We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonio Beach Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonio Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Sonio Beach Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for 9 days with another couple from 26 September and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. The room was in the main building near reception and had a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon/evening sun. The room was cleaned every day except Sunday and sheets changed several times in our stay. Air con was free and very good although not needed on 3 nights when weather was cooler--

Weather went from 32 down to 25 and then 20 on last 2 days when sea was rough.

Sofia was very helpful and most welcoming and we had space to park our hire car by reception.Sofia demonstrated how helpful she was as one of the guests was taken to hospital and she took the Danish guest's wife to visit on several occasions.

The restaurant by the beach served us a great breakfast every day and we ate at least half our meals there--Stifado was really good.The staff were geat fun and most helpful.

The pool is perhaps a liitle small ( 12m x 5m ,my guess ) but is clean and has nice loungers and is beside the bar and beach.

Alltoghether a really relaxing holiday -- we would have no hesitation in recommending to others and would hope to return to on another year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we stayed here for a week in middle of october, great accommodation lovely and clean very quiet as it was there last week before they closed for the season, appartment was big there were five of us so we had a 2 bedroom which was great for all of us. cleaners came in every day they did an excellent job even washed dishes. Platanias is lovely place to visit as its quite central to visit other places buses run every half hour in october, We would reccommend sonio beach to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A very spacious room with kitchenette . Very clean and nice balcony ,right in the heart of the resort. We had a minor catastrophe with the coffee percolator which we felt terrible about as we managed to melt it on the hob. ( We weren't intentionally trying to heat it there but had put it where we thought it was out of the way .) Anyway the owner was extremely tolerant and understanding. Check-in and check-out was rapid and with charm . A great place to stay for this part of Crete.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia S, Receptionschef at Sonio Beach Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We appreciate and reading with big importance at all kinds of comments. You are the one who makes us better!

We hope to have you back with us soon again.

Best Regards,
Sofia with family
Sonio Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week during September. We stayed in a studio apartment and it provided all the necessary features that you would expect. We particularly appreciated being located in apartment No.17 as this was away from the main street on which the bars and restaurants are located and it was set back from the sea and hotel restaurant meaning there wasn't much noise during the day or night. We had a couple of minor maintenance issues with the apartment but these were largely dealt with satisfactorily and didn't affect our holiday.

The hotel pool is small but kept very clean with an adequate number of sun-loungers (we never struggled to find one). We spent the majority of our time by the pool rather than the beach as this meant we didn't have to pay €6 per day for sun-loungers on the beach. Also, there were a number of days when there was quite a strong breeze meaning the sea was too rough to swim.

The hotel restaurant is simply amazing. We ate here 3 nights during our stay and the quality of the food was stunning. We would certainly recommend trying the bruschetta, chicken Caesar salad, beef stifado and saganaki cheese. An added bonus is the free shot (or two) or Ouzo/Raki that is given to you at the end of your meal as well as a small dessert (some form of cake). The prices were very reasonable and the setting very nice. The restaurant was always busy compared to other restaurants along the beach.

Sofia (Hotel Manager) is very friendly and helpful. She recommended a few places to visit and the best recommendation was Platanias Old Town. We visited on the last night of our stay to watch the sun-set and this was perhaps the best sun-set we've ever seen. The setting was truly amazing.

Our apartment was cleaned on a daily basis (except Sunday) and on some days the cleaner even washed our dishes (not expected!). We were happy to leave the cleaner a good tip for the excellent service she provided.

A number of reviewers have commented on the area being largely frequented by Scandinavians and this in some ways affecting their holiday experience. We very much enjoyed the fact that there were not many British people staying around Platanias. Everyone who we spoke to in the local restaurants and shops had a very good grasp of English and were very friendly. It was nice to stay in a resort where there was no large scale drinking or people being rude.

Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and whilst we wouldn't return to Platanias (due to the fact that we would like to explore other Greek islands) I would recommend anyone considering staying at Sonio Beach to go ahead and get your accommodation booked!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia S, Receptionschef at Sonio Beach Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We appreciate and reading with big importance at all kinds of comments. You are the one who makes us better!

We hope to have you back with us soon again.

