We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, but not four star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amazones Village Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amazones Village Suites to your Saves list
Amazones Village Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Piskopiano
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, but not four star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our experience chimes with some of the other feedback. The setting was ideal for us and the pool area is excellent and perfect for chilling out. The area was always reasonably quiet which was as well as our suite was right by the pool and dining area. The bar service is very good and the drinks are reasonably priced.
Our accommodation (Suite H2) was spacious and reasonably well appointed. However, there were problems with the room service. There was no room service on the Sunday of our stay. The bed linen was not changed during our stay (6 nights) and the towels were only changed once, at our request. The bath was not sealed so there was a small flood on the bathroom floor whenever we had a shower. We spent a lot of time drying bath mats and towels. The bed quilt was old and shabby. In addition, the air-conditioning was only available for an extra charge of 8 euros per day.
The food was adequate but was definitely not four star. There was limited choice and the hot dishes were luke-warm at best. A member of the breakfast staff was usually smoking.
A spa was advertised but there didn't seem to be one and the gym was basic to say the least.
We are most unhappy with the reception we were given on arrival. Our outbound flight was delayed by fifteen hours. We made two phone calls to notify the hotel of our situation. However,when we arrived at the hotel, extremely tired and stressed, we were told that our room had been relet by some automatic booking system. After waiting for some time without any words of comfort, we were offered accommodation in a nearby hotel, with access to the facilities of the Amazones. When we made clear that we would not be happy with this arrangement, we were suddenly offered a suite in the Amazones and were eventually shown to Suite H2. Not the ideal start to our holiday which was only seven days. Our rating of poor for service is based on this experience. Other aspects of the service were satisfactory or good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Client,
We are very sorry for any incovenience.
We are also very sorry the way you present your holidays at our hotel.
Your room, despite your 27hours delay, was there and available.
By law, we are obliged to keep a room open until 12:00 noon of the following morning after the programmed arrival date. We kept your room open and you checked in. That is a fact.
You never mentioned anything while on resort for all the issues you describe in your review.
We have spa services and this is what we advertise. You never asked for any spa service.
You never visited our gymn room, simply because we have no records of you in there. How do you know how the gymn looks like?
About the meals: an average of 50 people have dinner in the hotel every day. If meals are of the quality level as per your review why, did you ask to have free dinner after your check out from the hotel? Why did you not go to any of the tavernas nearby? As it was explained to you, after check out you are no longer resident of the hotel. Thus, the hotel has no further obligation to you regarding the offred services. That is a standard policy of all hotels all around the world.
A/C is extra charge as per our contract with the travel agent.
It is your choice whether you use it or not. We cannot give it for free to some clients and to some other clients after payment. Hotel agreements are the same for all of our hotel guests. We welcome all nationalities and all people and hotel policies are the same for everyone.
Again we apologize for any incovenience and we wish you best of luck in the coming future.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    80
    38
    18
    22
See reviews for
56
192
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was lovely. We had a really great holiday here. We have two children ages 6 and 22 months and we were worried about whether it would be suitable for the 22 month old etc. The staff were great - George is as nice and helpful as all the reviews say and Dissianna (not sure how to spell, sorry) was so lovely - she gave my children so much attention and made half size milkshakes for my daughter every lunch time. Caterina is a lovely and professional manager, always there to help in any way.
We had suite A1 at the top which was a killer to walk up to in the heat but we felt we needed the exercise! The view was amazing and so worth it. We sat there each evening with the baby asleep playing games and watching the stars with our daughter. There was a lovely sea breeze.
Breakfast was fabulous, I miss it! We didn't have dinner at the hotel so I can't vouch for that. We went to David Veggera taverna most nights for the most amazing food. A little trip to the village next door, "old" Hersonnissis is well worth a visit - 20 mins walk.
The suite was very clean and comfortable which was all we wanted and we can be very particular about cleanliness. Pool was lovely. There were a lot of couples and I did feel we cramped their style at the pool! Sorry!
I don't understand the negative reviews - must be a mistake. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We loved it!

Room Tip: A sea view is the obvious request. The place is terraced so the higher up the better - we were the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in hotel from 21/07 to 31/07 -the family with 3 kids on full board bases.
Since day one I felt like never left home: staff was very friendly and rooms was perfect for our needs. Must admit, breakfast wasn`t the best due to luck of variety-but it reflects minimal needs of Greeks life style. Swimming pool water warm enough for us but kids area are way to small(max for 2 people). Mind you, the view from balcony was stunning. Rooms are basic but had all you need to feel comfortable. Katerina, Dimitros, Nikos, Diziana, George, other staff worked extra hard to make sure your have a good, quality holiday. The location is just perfect-a little bit out the way from night life and sea! But in 5-7 min you can be in the centre of town. Car hire would be recommended if you want to hit nice beaches. Diziana is your guide on this. Nikos is very good on cocktails, but I preferred raki! Thank you for everything-will definitely return in the future! Oleg and family

Room Tip: Hard choice! Best view by swimming pool area but during the day it can be a little noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sat here by the pool on our 6th day of a weeks stay at Amazones which we booked through secret escapes.

