We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very positive experience at Amazones….” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazones Village Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amazones Village Suites to your Saves list
Amazones Village Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Piskopiano
The Hague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very positive experience at Amazones….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Only just back from a great week in Crete staying at this beautiful small hotel. We were looking for a nice quiet place to use as a base while exploring Northern Crete but we ended up just hanging around the hotel’s lovely pool and the area where the hotel is located. For a little bit extra, we reserved a room with a sea view, and we had indeed an amazing view well worth it. Our room was very spacious and had a little balcony, it was more of an apartment than actually a hotel room, however, we did not use any of the cooking facilities as there were so many good and affordable tabernas within a few minutes of the hotel (Kostas, Davids). The food at the pool bar is also well priced and the included breakfast was also very decent. If I was to be picky, just say that I have laid on fairly more comfortable sunbathing chairs….

We would highly recommend the hotel to those fit enough to cope with its location and I would like to thank the hard working ladies Katerina, Katrina & Caroline that made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    80
    38
    21
    23
See reviews for
59
199
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We arrived in the early hours and were greeted by friendly member staff who swiftly served us to a well needed beer!! , we were shown to our room (which was slightly disappointing as we had booked ‘a sea view’ but this was promptly rectified first thing the next morning, and we were moved to a lovely room, with a private balcony which has stunning views over Hersonisis, the room was immaculate bedding freshly cleaned and pressed.
The rooms are cleaned (thoroughly) and towels changed on a daily basis (apart from Sunday’s) …the bar prices are pretty much standard ( bring back the Drachma!! lol ) Bar and pool area are also spotless.
Breakfast is fine, although the only fault I will comment on …is that the milk for your cereal is left out, so if your one of the ‘later risers’ …its warmish milk on your cereal …ugh.
I also would not recommend these apartments for the faint hearted, elderly, infirm or people with young children in pushchairs … there are lots of hills and steps to climb ( although I’m not complaining …it’s the first holiday I’ve lost a couple of pounds!!)

I would also like to mention the local restaurant ‘Kosta’s’ …it was brilliant …only about 5 minutes walk, traditional Cretian cooking, tasty specials daily and the guys who own it are fantastic, so friendly and always pleased to see you …well recommend a visit!! ( we ate there 5 out of the 7 nights… and the ‘Raki’s got bigger)
The supermarket is about 5 mins walk away also …but don’t forget the hills!
The staff are always friendly helpful and polite!!
Highly recommended …and we will be going again ….Thank you Katerina, Katrina & Caroline …mwah :D

Room Tip: I would advise to book a sea or side veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Fantastic hotel, booked this last minute and did our homework - we certainly weren't disappointed! The hotel is situated in the mountains behind Hersoissos in a village called Piskopiano. The view from the hotel must be one of the best in Crete. The Pool is perfect with enough sun loungers for everyone with great poolside drinks and snack service.. Definitely try the toasties and Kebabs they're great. We had a junior suite, with a lounge area, small kitchen with fridge (not that we needed to cook) a great array of restaurants only 100 metes away. The staff are so friendly, Katrina Caterina and Caroline are just the best - making our stay just perfect... we will def be back hopefully in September... Davids and Kostas are great little traditional taverns a must for great food.
Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel traveling alone for a conference in a different hotel on the coast. Room, food etc were fine. Most remarkable is the friendliness of the staff, from the boss to all employees. This was at the same time useful, for taxi, renting or parking a bicycle or eating anytime anything, and also very agreeable because I was happy to have someone to talk to. And the bonus was, there was a guitar in the lobby so I got to play.
Oh, and the view is grand! :-)
It's not exactly next to the coast (5mn bicycle, probably 10-15mn walk), but there's a kind of town center next to the hotel with many restaurants and shops and nice little streets.
I didn't try the pool because I went swimming every evening in the sea.

I never write reviews, but the people at Amazones were so nice that I've come here to say so.

Room Tip: top rooms: great view, no vis-à-vis
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Just returned from our second visit to the Amazones Suites and it didn't disapoint in any way. This is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday, the suites are clean, comfortable and spacious and we had a wonderful view looking out to the sea from our balcony. There is a lovely pool and the restaurants and bars are within a short walking distance. Caterina as ever the perfect host joined this year by Katerina and Caroline. Thanks for another wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Me and my girlfriend just spent 5 days in Crete and stayed at this amazing hotel. It is absolutely fantastic and actually a perfect location. We just got back, so it was right before the busy summer tourist season, so the hotel was not too busy, which was perfect for us as we were looking for a nice quiet place to relax. Caterina is a perfect host and incredibly knowledgeable about the area. The suites are spacious and are more of an apartment than actually a hotel. The location is great. Close enough to drive to the major sites, but yet still far enough away to relax without all of the hustle of a big tourist resort. Finally you can't beat the view. From our balcony we could see the sea and it was absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for a place away from it all, with a great view, and even the convenience of your own small kitchen, oh and at a great price. You can't beat this on Crete. I would gladly recommend this to all of my friends and anyone looking for a vacation to Crete. We loved your hotel Caterina and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed here last September and had such a fantastic holiday, we booked to come back in September this year.

This is the only place that either of us have returned to for a holiday.

We had an even better holiday this year. The staff remembered us and we made some lovely friends again.

We are already planning our return in September next year, as are the other people we met and kept in touch with.

Thanks Amazones. See you next year.

Fran and Joel.

PS: Be aware of Dejan the Raki-Master. Despite good intentions of getting to bed at a resonable hour, it never happened. Great barman!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazones Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Village Suites

Address: Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazones Village Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the Mediterranean of your dreams at Amazones Village Suites. Set atop an ocean bluff, with majestic views over sparkling blue waters and neighbouring Hersonissos beyond, this lushly landscaped Cretan 4-star boutique hotel was once a rock. Relax in the most spacious, beautifully appointed suites in the Cretan Sea, where designer furnishing and terraces summon the feel of a small private vacation home. From dazzling bbq parties to a romantic dinner for two, our helpful personal service will see to your every need. Designed in a subtly elegant, comfortable style, this cherished Cretan luxury hotel offers a truly unforgettable destination for romantic retreats, golf, cultural escapes or fun family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Amazones Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Village Hotel Piskopiano
Hotel Amazones Village
Amazones Village Suites Piskopiano, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazones Village Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.