We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minoa Palace Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Minoa Palace Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Platanias
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in October 2012, we were the last guests of the season, so the hotel was a little quiet. Staff were really nice and helpful, food was good, selection wasn't great but well presented and good quality. Our room was at the back of the hotel facing the garden, we went for a larger room and received complementary wine and fruit on arrival. Situated in a quiet section of the resort it is just across from the beach, within walking distance of shops and bars. Would recommend the hotel, but would go earlier in the season. Spa was fab and treatment (massage ) was well worth the price. Lovely pool areas and plenty of places to sit and chill in the sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    143
    36
    12
    2
See reviews for
147
252
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated his 30th birthday and our anniversary at the Minoa Palace Resort and Spa. My mom worked with guest services to have a cheese plate and champagne in the room when we checked in.They even delivered a cake on his birthday. Our room was large with a balcony and view of the mountains. The hotel has great amenities: multiple pools (our favorite was the one by the beach), the beach was nice with lounge chairs and umbrellas (they could use a few more during busy days), the hotel was clean, modern. The staff speaks very good English and are ready to help make your time at their hotel a good one. On the last day of our visit to Crete, our flight wasn't until 10pm so we had a full day. We hit the beach and they allowed us to use the showers in the spa to shower before we headed out. The price was just right and we really enjoyed our stay there. Only problem we had was our vacation wasn't long enough.

Room Tip: We took the internet deal - a discount but non-refundable. I am pretty sure the rooms either have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The first thing I should say is that this review is that it's not a reflection on the staff at the hotel, the hotel facilities, or the room (all of which were great). It is entirely to do with the location of the hotel, the local area and the a comparison with other areas in Crete.
Platanias is a traditional tourist trap, where you will be sold oven cooked frozen pizzas in the restaurants for £15 and all you can buy within walking distance is 'I love Crete' handbags. However, if you happen to be a Crazy Golf enthusiast then there are at least 3 to choose from. From the brochure pictures, we were expecting a real luxury resort in a secluded location, but when you arrive you will find that the swimming pool is located about 10m from a very busy through road and the beach is nothing to write home about. When you read 'beach sports' in your brochure, read 'un-used volleyball net'. If you find yourself here, I would recommend having evenings out in Chania Town (which is lovely) and lots of beach trips away from Platanias.
This all seems negative, but the reason is that Crete has such amazing potential for a holiday - the people are awesome, the old towns are beautiful and some of the beaches could rival the Caribbean... but you won't find any of that in Platanias. If you're travelling all this way, then despite the great reviews for this hotel please do yourself a favour and look elsewhere, not because this hotel is bad, but because you can do so, so much better in Crete without much effort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george_mathioulakis, General Manager at Minoa Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is of high importance to have our guests perspective since it helps us to improve our services and personalize them to the needs of our guests.

Regarding the location, the hotel is just 800 meters from the center of the village of Platanias and offers our guests the quietness and the serenity of a summer resort.
Furthermore Platanias is only 12 km away from the town of Chania and is surrounded by other touristic resorts such as Kolimpari, Stalos and Agia Marina. Moreover there is a big variety of cafes, restaurants, bars and for the youngest a wide range of activities most of them highly recommended on Trip Advisor.
Platanias due to its central location gives the visitor the opportunity to visit many and different places by going on excursions to beautiful beaches, archeological places and sightseeing as well.
Finally our hotel offers our guests not only the relaxation they may need but numerous sport activities (Zumba, Yoga, Tennis, Ping Pong, Mini Soccer, Beach Volley) for those who prefer more action during their vacation.


Kind Regards,

George Mathioulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times, both in July and September and have always had a great holiday. The staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed in several different pool view rooms, which we would recommend. The food is excellent and there is always a wide selection. The whole hotel is maintained to a high standard and the gardens are beautiful. There are a number of pools of varying sizes and they are always spotlessly clean! The hotel is situated close to the resort of Platanias so there are plenty of shops and bars nearby if you wish to venture out in the evenings. Chania is also just a bus ride away. This hotel is great and we definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms in main building are the better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had wonderful trip to Crete, lovely hotel! Breakfast was so delicious!! No comments about Spa, we havent use it. Clean swimmingpools, nice poolbar, lots of sunbeds etc. Location was great, near of restaurants and shops. Skoniako restaurant was exellent, visit here!!! Beach was clean and warm, red flag was always at our holiday so we cant go swim to sea.

Room Tip: Family room (our was 611) was great! Big and fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a conference and was very impressed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurants were good and not too expensive and the breakfast was above average. Even though there were several families and babies, the hotel is not too noisy and very suitable for solo travellers or couples. Most rooms are only a short walk to the beach, which is not sand, but pebbles. We had several lunches at the hotel and all of them were nice, especially the salads, all of them with very fresh produce. It is a good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Mino Palace, May 14th for our 30th Wedding Anniversary.
Okay the main older complex is a tiny bit shabby, but really, it's not that bad. What makes this a 5 star is the excellent service of ALL the hard working, extremely helpful staff. Couldn't fault any of them. Also the top quality food and variety, even for breakfast. We were half board and we could swop evening meal for lunch at the beach restaurant, which we did so we could have a meal in a Chania harbour restaurant one evening. Chania wasn't that expensive either. We could also swop the buffet evening meal for a night at the hotel's a la carte restaurant which over looked the beach in which we watched sunset as we enjoyed our meal. After reading other reviews - I didn't mind people with babies and toddlers as I was one once. It's just the odd parent that couldn't control their child.
We chose a mountain view (cause we like mountains) on the third floor. From the walk to our door there is a lovely garden/court yard seating area below. We were quite happy with the extremely spacious, quiet room, though limited English channels on TV.
There are two gripes - one, the price of drinks - even coffee is expensive. Getting the cheapest bottle of wine on discount was €18! The other of having to pay €10 for use of jacuzzi and same again for sauna!
We did the Lagoon Cruise which is a huge boat that carries what looked like 500 people. The food and drinks were very reasonably on board and I've never known a boat to have so many toilets and clean at that! Fortunately the weather was brilliant, therefore so was the trip. It took you to picturesque Gramvoussa, but didn't stop long. There was a longer stay at the beautiful shallow, very warm Balos lagoon. Really enjoyable.
We also did the Imbros Gorge trip which is very stoney and can be hard going if your knees can't take a lot of descending, but the scenery is worth it. I was surprised how many unfit people took this trip (although not heavy going) and we ended an hour late! We are nearly 60yrs and managed the walk comfortably.
Mino Palace is at the end of Platanias, and can be a walk in the evenings to bars and restaurants. There is a very steep hill in the centre of Platanias that leads you up to some lovely restaurants (which you can just have drinks in) and a beautiful view of Platanias.
Platanias itself isn't the most fantastic resort we've been to and isn't that big either, but really loved this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minoa Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort & Spa

Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa hotel offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minoa Palace Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.