Best Regards,
Sofia with family
Sonio Beach Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for two weeks during August. Really clean apartments. Maid service daily except Sunday. Cooking facilities a two ring hob which was fine for us. Fridge with freezer. No charge for air con or safe which was great. We had a separate bedroom from the kids, bonus! We had two balconies, one with a great view to the sea, the other looking at the back of the supermarket. Not a great view but just used this for clothes drying and lilo storage! Sofia and her staff were very helpful if you needed any information and always gave you more than you asked for. We booked our airport taxi through her which was completely hassle free. Only downside was the beach shelved quickly into the sea and there were quite a few red flag days which meant no swimming in the sea. The pool was there as a back up for us and a short bus or taxi ride to Agia Marina meant we could swim in the sea any day as it is a soft sand beach and is shallow and ideal for children. The food at the beach bar was wonderful, I am still dreaming about it! The staff were friendly here too and wonderful with the kids. I have read that some people didn't like that Platanias is mainly a Scandinavian resort, I found this to be great and everyone we met were friendly. There weren't many Brits but we were on holiday and it was very relaxing not understanding what people were saying, it meant we could totally switch off. Also as everyone we met could speak English we made new friends from Norway, Greece and Russia. A great place to stay. Very central but not noisy. Only noise was from the service lift at the supermarket and a few doors but generally peaceful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia S, Receptionschef at Sonio Beach Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We appreciate and reading with big importance at all kinds of comments. You are the one who makes us better!

We hope to have you back with us soon again.

Best Regards,
Sofia with family
Sonio Beach Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay, being near the beach and the restaurants around, and good value for money. Sofia is very helpful and accommodating to your needs. I changed room to the quieter pool end of the buildings and had a very clean studio room with a small balcony towards the pool and beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top end near the main road may be noisy late at night with music from the bars or early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia S, Receptionschef at Sonio Beach Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We appreciate and reading with big importance at all kinds of comments. You are the one who makes us better!

We hope to have you back with us soon again.

Best Regards,
Sofia with family
Sonio Beach Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week recently. As other reviewers have said, they are clean basic apartments. We had an apartment for 3 adults, with one bedroom. The bedroom was a good size with its own balcony (with a table and 3 chairs which just about fitted), but the living area was quite small with one single bed in it, a table and 3 chairs, kitchenette and a wardrobe. There was little other storage for clothes and such and we had to live out of suitcases for the week. But the living area also had its own balcony with a facility to hang out wet clothes, but no furniture to sit out. The facilities in the kitchenette were adequate with a sufficient supply of crockery, cutlery and pans. Nowhere to prepare any food other than the draining board. But for what we wanted, we managed very well. The bathroom was equipped with the usual facilities, but the shower over the bath had no curtain (typical of Greece), but it also meant that the bathroom was flooded every time you had a shower, there was scraper supplied so we could scrape all the water down the drain. The cleaners came in every day apart from Sunday and did an excellent job, supplying clean linen regularly. We had a couple of maintenance issues which were resolved straight away with good humour. The proprietor, Sophia was really helpful and polite as were the maintenance staff and restaurant staff. We did pay to have Internet connection, but declined to pay for the air conditioning which seemed a little expensive for one small unit in the living area, which wouldn't have helped those of us sleeping in the bedroom. We also paid to have the safe for the week, which was a reasonable cost.
The resort of Platanias is mainly aimed at people from Denmark, Sweden, Norway etc. which is not a problem as most people speak some English. But it did mean that food and drink is very expensive compared to other Mediterranean resorts. I couldn't bring myself to pay 8 euros for a cocktail and 7 euros for a vodka and coke! There were plenty of places to choose from to eat and drink, plenty of crazy golf facilities etc too. We did walk up to Platanias old village which was really nice.
We got the bus into Chania and did lots of shopping - worth a visit to amble through the old streets and leather stalls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia S, Receptionschef at Sonio Beach Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We appreciate and reading with big importance at all kinds of comments. You are the one who makes us better!

We hope to have you back with us soon again.

Best Regards,
Sofia with family
Sonio Beach Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonio Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonio Beach Apartments

Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonio Beach Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SONIO Beach Apartments, a Greek-Swedish Family Hotel, is situated in Platanias, the most popular tourist destination in Crete, 10 km west of the city of Chania and 20 km away from the airport. It’s marvelous location, nearby the sea, with a beautiful garden and relaxing atmosphere makes your stay an unforgettable experience.Sonio Beach consists of 38 apartments located in three buildings surrounded by a peaceful garden, two swimming pools , a Pool Bar Restaurant in in front of the sandy beach & sea.All apartments are decorated in a bright, tasteful and fresh country style. They are equipped with air-condition (at extra- charge), shower or bathtub, heating, fridge, kitchenette and safety deposit box.SONIO Beach Apartments is open from April till November. The Reception is open daily 12 hours. There is Wireless Internet in the Reception area and the apartments nearby, a free Scandinavian library as well as the possibility of renting a car/ bicycle, changing money, information and excursions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonio Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonio Beach Apartments Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonio Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.