We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food to die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Macchi to your Saves list
Hotel Macchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Route De L'Etringa, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gourmet food to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Difficult to criticise perfection. We arrived to be given an entire guided tour of the hotel by Michele before being shown to our room. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure the comfort of the guests. The rooms were very comfortable and the spa area was very well equipped for a hotel of this size. The evening meals were extremely well presented with each course being well described by the attentative, yet discreet, staff. A wonderful holiday despite the less than seasonal weather.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
55
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Honestly nothing to criticize about the hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was large, clean, comfortable and well decorated. The spa (swimming pool, jacuzzi, hammam, sauna) was really nice. The hotel itself is a beutiful chalet, in a very charming little town. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in March 2010, for a short snowboarding trip. Hotel in the centre of Chatel, ample parking. Friendly, helpful reception staff when we checked in. Lovely clean, comfortable room, quiet lovely views. We stayed half board and enjoyed a 5 course dinner especially the fabulous chariot of cheese! Great wine menu, and lovely restaurant staff. Breakfast was plentiful; pastries, fresh bread, yoghurts, fruit, cheese, meats, jams, omelettes, fresh pancakes and the list goes on....... Great secure ski room, a free all day bus to super-chatel lift. The ski bus stop to Pre la jour is 1 minute walk. We loved the pool and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna every evening, again clean, modern facilities. We also booked a massage in the Spa which was beautiful, I enjoyed a hot stone massage, brilliant. The hotel welcomed some friends for dinner one evening and catered for our veggie friends and provided a lovely homemade cake for a birthday treat. Lovely hotel would recommend and stay again, if my budget allows!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

This was the first time my husband and I holidayed in the Alps in the summer. We arrived at Hotel Macchi after a long car journey from Calais. After being shown to our room, which was very nice with a good view, we went to sit out on the lovely terrace for a welcoming drink, although we spoke almost no french and some of the staff spoke very little between us we were able to get across what we wanted. We decided to eat at the hotel that night but that presented another language problem but I was able to find a very friendly and pleasant girl who spoke pretty good english who looked after us, and for the rest of our stay she was on hand to help us with all our dining needs. The hotel receptionist was a very helpful and friendly lady too. The hotel also laid on a guide (Roman) to take us around one of the walks of the area for free which was very informing, I recommend that this be done on your first day if possible as you can find out much about the local area. The room was very nice and clean but the bath room consisted of a very small toilet and shower room divided by a concertina type thing and not a door, but we had decided to plump for the cheaper rooms feeling that as we were there for only 5 days we didn't need the luxury of the balcony rooms which I am sure would of been better but cost quite a bit more. Loved the pool and the Jacussi especially after a days walking. All in all we had an excellent stay, really enjoyed the wonderful scenery, particulary lake Vonnes and would go back again but next time learn to speak French before we go.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Macchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macchi

Address: 94 Route De L'Etringa, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macchi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Macchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.