We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zafferano

Zafferano
Platanias | Opposite the Minoa Palace Resort, Platanias, Crete, Greece
+30 2821 038180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 82 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $12 - $49
Cuisines: Sushi, Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Zafferano is the second Italian restaurant opened by the owners of the well-established Restaurant Kariatis in Chania. Beautiful, contemporary design offering both style and comfort, Zafferano opened in 2004 with a refreshingly different menu comprised of premier ingredients from both Crete and Italy. Every dish at Zafferano is prepared completely fresh to order, serving up a delicious selection of fresh pasta, risotto, gourmet oven-baked pizzas, fish and seafood specialities, vegetarian dishes and succulent fresh fillet steaks. Together with the added indulgence of our delicate, gourmet desserts and a wine list featuring both excellent award-winning Greek wines and an extensive choice of great International wines from around the world - we look forward to welcoming you to Zafferano for an evening of delicious indulgence! Opening June 2014...Our fabulous new Sushi Lounge!
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything about it was really good from first arriving and being greeted at the door the service & food were good a little moer expensive than your average Taverna but you expext rhat from a class place for a special night out .Something Different.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    34
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A dreamlike and tasteful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We recommend all to visit the Zafferano restaurant in Platanias (Crete). Zafferano restaurant offering and delivers an complete Italian cusine, with an professional attitude, fantastic service and knowledge. The food was dreamlike wonderful and was everytime an fantastic well balanced experience. Zafferano as restaurant and concept has pinpointed everything required to become a Michelin star.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modi, Chania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

An upmarket restaurant serving delicious Italian food in a beautifully decorated restaurant. Have visited many times, as I have their sister restaurant in Chania, Kariatis, which I would also recommend. On my last visit, I thoroughly enjoyed one of their gnocchi dishes as an appetiser, while my husband had salmon, avocado and goats cheese. My main dish of ravioli al tartufo was delicious, as was my husband's chicken Dijon. There is an excellent choice of desserts if you have room and the complimentary desert wine and chocolate truffle at the end are a lovely touch. The wine list is extensive and should please even the most discerning palate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a classy place serving excellent pasta dishes, just like being in Italy. The white chair coverings did seem to emit a slight "plasticy" smell, but that really did not affect the enjoyment of the service and food. The final "on the house" touch of sweet desert wine and two chocolate dusted truffles was fabulous. A most enjoyable little piece of luxury at an affordable price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant has a very relaxing atmosphere and is nicely decorated in a modern way. The staff were very attentive and suggested a good bottle of wine when the one the we ordered was unavailable. The pollo picante pizza was amazing. It was a little bit of a spicy kick to it which was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafferano also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zafferano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.