We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room; average breakfast and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos de la Glycine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Clos de la Glycine to your Saves list
Le Clos de la Glycine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la poste, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Roussillon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good room; average breakfast and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I'm 44, brazilian, and travel usually with my wife. Ive been to some destinations in Europe, Latin America, Caribean and in the USA, and have stayed in many hotels of diferent categories and prices (from 60 to 420 euros per night), which Enables me to evaluate well the hotels within their price range.

In April we did a long trip in Provence and in the French Riviera and stayed in hotels with prices ranged from 59 to 150 euros per night. We used the cities of Avignon, Séguret, Roussillon and Nice, as homebases for our daytrips, strategy based on the excellent travel guide Rick Steves - Provence and French Riviera.

Our third base was the Hotel Le Clos de La Glycine, where we stayed between 27/4 and 29/4 (two nights), at a price of 151,10 euros per night (VAT and local tax included), breakfast not included (13 euros per person).

1) Location.

The location is good, depending on the type of feature you are looking for your stay. The hotel is in the center of the village of Roussillon. There are several restaurants close by and the main tourist attraction of the village (a sort of theme park of the ocher, the former main product of the region´s economy) is a few hundred steps away. The downside is that, as the village is daily taken by hordes of tourists on their way to that park, you loose a little of the charm and tranquility of Provence, perhaps available in several small hotels on the outskirts of the village.

2) Room and Equipments.

I booked a room called "charme superieure," but when I checked in I did not like what I saw. It was a room with little natural light and little charm. One of these rooms (fairly common in Europe) that are in the attic of the building and consequently have curved ceilings and small windows.
As soon as I expressed dissatisfaction with the room, the young man who was attending us promptly offered me another room at the price referred in the second paragraph (according to him, a discounted price).

The room we stayed in was actually much better than the first. It was worth the small increase in price. Spacious, with new furniture, nicely decorated and well lit. Very comfortable both the bed and the bathroom.

3) Housekeeping.

The room was kept spotless during our stay, but there was an inexplicable mistake in housekeeping: in the first night it was prepared for us to sleep (the blanket was removed and the windows were closed ... five-star hotel service), while in second night nothing happened and, furthermore, the wine glasses were removed, which forced us to take wine in a coctail glass. :(

4) Breakfast.

Breakfast is served on a balcony with a beautiful view and, on sunny days, the hotel lends a charming straw hat that makes you feel a film actor having breakfast. However, the items offered and the service seemed below the expectations generated by the ambience. There was no variety of cheeses and cold cuts. No variety of fruits and limited portions of all items. It seemed, moreover, that the strawberries had been cut and kept overnight in refrigerator. Inexcusable for a charming hotel!

One last issue to be considered if you are planning to rent a car (a must on a trip in Provence): the hotel has a number of free guest parking spaces far below the number of rooms and, therefore, it is possible that you have to park your car a little away from the hotel and pay for it, envying your neighbor who checked in earlier.

I hope this review can be usefull in your decisions. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: See my tips on the best room in the review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
126
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blueys Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I loved this "Hotel de Charme" and charming it is! Our room was "Le Millepertuis" a name which we found impossible to pronounce. In English it is "Hypericum" or "St John's Wart" which is a herb used to calm. Very appropriate because we found the room very tranquil. Our room was large with lovely Provincial furnishing and a modern bathroom with tub and vanity tiled in tumbled giallo marble. There was a view over the street and beyond to the countryside. The whole hotel continues the Provincial theme using the same furniture and fabrics throughout. Just perfect. The first night we took half board so had a light breakfast of quality ingredients outside on the balcony with a view of the ocre cliffs and dinner from the menu at Restaurant David.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We spent three delightful days here in May. We had Angelique, a nice large room overlooking the ochre cliff with a great bathroom with a large walk-in shower and double vanity unit. The staff were all helpful, we had free parking next to the hotel (I think this needs to be booked in advance) and it was in the heart of the village. The restaurant was very good and like other top class hotel restaurants we had been in in France, although no vegetarian options were on the menu, they whipped up delicious meals for my wife at reasonable prices. Breakfast not included in the room price but the 13 Euros pp is standard at this level. It's nice to eat the breakfast in such a setting but also easy to walk down the street and buy fruit and pastries and sit on a bench and admire the view. We loved Roussillon and this was the best place to enjoy it from. Fighting the traffic and tourists to get in to town when staying outside is not worth it plus you get to see this beautiful village in the quiet times.

