We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like a Greek aperclass lord of the 1920” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metohi Georgila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metohi Georgila to your Saves list
Metohi Georgila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Purgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Platanias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I felt like a Greek aperclass lord of the 1920”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great room classic design theme, spotlessly clean and neat and, most of all, an EXCELLENT staff. The sunny bar and pool area, a glass of wine, a meeting point or just relaxing.

The friendly, attentive staff really made me feel "at home" here.

definitely going to come here again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband, friends and I had a wonderful time at Metohi Georgila, we were made so welcome with a welcoming cake on the first night followed by some homemade pasties of cheese, spinach and mint and last but by no means least a farewell pot of homemade jam to take home. Where else would you get such attention? The property was everything we expected and more, the finer details in the accommodation was very much appreciated, we couldn't fault it, it was perfect. We intend to return at a later date to have some more pampering. Thank you so much Paul and Carol W

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The host's are amazing,the property is spectacular.There is great attention to detail in the rooms,and the little touches(wlecome pack- tea/coffee/milk/butter/jam/crispbreads) plus a fruit cake then cheese and spinach pastries while we there plus home made jam when we were leaving were all very delicious.The pool area,sun lounges, and bar are loverly.The surrouding area was a joy to visit and Harris recommended some good restaurants to eat in the evening.All in all,a most wonderful holiday,and will visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms are different. vary in size to custmer rquirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This property is stunning. We rented a huge, beautifully appointed, apartment in the lovingly renovated family summer home for two weeks in May. We plan to go back! Our welcome and care by the family was wonderful, and the whole property is meticulously maintained, included the large pool. There is an excellent comfortable bus service to Chania, and we had a rental car to enable easy access to the gorgeous mountain and coastal scenery of western and southern Crete. The local village of Maleme is within walking distance and has a decent supermarket with fresh produce, restaurants and on-site pottery store. A recommended restaurant, Argentina in Kolambari, had great seafood. We took a boat trip from Kissamos to the beautiful beach of Balos. We chose to take a small group tour with Diktynna (a travel company recommended by our hosts) to hike Europe's biggest gorge, the Samaria Gorge. It was brilliant, with door-to-door service including new minivan and ferry ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 1 week at the beginning of August at Metohi Georgila. It's really one of the most charming place I've been to in Greece. An absolute benchmark in its category. Our appartment with its kitchen was just superb, the pool by magnificient trees is amazing and Harris & his family made us feel at home there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary at the beginning of July this year, as our friends had also been a few weeks before and had recommended it to us.
We were so happy to have found it, and we will definitely go again, next time with friends!
The owners were very friendly, and helpful, and the surroundings are stunning.
We stayed in Ariadni and were so happy with the kitchen facilities, and the general look of the apartment. We could have stayed forever.
Compliments to Areti and harris and their family for a wonderful place, we can't wait to visit again.

A word of advice, if you like a more rustic experience in the evenings turn left out of the old national road and not right into Platanias- we found the old harbour a bit more quiet and not so many tourists.
And do go to Elafonisi beach- its beautiful and only an hours drive away.

Room Tip: Ariadni has a balcony above the main reception, and was so quiet- and lovely views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iraklio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is situated 15km west of Chania, in a very calm and beautiful place. It is a small complex of 5 appts in a restored old mansion. Appartements are very carefully restored and decorated making vivitors feel very cosy. I must mention that each appt has a different "character", but they all match together. Cleaningness is beyond any discussion. Kitchens are fully equiped. The owners are very discreet, warm and kind, always ready to assist clients.
We stayed at Metohi Georgila for summer vacations the last two years, and we will stay for this summer too, without any second thought.
Recommended 100%

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
2.8 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#2 of 56 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
11.1 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
12.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#7 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#24 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metohi Georgila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metohi Georgila

Address: Purgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metohi Georgila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metohi Georgila is a quiet resting place, built in 1908 by Dr Styliano Georgila, a personal friend of Eleftherios Venizelos. This house was not only a home, but also a shelter of hospitality for his friends and family. Years later… wanting to continue the warmth and the generous Cretan hospitality, which by the way our family kept for the last three generations, we reconstructed the building and we created 5 independent residences. Our inspiration wasn’t the need of a business, but the joy of offering and sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Metohi Georgila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metohi Georgila Platanias, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metohi Georgila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.