We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmos

Cosmos
Upper Platanias Old Village, Platanias, Crete, Greece
+30 2821 068558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $34 - $53
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Cosmos is the highest restauant in the area of Platanias , and serves suberb dinner to all foodies who are looking for perfection . Relax over the multi-colour view of Chania under lounge music, supported with menu of mediterannean tastes and blending flavors . Cosmos winelist is one of the largest in Crete with 300 labels cava of wines, whiskeys , eau de vie , dessert wines , vintage Vodkas ,Rums and French Cognacs with Habana cigars , which are all enjoyable in our cosmopolitic exterior under the romance of summer breeze. From fresh fishes to juicy steaks , Cosmos is a restaurant for wine & dine and is recommended for dinner to all people who are fans of the good-living . Our dinner time is 18:00-00:00 On high season reservation is recommended in order to get a privilege-table. We do not have childrens playground . Dress code : Casual. Parties over 8 persons on high season are served only by reservation. Thank you for your understanding and we wish you the best for your holidays : )
Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very good restaurant located in upper Platanias with good food, good wine and drink list, nice atmosphere, perfect view and very good service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    184
    46
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Cretan jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Cosmos is The Place to be in Chania, especially during the sunset when the panoramic view is magnificent! Dishes and service are one of a kind, as well, and of course the owner, Dimitris is in a league of his one!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
“''Cosmos: a restaurant where the traditional cuisine meets the fine creativity''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I visit Platanias city almost every summer for holidays, since the time I had a dinner at Cosmos restaurant it became my daily favourite place.
Cosmos restaurant is placed at the highest spot of the hill at the old traditional village of Platanias, where I've seen the most beautiful panoramic sunset view of the whole city and the ocean.
Its fine vintage decoration with wood and stone sets my mood to appreciate and enjoy my time there.
The service and the people who work there are masters of kindness and their welcoming attitude meets the right place.
The traditional tastes of Cretan cuisine at this restaurant can stand up with pride among the cuisines from all over the world.
Dishes such 'Tsigariasto' (casserole local lamp) 'Staka' (tradinional melted cheese with its natural butter), local fresh vegetable dishes and salad combinations made with Cretan tradition and creation, fresh shrimp pasta with ouzo, original Cretan 'Mitzithra' cheese and delicious deserts, are some of the tastes that will follow our memories for the rest of time.
I must mention my admiration for the variety of Cosmos cava and wine list with excellent wines and rare old labels of whiskeys and cogniac from all over the world.
Summarizing all this, it's fair to write that it's not an expensive restaurant at all since the prices are good and reasonable.
One big 'thank you' to Cosmos restaurant for every time and every minute I shared there.
Highly Recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Divine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was hands down the best restaurant where we ate in Crete. The restaurant had great view, nice decor and friendly service. The best thing however was the amazingly delicious food. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vagnharad, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“From Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very VERY good food and exemplary service. We can sincerely recommend this restaurant to all visitors. /Jocke o Annelie, Sweden

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmos also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.