We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pobyt w hotelu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menia Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Menia Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Menia Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platanias, Platanias, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Platanias
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“pobyt w hotelu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

stay in Menia Beach Hotel we remember very well. great service in the hotel and restauracjii, eating at the restaurant very good and the price reasonable. clean and nice rooms and above all, very nice staff. security and protection around the clock. object on the beach.children's pool with a children's playground. supermarket right next to. close to everywhere. nothing to complain about. Distance from the airport 30 min taxi. I strongly recommend it. family with a child.I strongly recommend.family of Dublin hot greets all.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms overlooking the pool or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This year is the 3rd time we go to Menia, and we will come back several times. For me who travels with kids the location of the hotel is perfect, right beside the ocean. The hotel is great, clean and in good condition. The staff is friendly and the food is delicious.
The kids can alternate between being in the pools or on the beach. Right next Menia is a mini market and a fun-park. It is important for me with everything within walking distance when traveling with little kids alone. You won't be disappointed! ;)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Owner at Menia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Linn,

We would like to thank you for choosing Menia Beach Hotel for holidays and also for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Once again thank you for your nice words and also for your recommendation to other guests. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we hope your next visit to our hotel will be as pleasant as this one.


Best Regards,
Lagonikakis George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We changed room on arrival, the balcony was tiny and not very private (217), it may have been the promo room. The second room was much better. The manger was friendly and accommodating and introduced us to his family. Two nice pools and plenty of sun loungers available. Rooms basic but comfortable. Air con worked fine, free safe provided, couldn't get tv to work though. Hot water and shower was luke warm sometimes. No toaster in room and not able to hire one but you could get it done at the bar. No wine glasses in kitchen, had to get some from the bar. Everything was very clean and there was a regular maid service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant good and reasonable prices. There is a supermarket next to the hotel which is open until midnight. The hotel guests are mainly Scandinavian, we were the only English people in the hotel but we didn't mind that. The hotel is right next to the beach, really excellent location and only minutes away from the bars and restaurants in Platanias and Agia Marina. Try The Olive Tree, dine right on the beach, excellent food. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, we have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels that were not as enjoyable as this. Well done Menia. We hope to return here in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent our summer vacation at Menia beach hotel, and we were not dissapointed! Nice hotel with 2 nice pools, close to the beach, so every dag we could choose between staying by the pools or at the beach. Menia is almost right between Platanias and Agia Marina, quite sentral, with many small and big shops along the mail street. The hotel workers were very nice. The restaurant at the hotel was nice, good food and good prices. The hotel is also close to our favourite restaurant in Platanias / Agia Marina: The Olive Tree Restaurant. We have been to Platanias three times, and We would love to go back to Menia!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel was clean and nice. Reception dude was friendly and helpful. Beach was good when you walked a couple of meters sideways. Peaceful hotel area and good location. Free safetybox. Bus stops and shopping places were close. Also the pool area was nice. Hotel dog was cute :D TV didn't work.

Room Tip: Room with sea or pool view with own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a warm people who always had a smile, a good morning, CALIMERA, A place which for us was the first time but never the last!! We look forward to see all of You, We had a very good stay and it stood to rhe expectations and more than that. There is only one thing to say, Have better beds !! To hard madrass

Room Tip: 702 had wiew to the sea, we heard not any cars .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryne, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A very nice hotel in everyway. The people who work there are great. The rooms are good, and cleaning perfect. Very good views, and many svimmingpool. Good food. Everything! Its right on the beach with sunbeds and umbrellas. There are good internet connection. We were 3 young adults, and we loved the place. The Cretan Night is a fun time to spend with other guests and the ones who work there. Its also a supermarket right outside the hotel. Unbelivable its not more stars to the hotel.. should have been at least 4 stars.


We will be back at Menia!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menia Beach Hotel

Address: Platanias, Platanias, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Menia Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seafront Menia Beach Hotel features 2 outdoor swimming pools, an a la carte Cretan restaurant and self-catering accommodation with free Wi-Fi access. It is located in the resort of Platanias, 10 km west of Chania.The spacious, air-conditioned Menia Beach studios and apartments feature a pool, mountain or garden-view balcony or terrace. Each includes a kitchenette with dining area, where guests can enjoy their own meals. A satellite TV, hairdryer and safety box are also offered.Guests can taste traditional Cretan and Greek specialities at the seaside restaurant, while drinks and snacks are also offered throughout the day.Free sun beds and umbrellas can be found around the pool. Menia Beach also features a games room including, among others, a billiards table and a ping-pong table. 2 smaller pools and a playground are available for the children.Chania International Airport is 20 km away from the hotel. The 24-hour front desk can arrange for car rentals and private parking is offered free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menia Beach Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menia Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.