We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solimar Aquamarine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Solimar Aquamarine Hotel to your Saves list
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kontomari, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Platanias
birmingham,uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for one week in September and had private pool. Very nice and perhaps we'll be back again some time. Food wasn't massive choice but you could find something you could eat and was also clean and kept stocked up when trays ran out

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for your positive comments on trip advisor, we are looking forward to your second stay in our premises and offer you again the best possible service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    29
    18
    7
See reviews for
52
91
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we spent a week in this hotel (09.04-09-11). arrived at 1 am, the receptionist was very nice and offer us refreshment..
We got a room on second floor(garden view), but was very happy with view, better than some VIP rooms, room was cleaned everyday.
Variety of food was great, but not always knew what it is, because of labels absence... one minus: needed to wait for staff to bring coffee.
Staff wasn't rude but if you talk with them they will talk with you... they weren't there to entertain us..
We enjoy our staying here,really liked beach, which was sandy with a small rocks...

Room Tip: Room 239 has a nice view and is near main building and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your possitive comments and words, we had already a meeting with our staff and expressed your issue, I would like to assure you that with your next stay you comments on trip advisor will be all possitive.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel itself is a little secluded which is what we wanted anyway – it is located between Maleme and Platania and is lovely a quiet location with the beach a very short walk away. Most of the staff are superb – in particular Dimitri (reception) and Maria (bar staff) they were both so lovely and helpful the whole time we were there and always wanted to talk to us! However, some of the staff were very miserable looking but that can’t be helped (I think other people have mentioned this). The food is lovely with a huge choice and the fruit provided was fantastic. The food was not always that well labelled and I am a very fussy eater so just be aware you need to have your wits about you! The pool bar was lovely as well with a wide range of drinks available. There is also a bar terrace which is lovely but can get quite windy up there on an evening and I wished I had taken a cardigan or something to take off the chill. The only negative I can say on the evenings is the lack of any entertainment – I’m not one for tacky entertainment but it was boring at times. Having eaten in the hotel for several nights on the trot we decided to take a walk to a nearby restaurant which is at the back of the hotel and you turn right, it’s called Bossa Nova and is fantastic – it’s not expensive, the food is superb and they have a huge choice of beer and ales – highly recommend.

We are quite active people so sitting around the pool every day was not for us, even though the pool was great and sunbeds were always free. We did a lovely walk out the back of the hotel and turned left along the top of the beach and walked to a german war cemetery, this was the best day out by far. It’s a bit of a walk but well worth it. We walked into Platania as well which is about 4km each way which was lovely and there are plenty of places to have lunch an activities to do – there are a range of fish spas where you can have your feet nibbled on for 5 euros per person(recommended this for fun factor). We arranged a few trips – one from Platania which was a boat trip to the island Theodorou, you get a couple of snorkling trips and this was such good fun, it does cost 25 euros each and they do the same trips from Chania which is about 40 minutes away on the bus for 15 euros so you can save a lot of money but it was our last full day and we decided we wanted to stay fairly local but if you want the samething for much less you can get the bus outside the hotel into chainia for about 4 euros each and that’s a return. We did go into Chania earlier on but were not that amazed by the place. The boat trips vary in times and they set off between 1:00pm and 2:30pm and last approx 3 hours so you just have to be aware when you do the trip from Chania that you might not be getting back to the hotel until around 6:30/7:00pm. The last day we decided to get the little fun train to the canyon – this cost 17 euros each and I thought it was a complete rip off for the whole trip – I have looked at the reviews and they seem quite good but I suppose that is something some people will like!

Room Tip: Get one with a pool if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor, we would like to thank you and assure you that your next stay will be even better.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a great week in Solimar Aquamarine 28th Aug to 4th Sept it was a peaceful chilled out week the food was lovely and as for the room it was spotless and cleaned every day. The staff and the manager was so helpfull . not far to the nearest village about 5 mins you cant fault it .We met some lovely people and enjoyed our holiday.We will be returning . Dont hesitate go see for yourself...

Room Tip: Top Floor room looks to be better ,or if like personal pool VIP rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Respectful Guest,

Was an honour to have you as guests in our premises, we are looking forward to your next stay and make you feel again as "at home".

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived at Solimar expecting to be put in the superior suit with pool, the receptionist 'Olga' told us that 'we were the lucky couple' and that in our room was having problems with the pool, so we've been upgraded to VIP suit.

The next day we had a knock at the door saying we were needed in reception. Olga told us that our room was ready now, I explained that we had unpacked and that it would be too much hassle to move rooms now, we were here top enjoy the sun not lug our suitcases around. Olga became rude and very unhelpful. I explained that im not prepared to be moved rooms. She said she would review it in a couple of days.

Next day another letter in our room telling us to go to reception, Olga said it had been sorted for us to stay in the VIP room. I thought that was the end of the matter.. I was wrong.

