We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect hosts 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Cateriane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Cateriane
Save
You added Chalet Cateriane to your Saves list
298 Route du la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect hosts 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I have just returned from our second summer vacation at the Chalet Cateriane.

Below is an extract from the review of our first summer trip last year which will give you a flavour of the fabulous time we have had during every visit to the Chalet Cateriane.

But just before you read that, let me tell you a little about our latest exploits on the slopes! This time we decided to try real mountain biking. I was a little apprehensive at the thought of this but the younger members of our party persuaded me to have a go.

Our host, Al Flight started with a very useful safety briefing and under his expert guidance, any fears I may have had soon disappeared and Al instilled a high level of confidence in all of us who took part.

We spent several hours enjoying ourselves immensely on the rocky slope of the Portes du Soleil and I have to say it seemed that we would become as addicted to this sport as we are to skiing!

The rest of our holiday followed very similar lines to last year's and I cannot speak more highly of the chalet and the manner in which we were looked after by our hosts Deb and Al Flight.

Please read on below - it applies as much now as it did last year!

"Our previous trips to the Chalet Cateriane had always been in winter since we first stayed with our hosts Deb and Al a couple of years ago. But the lure of the mountains tempted us to try a summer vacation in Chatel. Actually it was more than that. It was also to enjoy the unparalleled experience offered by Deb and Al when you stay with them at Chalet Cateriane. The chalet is their home and they really make you feel like part of their family.

We are a family of five covering three generations. My grand-daughter is our youngest member who was four last November and is already a skier having had her first lessons during our stay at the chalet over Christmas 2010.


Walking through the door of the chalet is unremarkable but then we slip on some comfortable indoor shoes in the boot room and ascend the short flight of stairs to the living area and a whole new world opens up.

The view from the panoramic windows is lovely looking up at the mountains or across the lawn to the stream at the bottom of the garden.

The chalet itself is superbly appointed with a wonderful ambiance and all amenities that you could possibly require.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and the crisp bed linen so inviting after a long day travelling. But wait - we have to have dinner first. This is a real treat as Deb and Al prepare an exquisite meal while we enjoy aperitifs and canapés. Normally this is in front of an open log fire but it's a little warm today so we stroll along the balcony with a glass in hand just enjoying the balmy summer evening. Now we really feel like we are on holiday and being thoroughly spoiled. This happens every day though, not just on arrival!

The next few days are spent travelling up the mountains in chairlifts and gondolas exploring the Portes du Soleil with its fantastic scenery and enjoying some amazing walks; and of course sampling the excellent cuisine and local wine in the many restaurants still open at this time of year. Lunch in the Village de Chevre is a highlight for my grand-daughter who spends a long time with the goats that amble around the village streets. They are incredibly tame and friendly. A real delight for adults and children alike.

We are a little tired on arrival back at the chalet and it's time for a relaxing soak in the outdoor hot tub with a glass of something fizzy! A little later Al lights the barbecue on the decking and we tuck in to another delicious meal prepared by our hosts who always seem to have some superb wines in stock too.

Later still, the cooler evening air tempts Al to light the chiminea. So I get my log fire after all and we spend another couple of hours chatting with our hosts and listening to the stream tinkling at the bottom of the garden accompanied by some relaxing music wafting from the iPod dock!

After a few days of amazing hospitality and fantastic days out in the mountains it's time to leave although, not surprisingly, no-one wants to go.

It's sad to be leaving but inside everyone is looking forward to returning to Chatel and even more so to the Chalet Cateriane. Our hosts Deb and Al Flight make the holiday a very special experience and now we can't wait until the snow arrives!"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have visited the Alps many times in the winter and wanted to see what the summer had to offer.
We spent a week with Al & Deb Flight in August 2012 and had a fantastic time. The chalet is beautiful and very comfortable throughout ( loved the "Chill out" area ).
What can i say about the hosts, they made us feel totally at home and nothing was too much trouble { and what cooks !! }. Added to this their additional indepth knowledge of the area and their desire to go that extra mile, this made our holiday complete.
We will definitely be making a return visit and booking a ski break with them next winter.