Room Tip: Details of each room is on the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polcenigo, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This hotel is in the most BEAUTIFUL location and our room had a spectacular view of the countryside. If this place was not on the tour bus route it would be perfect. Since we were there in the off-season it really was heaven. Very romantic. As for clean, fastidious is the word that pops in my mind. I saw a plaque on the wall that they'd deservedly earned for their cleanliness. The roads leading out of town were great places for walking, and there are several wineries within walking distance.

Restaurant- Some people wrote the restaurant was expensive, but I don't think it was for France given the quality of the full course meals. The food was creative and delicious. The views are priceless. At night they have the cliffs lit up; it is a very unique, very romantic dining atmosphere.

To sum up, you'll love this in the off-season. You may even love it during high season, because I imagine the tour buses are a 9-4 kind of thing and the town is so small and quiet at night. It is kind of the same advise with a place like Venice I think, staying there really helps you see it away from the crowds...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

What a beautiful place to stay overlooking the red ocher hills of Roussillon...the hotel was exceptional and so was the dinner we had at David, the hotel restaurant. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I spent one night at Le Clos de la Glycine in early October 2010. This small hote (9 rooms) was the perfect place to spend our one night in Roussillon. The hotel is centrally located in the small village, is quaint, has spacious luxurious rooms, is clean and was a terrific stay. We stayed in the Angelique room, which was large and well furnished. The room also provided for a fantastic view of the ochre cliffs of Roussillon. We found our stay at Le Clos to be terrific. Not only was the room fantastic and provided for a great night's sleep, but the hotel staff were incredibly helpful, and we had a terrific dinner at the hotel's restaurant, David. The hotel is located right in the middle of the small village - making exploring Roussillon very easy to do.

I heartily recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel is part of the ‘Châteaux & Hotels Collection’ group, one of three we stayed in during this trip. We stayed in ‘L’Aubépine’ junior suite, and liked it very much. Very clean, fresh modern décor, comfortable bed and plenty of space, with a good-sized couch, and a desk. Tiled floors (which we liked because they seem so clean as opposed to musty carpets.) A/C was efficient. Good laundry service, not too expensive. Bathroom had the French-style hand-held shower and no shower curtain. Excellent views of the ochre cliffs from one window of the room. Free WiFi in the room, but it was very, very slow. The room is on an upper level but there is a lift. We were able to park (free) in one of the few spots beside the hotel. The hotel is right in the centre of town, which is very busy with tour groups during the day, but quieter at night.
We had reserved for dinner at the hotel restaurant, Restaurant David, for our first night, planning to eat elsewhere the second. Enjoyed it so much that we ate there both nights. However there are many other restaurants in Roussillon, and less expensive than the hotel restaurant, where we had the 48 euro menu both nights. (You choose an entrée, main and dessert from the a la carte menu). We were pleased that we splurged, as all courses were excellent, and our table overlooking the ochre cliffs was wonderful. In particular the lobster salad and all the desserts were outstanding. Very pleasant, professional service. Wine was not outrageously marked up for a restaurant of this calibre, we were happy with our 30 euro rosé each evening.
Breakfasts were also good, served on the terrace. Which was quite hot in the sunshine – but large straw hats were provided. After all, how often do you get the opportunity to eat breakfast with such a view?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos de la Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Glycine

Address: Place de la poste, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Roussillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos de la Glycine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most beautiful villages in Provence, Le Clos de la Glycine invites you to discover the good life in Roussillon. In this little Provencal paradise, the atmosphere, light and sense of well-being are unrivalled.The sophistication, choice of materials and use of elegant warm colours create an immediate feeling of comfort and serenity. Everything is designed for your total satisfaction. All our bedrooms vie to be the most charming, comfortable and refined. Superbly appointed, they offer sublime views of the Apt valley, the ochre cliffs, the picturesque village or majestic Mont Ventoux. Designed to reflect the intimacy of Provence, the furniture is painted in traditional Provencal tones. All our bedrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with minibar, a safe, flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi Internet connection and some even have their own terrace. The lobby also features a business corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Clos de la Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De La Glycine Hotel Roussillon
Le Clos De La Glycine Roussillon, France - Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos de la Glycine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.