We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed atmosphere and nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe

Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe
Platanias-Chania, Platanias, Crete 73104, Greece
6938954602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 82 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $19 - $21
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On the main street of Platanias, lies the restaurant “AROKARIA”In a beautiful garden, with touches of traditional architecture that tie up harmonically with the rich natural environment, we have accommodate, since 1991 til today, thousands of visitors, known or not.Staying faithful to the authentic Cretan cuisine, we offer our visitors the joy to taste traditional dishes given with a modern perception, emphasizing to the authentic tastes and pure local products..
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“relaxed atmosphere and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We shared stuffed wine leaves for starter and it's really good. The rabbit meat is great and swordfish is ok. The price is not expensive compared to other restaurants with similar atmosphere nearby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The look of the place drew me to look at the place and the friendly people to choose this restaurant. My brother and I shared a greek salad (one for each would have been too much) and the only note about it was that I expected it to be with red onions... I ordered a chicken souvlaki, it was great. Moist, tender and flavorful. My brother got a beef steak, he loved that as well. The only thing that seems to be an issue with most places in Greece - sauce? The lime wedge was great but potatoes were a bit dry on their own. Loved the apperative and few small slices of watermelon after the meal. The food came really nicely on time, no extra waiting or too soon, and the check arrived in 4-5 minutes of asking for it. Liked the place and probably returning again for a meal. The mousakka looked promising...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great gyros!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you ever eaten out in Platanias, you wont be surprised by what you will find on the menu here. Yet, the place manage to separate itself from the crowd with it's cooking. It's simply better. The gyros is excellent and actually comes with a fear share of vegetables (which seems rare in Crete). If you came to Greece to try out the gyros, then stop looking, this is the place. I have to recommend the beef stifado (beef stew) as well. It's fantastic!

And of course you get the complimentary raki, which tastes horrible, but that's the charm, isn't it?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“arokaria restaurant: delicious cretan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

we ate in arokaria restaurant and we liked us the atmosphere and the delicious cretan food! they have their farm and the meat s were fresh! we tried lamb fillet Strogkanof which was excellent and in reasonable price! bonne apetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant gave it a go when I was close by!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Don't forget to ask for their suggestions and special local Cretan dishes. They have a a good amount of traditional greek deliciousness hidden in them! I went there alone during my military days when the food was terrible in the military camp and everytime felt like an oasis in the desert.

They have good prices and the service is very fast so if you don't like waitting its highly recommended. A joy for taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.