We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home holidays all year round!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet des Arbres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet des Arbres
Save
You added Chalet des Arbres to your Saves list
526 Route des Freinets, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home holidays all year round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed at Chalet des Arbres on numerous occasions with my family, friends and hen party and I have never been disappointed. In fact I would live there if I could! Chatel is such a beautiful place in the Summer & Winter seasons with so much to do whether you are young or old! It's the perfect place to relax and unwind after a day on the slopes, with the fantastic views from the balconies or from the luxurious hot tub! The bedrooms are lovely, cosy and spacious and the lounge and dining room is a great space for groups to spend their evenings swopping stories about the days events. The food - well what can I say - is delicious! The welcome and service you get from Paul & Helen just makes a visit simply delightful. Nothing is too much trouble even with a chalet full of kids, they still manage to offer a relaxed & friendly home from home experience. I would recommend Chalet des Arbres to any one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we have holidayed At Chalet des Arbres on and off for the past 6 years.
skiing holidays, was the only time we would travel to the mountains and these have always been excellent.
We now have a summer holiday in the Chalet at least every other year. including some shorter breaks to do the VTT MTB event in the port de sole area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Chalet des Arbres was everything we were looking for and more! Whether you are travelling on your own, with a young family (as we were), teenage children or even a group of adults you will be hard pushed to find a more relaxing and comfortable location with such care and attention to your personal detail.

It was our first skiing holiday with children and what could've been a very hectic and stressful week turned out to be effortless from the guidance and organisation of Paul and Helen, the owners of Chalet des Arbres. They took care of booking ski school, creche and baby sitting facilities for the children. Upon arrival took us to collect the hire ski's for the children, gave us our ski passes and took us through every aspect of what we could expect from our stay. The Chalet was cosy with its open fire in the sitting area, the bedrooms were spacious, clean towels, bed linen etc, and the food was exceptional. Tea and cake after a long day on the slopes, homemade 3 course dinner (with a cheese board and coffee) each night with the exception of their well deserved night off. There's also a hot tub and sauna available for use.

Throughout the week they helped us with getting the children to ski school, dropped us off where we wanted to go for our days skiing, then did it all again in the afternoon for pick up times. They really did help us so much in what was no doubt a very busy period over New Year for the resort as a whole.

Just a lovely atmosphere where we were made to feel so very welcome. We've arrived home feeling rested and wanting to go back to the Chalet at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: There are two rooms over looking the mountains, one with an en-suite, one with a shared shower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Paul and Helen are fantastic hosts and make our ski holidays so carefree. I have stayed here both with my young children, just as a couple and with a group of girlfriends and cannot rate it high enough. The chalet is beautifully furnished, cosy and comfortable. The newly fitted bedrooms and bathrooms are great and would definitely recommend Helen's cooking.
The snow has been ace every time so far too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet des Arbres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet des Arbres

Address: 526 Route des Freinets, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chatel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet des Arbres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.