We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every sence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Cateriane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Cateriane
Save
You added Chalet Cateriane to your Saves list
298 Route du la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every sence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Chalet Cateriane, was the perfect choice, I was tasked with finding a chalet to cater for 7 of my friends who are accustomed to high standards so I was so pleased when we found Chalet Cateriane as it was exceptional in every sense!
The Chalet is gorgeous and we made good use of the Jacuzzi and honesty bar as well as relaxing in front of the fire. The food is absolutely amazing and never ending home made delights from breakfast to freshly baked afternoon tea, canapés and aperitif and the 3 course dinner with amazing local wines. But what really make this place exceptional are the very passionate Deb and Al, you could not hope for better hosts. They become like family and nothing is too much trouble, from chauffeuring us around to recommendations of where to go and where to eat on the slopes to even taking us out on a guided ski tour! But also you have plenty of time to relax undisturbed.
Do not hesitate to book, from the minute you enquire to stay, everything is so easy and they are happy to organise everything from ski hire to ski passes at no extra cost! It really is exceptional! Deb & Al you should be proud!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

If you are looking for the best possible 2-family ski chalet holiday chalet, this is probably the one. The chalet is beautifully furnished and appointed giving the look and feel of a boutique hotel. It is in a nice quiet location - a few hundred metres from a ski lift which connects to the Chatel and Avoriaz ski areas. However, what makes this chalet so special is the way that Deb & Al, the English owners, look after their guests. From collection at Geneva to delivery back again, they could not do enough for us. They are excellent cooks - we had wonderful multi course meals - better than anywhere else we've stayed in the Alps. The rooms are great. Deb and Al went out of their way to drive us anywhere we wanted to go. Al is a great ski guide and took us on some interesting and challenging routes. They made our kids very welcome - the hot tub and table football were much loved. Sorry, Powder Byrne, you've missed out. We've booked with Den & Al again for next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We have just returned from a week skiing in Chatel having stayed at the beautiful Chalet Cateriane. The hosts Debs and Al are so friendly and approachable and could not do enough for us. They have a vast knowledge of Chatel and recommended many ski runs and places to visit in the area. The chalet has been decorated to an extremely high standard with all the finishing touches you could ask for including; en suite rooms, Ipod docking stations and an amazing hot tub. The food was exquisite and Debs and Al went out of their way to cater to our dietary requirements. They really did make our stay and we had the best skiing holiday ever. We would highly recommend this chalet to all and are already booking for next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

We have stayed at Chalet Cateriane for two seasons now and to be honest I can't see any reason to stay anywhere else. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Deb and Alan. They provided everything we could want to make our skiing holiday the best we have had for years - OK we had great snow and blue skies but the ambiance of the chalet, the beautifully decorated rooms and delicious food made for a perfect skiing holiday. They provide a minibus to take you to whichever lift station you need - we mostly went up to Pres de la Joux as it offers the quickest link into the huge Avorias ski area, and met us in the afternoon to take us back to the chalet for tea and cake (OK and a few beers!)
You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — cosy
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Cateriane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Cateriane

Address: 298 Route du la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent luxury chalet in Chatel, specialising in outstanding catered ski chalet holidays and luxury summer holiday accommodation in the beautiful resort of Chatel, Portes du Soleil, France.Open all year, winter ski or summer fun in the mountains.Chatel voted No.1 Mountain biking holiday destination in Europe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Cateriane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.