We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food with friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gevsi

Gevsi
Europis Str 30, Piskopiano, Crete 70014, Greece
+30 28970 23386
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Piskopiano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.holidays-uncovered.co.uk/greece/crete/piskopiano.htmlYou will see that this restaurant has been reviewed on the above website. ree whoimu
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely food with friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is one of out favorite places, Piskopiano restaurants are often overlooked for the busier, nearby Koutoulafari. Please take my word for it that this is a little gem. Tanya your host is always at the front step to welcome you in. The Chef, Soto seems to be a miagician, conjuring up many fantastic plates to enjoy from his back kitchen. All this is a friendly manner with FREE Raki and watermelon at the end of your meal . Lucie the waitress will kep you up to date on all the topical discusions and you are sure to enjoy to quality food here EVERY visit. WE have been the last three years and sampled most of the other eateries, yet we return time and time again to GEVSI (translated to "Tasty") We will be back sometime agin in next few years, Meantime give them a visit. You will not regret it FANTASTIC !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    19
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We eat at gevsi 3 times during our week stay.Danya and her family are very nice. I had the best mousakka I have ever tasted and my husband said the same of his pork chop.Not expensive and if you have the special mezes danya will change bits to accomodate ie tarramassala instead of tzatziki.The specials were for two consisting of 10 courses bread , tzatziki , feta in the oven, greek salad , ending with two hugh seabream amd wine 30 euros. What more can I say! yammas

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“nice wee place, friendly & helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a v nice meal here, worked out around 40 euro for a family of four, for 2 courses, incl drinks - good value (free shot, bread and fruit) - staff are friendly and very obliging, no complaints at all and we will hopefully come back next year ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a great disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

after reading the reviews on TA i expected a good experience from this restaurant but was very disappointed, instead of being able to sit where we wanted we were seated at one of the front tables next to the road where smelly trucks and buses pulled up and choked us with fumes whilst we were eating. The owner seemed to argue with everyone and didn't have a good word to say about other establishments in the area. She was very pushy at trying to get us inside which made the experience unpleasant especially as we had to walk past every evening. the food was okay- nothing special and i definitely wont be going back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate here almost every day of our 2 week holiday in Piskopiano. It was the first place we tried so thought we had better go to other restaurants to try them out. None of them however quite reached the standard of Gevsi or the service so we ended up returning there. Once you have eaten here you are welcomed back as an old friend. We , a family of 4, didn't have a bad dish here and between us we tried most of the menu! Particular highlights were the homemade burger, which at 2.50 euro was a bargain, the kleftiko and the liver on the meze menu. The family who run the restaurant were a delight. Very kind to the kids, always cheerful despite working 16 hour days.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gevsi also viewed

Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Gevsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gevsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.