On check out, i went to hand the key back to Olga, who was talking on the phone. She finished the call and what she was about to tell me was the VERY dIsturbing. Apparently we owe the hotel TWO HUNDRED EUROS!!

For what I questioned and Olga explained that we'd ruined a bed sheet and they need to buy a new one. 200 euros for a new sheet?? seemed to me the hotel were trying anything they could to make up the money they'd lost for upgrading us to VIP.

The manager Michael was called and explained that we needed to pay 200 euros because there was blood on the sheet, which was apparently silk.. I dont think so. He demanded that I come down to the room with him, baring in mind our shuttle to the airport was due in 15 minutes. When we got to the room the 'chief executive cleaning officer' was already there with the sheet prepared for me to see, there were two minute drops of blood from where my shoes had rubbed my feet and apparently the sheet was ruined beyond repair. The cleaner also pointed out stains on the headboard which had been there on our arrival, she was accusing us of making these stains.

I was appalled at these lies and refused to pay, Michael became rude, speaking in Greek to the cleaner, eventually after explaining to him that we had no money left he dropped the matter and we just about made it in time for our transfer, this is not the sort of stress you need after a relaxing holiday, just before you are set to leave. From reading other reviews it is clear that this is a regular occurence in Solimar, I would urge anyone that is 'upgraded' to speak with Michael about it, as they will try to con you out of money after!!

Putting these issues aside, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday, the hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained, with beautiful grounds. The food was plentiful, with a wide range of dishes to choose from. However the staff could use a few lessons in manners. Waiters and waitresses were rude, they didn't smile and everything seemed like too much effort for them.

On the other hand the bar staff were particularly friendly, there was a wide range of drinks available to all inclusive guests, and the roof garden bar has lovely views, however there was NO ENTERTAINMENT at all, many couples looked bored out of their minds.
Luckily Platanias centre is only a short busride, DO NOT USE A TAXI. its a rip off.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel, and that is due to the poor staffing, I would never return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Respectful Guest,

I think that sitting in a chair and making such a big issue out of small cases is an exaduration,
The bed sheet as well as the bed cover are througn away as they were not any more usable because of the blood stains, you didnt anyhow paid although we should have charged your room bill, I do not know when was the last time you bought a silk cover 2.00 x 2.20 but I assure you is expensive, I have stayed in London in the center 5 years ago with my friends nad we were charged 300 pounds for a damage in the shower curtens that we needed to pay and we did.
The entertainment is nowhere advertised in our site www.solimarhotels.gr and if you have googled it you would know but you didnt. Taxis are very fair as Platanias will cost you 7-8 Euros for a 3 kilometer ride. I'm sure in UK is much more expensive than us.

Please if you do not know the hotel you are planing to have holiday google it in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Last year at Soilmar was so nice that was the reason we decided to come back. Again the vaction at Solimar was fantastic. Great food, great hospitality of the Manager, Justyna, Maria, Vasili and other staff, clean environment, swimming-pool, pool bar, clean and cosy room with privete swimming-pool, just nicely reowated, nice playground for children - these are some of the keywords of the hotel. If You are looking for a quite place - the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you rpositive comments on trip advisor, we would like to assure you that we will continue offering our best servises to you and to everyone visiting our property.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a lovely week at the Solimar Aquamarine hotel from 23rd July 2013 to 31st July 2013.
The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily.
All the staff, from the bars, restaurant and management were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and Michalis was available adding that personal touch.
Food was good, breakfast was a good selection of cooked breakfast, continental style, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal and fruit juices. Dinner and evening meal, had a good selection of salads, hot meal choices including traditional Greek choice, fresh fruit and plenty of desserts. It is a tough job catering for people on such a large scale 3 times a day, but we were not disappointed with the food at all. You could get white or red wine, beer and soft drinks in the main restaurant during meal times.
Snacks were available from the pool bar in the afternoon, which was great for the children .
Both the pool bar and the terrace bar offered local spirits, wine, beer, several cocktail choices and soft drinks as part of the all inclusive package, premium branded spirits were available at extra cost which is standard for most European All inclusive breaks.
There is a well stocked mini market on site and a childrens play, and 5 minutes from the nearest beach.
The swimming pool is lovely, however for those people that are not confident in the water (as one of our party wasn't), there is quite a steep slope into the pool, by no means a criticsm, but suggest maybe a handrail might be useful for those that aren't confident in the water.

A lovely holiday, in a lovely hotel, would definately come back.

Jo - UK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis C, Διευθυντής at Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear respectful Guest,

Thank you for yor positive review, we will be pleased to offer you our services again in the future!

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solimar Aquamarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solimar Aquamarine Hotel

Address: Kontomari, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solimar Aquamarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Solimar Aquamarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solimar Aquamarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.