The hotel staff are all very nice people who take a genuine interest in your comfort and want you enjoy your holiday

Our holiday inc half board as part of the secret escapes package but we chose to dine out each night as trying local food is a big part of our enjoyment in a holiday. You can read some of my reviews on trip-advisor on local restaurants of which there are plenty all good or excellent

Therefore as we didn't dine in the evening I can't comment on the dinners at Amazones but the breakfast was excellent each morning taken on the terrace

Having read some previous reviews I find some of them very unfair to the hotel and Caterina whom we have found to be an excellent host and very professional, organising things such as Thai massages for us nearby

The suites are spacious fitted out in traditional Greek style and spotlessly clean which we are fastidious about. had they not have been we would simply have left as our standards and expectations are high being regular luxury travellers

In a nutshell we will return and if you choose to visit you can rest assured there will be a warm welcome and relaxing holiday at Amazones

Many thanks to all the staff who make a real difference and give the word hospitality true meaning

Room Tip: Ask for a suite away from pool area but all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had intended to write a very grateful review thanking the management/receptionist for their very kindly allowing my husband to print out his emergency travel documents (we stayed next door, having been to Crete every year for the past decade with family & friends) - our holiday was suddenly curtailed this year however due to family bereavement - My husband offered to pay, yet they very very kindly printed out his document (2 pages) for free.
When i called in a day or so later however to ask to purchase similar service (we had to get different flights - nightmare) the same lady on reception rudely and loudly cut me off, and waved her hand at me shouting 'NO print, no printer, go to hersonissos, go' . I know hotels are under no obligation whatsoever to help out distressed tourists trying to get home in time for a funeral, but i have never been made to feel as embarrassed or tearful in many many years of travelling . The scene was also taken in to the obvious amusement of a suited 'gentleman' who had been doing some sort of business in the lobby..owner/manager possibly? Anyway, it was very untypical behaviour for a Cretan 'lady' i have to say and a real pity given that a) i was clearly more than happy to pay for the use of the paper & ink, clutching my wallet as i asked ... b) we were seriously considering trying to book this place for a large family holiday to celebrate our silver wedding next year. Now I don't think so somehow. I guess the shiny glass lobby cannot be relied as an indicator of either basic manners or compassion....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Owner at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear reviewer,
You were not a hotel guest.
Kind Regards,
The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel with panoramic view and a very friendly and helpful staff. The room we stayed in was clean, nice decorated and comfortable. The hotel is located in a cozy village - Piskopiano, 20 minutes´walk away from Hersonissos. The village has some great restaurants (try Davids, a hidden gem), but the food we ate at the hotel - breakfast and some dinners - was also very good.
There are always negative people complaining about everything in life - but I can´t understand why anyone who has stayed in this hotel should have any reason to complain about anything. If you want to stay in a quiet and cozy place, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went to the Amazones Village Suites in September and we were pleasantly surprised! We were welcome by the staff and we felt at home immediately. As if we had been there before. We were taken to our suite and that was another pleasant surprise. The room was big and very clean, very well taken care of with a fantastic ocean view. We went for breakfast the next day and we enjoyed a real mediterranean styled buffet breakfast with fresh juice, freshly cooked eggs, feta and cretan tomatoes. What more to ask? We took trips to different places and we visited a large number of sighteeing spots on the island. Because september is out of tourist season, it was quiet but still we could find everything we were looking for. The weather was fantastic, hot hot hot!
Overall, we had a great out of season holiday and we would return to this small friendly hotel.
Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazones Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Village Suites

Address: Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazones Village Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the Mediterranean of your dreams at Amazones Village Suites. Set atop an ocean bluff, with majestic views over sparkling blue waters and neighbouring Hersonissos beyond, this lushly landscaped Cretan 4-star boutique hotel was once a rock. Relax in the most spacious, beautifully appointed suites in the Cretan Sea, where designer furnishing and terraces summon the feel of a small private vacation home. From dazzling bbq parties to a romantic dinner for two, our helpful personal service will see to your every need. Designed in a subtly elegant, comfortable style, this cherished Cretan luxury hotel offers a truly unforgettable destination for romantic retreats, golf, cultural escapes or fun family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Amazones Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Village Hotel Piskopiano
Hotel Amazones Village
Amazones Village Suites Piskopiano, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazones Village Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.