watch the sun go down while lying on sun beds listening to music! Kafenion within the hotel grounds is another good find. Kosta offers you Raki... if you like it and his (cheap) home made wine is worth drinking and goes very well with Dakos as an ideal afternoon snack.
The resort was disappointing however it does have lots of restaurants, bars and shops selling the usual holiday tat. You can catch the bus outside the hotel to Chania for a few Euros, its a 20 minute bus ride and and worth a visit. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday to chill with good food, excellent staff and clean, nice surroundings then come here!

Note - there is a 10 euro fee for half hour if you want to use the jacuzzi or steam room in the spa!

Room Tip: Walk left out of the hotel to Lidls to purchase alcohol as its cheaper than the other shops on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minoa Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort & Spa

Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa hotel offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minoa Palace Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.