We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally 'ZING'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Save
You added Chalet Tzigane to your Saves list
20 Chemin Des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Cotswolds
1 review
“Totally 'ZING'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Yet again another fabulous ski holiday (2012 was our third year back). Picked up and welcomed like old friends by Al at the airport and from that moment the holiday really starts. Total relaxation and great skiing. I think the hardest decision I had to make all week was if I wanted another portion of Emilie's delicious food or if I should really have another vin chaud! The chalet gets better and better with improvements being made very year - all the bedrooms are of high standard with comfy beds and the lounge dining/decking and jacuzzi area are stylish yet homely with space for everyone to relax after another hard day on the slopes!

Thanks for another great holiday - see you next season X

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Al and Emilie made everything so easy. From picking us up at the airport to sorting out passes, skis and boots, which were at the chalet ready for us try on when we arrived. Those of us who wanted to ski straight away were whisked to the lifts, a few minutes away, by Al and we were on the slopes by 1pm having left London that morning. Back at the chalet in the evenings we were looked after like kings and queens. The quality of the food would put many restaurants to shame and with a hot tub and a log fire it's hard not to relax after a hard day's skiing. The skiing area is massive, there's something for all levels and if you want to head out at night Chatel village has some decent bars as well.
To sum up... i'll be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Somewhat of a delayed posting seeing as we stayed there the 2nd week of January but I had to write something. What can I say about Chalet Tzigane and the hosts Al and Emilie!!!!! Where do I begin......the booking of the Chalet was really easy from the start, Al and Emilie were very accommodating of our group and we were fully informed of services that were on offer. The Ski2U service (see separate posting on this one) was perfect, we would have fumbled our way through ski hire shops had this not been recommended. The Chalet was absolutely perfect, the layout was great and it was very clean giving everyone enough space if they wanted some quiet time but also very cosy if you wanted to socialise. The food was brilliant, we even tried our hand at our own Tartiflette. It was great going out with Al on two days out of our 7 and made a real difference as he knew all the best places to go and which lifts to get on when......I think we covered about 80km of terrain on the 2nd day phew : o)) We had a great laugh competing in the Chalet Slalom race at the end of the week and were the very proud winners of the "GRAND CHAMPIGNON" Al and Emilie were truely grateful we started the season well for them. I would definately return to Chatel and when I do I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The room just outside the bootroom is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Emile and Alasdair and Charlotte did a great job on looking after me on a great week spent in Chalet Tzigane. From being picked up at the airport they all went out there way to ensure our group enjoyed every minute. The lodge location is local to the lifts, which you will be taken to once you have refueled your ski legs with a harty breakfast. There are options for Apres ski and the mountain provides runs for all abilities. I had a great time and would definitely make a return vis

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our second visit to Chalet Tzigane - having spent a fantastic two week holiday here with friends in the Summer a couple of years ago we promised ourselves we would be back for a winter holiday.

Al and Emilie do everything they possibly can to make your holiday perfect. We have a large family and Al was there at the ready to entertain the boys at all times! As a couple they know the area so well and were able to give us guidance on activities and spots to visit in the Summer. Highlights were white water rafting and hire wire climbing through the trees and zip wiring from France over the border into Switzerland! Not to mention the Fantasticable which some of our family enjoyed!

On arrival this February Al gave us a warm welcome at Geneva and Emilie was there at the chalet to meet us like old friends. Having done all the paperwork beforehand ski passes were purchased on our way to the Chalet, Ski-to-U were there soon after our arrival to fit skis and boots at the chalet such a pleasant change from battling our way through ski hire shops - the standard of skis and boots was great. We were on the slopes by lunchtime which was fantastic. Not a moment of time wasted.

Al was able to organise just what we wanted from ski school and the kids skiing came on so much with tuition from Ross. The chalet is a little way from the bottom lift but Al and Emilie run the most excellent taxi service which never let us down! Just a phone call and they are there - it works perfectly.

The chalet has been extended since our last visit - the bedrooms and bathrooms are very well appointed, the living area with open log fire works so well - very welcoming after a long day skiing! The chalet is spotless and the food is great - we were never hungry! Or thirsty for that matter, the wine and beer flowed!

We will definitely be back - but do need to keep this a secret as we don't want it to get so popular we can't book again!!

The Nichols family x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Never mind the name, which apparently means gypsy, Chalet Tzigane is a top class venue with magnificent hosts. Al and Emilie do everything to make your holiday just how you like it, preparing everything you need before and during your stay. From the moment you are picked up from the airport, all you have to do is ski, eat, drink and enjoy yourself.

Everything is arranged for you including lift passes and ski hire from their good friends Dave and Donna at Ski Hire 2U, who bring everything to your door and we were out on the slopes less than 3 hours after we touched down in Geneva. You are dropped off at the slopes and picked up again when you like, with the obligatory apres drink to close the day. If you are brave enough then ask Al to take you 'round the world', although be prepared not to do huge amount of stopping or indeed turning. After tea and cakes, a hot tub on the deck beckons, or you'll get even better service from Al if you ask Emilie to let him take you to the micro brewery for some locally brewed ale.

If you aren't a skier there is also plenty to do. They arranged hill walking and husky sledding for us, or you can simply relax in front of the fire, watching films, playing the wii, or winning your own connect 4 championship in our case.

We had fantastic conditions all week and left having made new friends, who we can't wait to go back and see for some mountain biking in the summer!

Thanks guys, you made all our celebrations just special

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Al greeted us at the airport like we were old friends, and the hospitality we recieved during the week from Emilie, Al and Charlotte was was second to none. They went out of their way to ensure we had an easy and relaxing time. Ski passes were organised beforehand and were handed out on our arrival. For those requiring equipment rental, Al organised the guys at SkiHire2U to drop in on Sunday night and fit everyone out and then collect everything again at the end of the week.
The chalet is awesome and the hot tub is a bonus after the long days of throwing yourself down a mountain.
Mealtime was a treat, worthy of being served in a 5 Star restaurant.
After having had such a great time, I don't think that I'd like to go anywhere else. I'll definately be back next year.
Thanks guys!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Address: 20 Chemin Des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Tzigane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.