Room Tip: I can't pick one, they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

It's difficult to describe the sheer joy our group experienced when we stayed at Chalet Cateriane for a week's worth of skiing in March 2012. Staying at Chalet Cateriane is not like any other catered chalet I've visited before.

The hosts/owners, Al and Debs, make a clear effort to make theguests feel as welcome as possible. The experience is far more personable than your average chalet where the hosts are just the hired help.

It's the little things that make a holiday and Chalet Cateriane has these by the boat load! Stress free shuttle to/from Geneva Airport. Shuttle to/from the slopes. Real 5-Star evening meals with an excellent selection of wines to accompany them. The list goes on and on.

We have every intention of returning and I wish Al and Debs all the best for the future.

Thank you both!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was my first skiing holiday and I'd be very surprised if I ever find a better one! The Chalet is perfectly placed only minutes from the slopes. Al and Debs have many years experience in this type of holiday so can advise to whatever extent you may require. The whole operation runs like a well oiled machine with as much or little involvement from the hosts as you require. On top of all of this Al and Debs are great company and superb cooks! I cant say enough about the whole experience except to say keep it up guys and I hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Sometimes when you read a review it is normally too good to be true. However in the case of the Chalet Cateriane it is all true! Heaven is a word for this place. The chalet is beautifully presented and in excellent condition. The love and care that has been put into it is evident. The rooms are comfortable and the beds cuddly and soft making it very hard to get out in the morning.
The hosts are exceptional. Deb and Al made our holiday. 8 of us went for a week skiing and snowboarding and had an exceptional time. Deb picked us up at the airport and we popped our cases into the mini bus and enjoyed a chatty drive up through Geneva to the mountains. when we arrived we had a lovely glass of bubbly and enjoyed some good friendly conversation. It was like home straight away!
The food was out of this world, I had specialist dietary requirements and this was all taken into account and nothing was too much trouble. We were a young party from 25years to 35years old and were not made to feel we couldnt have fun and get a little tipsy.. The wine was phoenominal and nothing could be faulted!
The snow was excellent and the weather even more so. I didnt want to come home and I do not think the rest of my party did either. The holiday all in all was fabulous and the hot tub is a must! Deb and Al really were like old friends by the end of the week and I had some tears saying good bye! I will definately be going back again and I recommend this Chalet to anyone who enjoys nice things but wants to avoid the snooty atmosphere of some places. This chalet is fabulous and it is the hosts dedication to excellence and customer service which shines through. They really do deserve a lot of credit for their hard work and passion which shines through in their cooking and attention to the wines and drinks served. Thank you so much for a fantastic week and I cannot wait to book us to go again. Thank you Al and Deb and see you soon Vicky x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Having been going on snowboarding holidays for the last 7 years, this is the first time we have ever returned to the same chalet and resort again (and now we've been back to the lovely Chalet Cateriane 3 times in just over a year)!

Debs and Al are not only the perfect hosts but also took on the role of being our fantastic wedding planners resulting in our dream winter wedding in Chatel.

The chalet, the food (Debs' chocolate tart is AMAZING), the ski hosting (Al took us to the best off piste powder spots we've ever boarded on) and the attention to detail in all aspects of the holiday are outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

There are not enough superlatives to describe the amazing hospitality at the Chalet Cateriane and the way guests are looked after. An incredible holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Cateriane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Cateriane

Address: 298 Route du la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent luxury chalet in Chatel, specialising in outstanding catered ski chalet holidays and luxury summer holiday accommodation in the beautiful resort of Chatel, Portes du Soleil, France.Open all year, winter ski or summer fun in the mountains.Chatel voted No.1 Mountain biking holiday destination in Europe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Cateriane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.