We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo! Keep up the great work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariadne

Ariadne
Side Road, Platanias, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 82 Restaurants in Platanias
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bravo! Keep up the great work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After hearing how great it is, we decided to give Ariadne a try.

It had a fun atmosphere, with friendly servers and people in general. Everyone (including other customers) had a great attitude and the servers were not only servers, but also entertainment for the many tables there. It was clear that everybody enjoyed being there. We went on a Wednesday night so they had the weekly fireworks next door. We were welcomed by bruchetta and fava (pureed split peas) which were lovely. The chicken salad was one of the best salads that I have had in a long time, and the seafood plate was delicious as well. At the end they brought out the best millefeuille that I have tasted (and normally I don't like millefeuille).

We will be coming back again. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
“Great restaurant by the seaside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A good restaurant by the Beach, great atmosphere in the evening. Nice and friendly staff. Good Food, a good notch up from all the other touristplaces.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harstad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Every time we bring friends to Platanias, we take them to Ariadne, because we know that they will like it. Good food and super waiters. Even if the restaurant is full, they smile, sing and make you feel so good. See you next year guys!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leikanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The service could be more friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went here once. Because of the good Tripadvisor review and because of the location on the beach. The food was very good. We chose the mix platter with different greek specialities. It can be recommended! We were five people, and the table which had been reserved for us, was a round table next to the beach. Good. However, the service could be improved. We asked it the mixed platter for two persons could be made for three persons. But, the answer was no. No explanation why. No smile. Hmmmm.... Also, although the location next to the beach is beautful, it is even more beautiful on the Kyano Beach Restaurant were you are actually sitting on the beach--that is, on the lawn under some trees. And comparing prices, Ariadne is more expensive than our favorite the Kyano Beach Restaurant. I also wonder why--when the menu is in both greek, english and swedish--the bill is in greek? That said, the restaurant is among the better ones in Platanias.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolsås
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing place - hotel, and restraunt on the beach, beautiful view !!! , food - heaven, its no words to describe all of this heavenly food ! But what the most important is the people who work there - they all are incredible !!! :))) guys - we love you !:)) Big thanks for all of you, that you create for us such unique time - this week was the best holliday ever ! See you !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariadne also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Ariadne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariadne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.