We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zafferano

Zafferano
Platanias | Opposite the Minoa Palace Resort, Platanias, Crete, Greece
+30 2821 038180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 84 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Sushi, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Zafferano is the second Italian restaurant opened by the owners of the well-established Restaurant Kariatis in Chania. Beautiful, contemporary design offering both style and comfort, Zafferano opened in 2004 with a refreshingly different menu comprised of premier ingredients from both Crete and Italy. Every dish at Zafferano is prepared completely fresh to order, serving up a delicious selection of fresh pasta, risotto, gourmet oven-baked pizzas, fish and seafood specialities, vegetarian dishes and succulent fresh fillet steaks. Together with the added indulgence of our delicate, gourmet desserts and a wine list featuring both excellent award-winning Greek wines and an extensive choice of great International wines from around the world - we look forward to welcoming you to Zafferano for an evening of delicious indulgence! Opening June 2014...Our fabulous new Sushi Lounge!
Modi, Chania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

An upmarket restaurant serving delicious Italian food in a beautifully decorated restaurant. Have visited many times, as I have their sister restaurant in Chania, Kariatis, which I would also recommend. On my last visit, I thoroughly enjoyed one of their gnocchi dishes as an appetiser, while my husband had salmon, avocado and goats cheese. My main dish of ravioli al tartufo was delicious, as was my husband's chicken Dijon. There is an excellent choice of desserts if you have room and the complimentary desert wine and chocolate truffle at the end are a lovely touch. The wine list is extensive and should please even the most discerning palate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a classy place serving excellent pasta dishes, just like being in Italy. The white chair coverings did seem to emit a slight "plasticy" smell, but that really did not affect the enjoyment of the service and food. The final "on the house" touch of sweet desert wine and two chocolate dusted truffles was fabulous. A most enjoyable little piece of luxury at an affordable price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant has a very relaxing atmosphere and is nicely decorated in a modern way. The staff were very attentive and suggested a good bottle of wine when the one the we ordered was unavailable. The pollo picante pizza was amazing. It was a little bit of a spicy kick to it which was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food and service, built one word: excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The apetitazer gnocchi al tartufo and garlic spicy bread were perfect and the main dishes the same, filetto ai porcini e pollo con pomodorini. The service was excellent too. !!!

From Mia and Nicola

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food frienfly staff ~ Great combination !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went to the restaurant while on holiday in Chania. We were celebrating my mothers 71st birthday. The staff are very friendly and quickly make you feel like home. We mentioned to the waiter that we would like to surprise my mother with a small birthday cake. The food was as good as you would expect from an Italian restaurant. At the end of dinner, a small cake was brought to the table which was the last stroke left to complete a perfect evening. A gesture that has prompted me to give this restaurant positive feedback is that they didnt charge us for the birthday cake! Thank you to all that made that night so special.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafferano also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zafferano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.