We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Gorges du Verdon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Gorges du Verdon to your Saves list
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route de la Maline, 04120 La Palud sur Verdon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We came to the Verdon area after 3 days in Côte d'Azur.

We found this hotel lovely. Modern design, cosy atmosphere, nice hosts.

The hotel is well located as a base with in the Verdon gorge area.

Dinner in the hotel's restaurant was excellent. Book a table in advance.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenebog, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your "excellent" comment !

We are glad to welcome international tourists and make them discover the paradise where we live...the Verdon so is beautiful.

Hoping that you will come back soon, we wish you a nice end of year.

All the staff of Hôtel des Gorges du Verdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location for exploring the Verdon, lovely views and excellent public areas. We especially appreciated the beautiful art work.
We had two evening meals and enjoyed each one, selecting from the set menu and a few al a carte dishes.
The rooms were ideal for the family although the hose pipe from the air conditioning unit was a bit off putting, and the shower was a bit small due to the corner jets which were fun but flooded the room!
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenebog, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely comment !

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your trip and would come back again. There are many beautiful places to see in the Verdon !

We wish you a nice autumn.

All the staff of Hôtel des Gorges du Verdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for one night on our bike tour through the French Alps.
We´ve got the romantic "poppy" suite, which was really cute, very spacious and comfortable. The room and the bathroom were nice and clean. The view from the rooms and terrace is really nice, we have enjoyed our evening drinks and breakfast outside. We also had dinner in the hotel, food was delicious, service prompt and friendly. We have really loaded our batteries there :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenebog, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello,

We thank you very much for your wonferful comment !

The room you had is really enjoyable for couples but it also fits with a family.

We are glad to see that your trip in our hotel was comfortable and pleasant for you !

We hope to see you again in the Verdon.

Warm regards,

All the Staff of Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nice hotel, nice rooms, blah blah blah. Now, I'll skip the boring bit and go to the important stuff: the restaurants in the town are rubbish, especially those on the top of the list on tripadvisor (boo). I tried and cried. If you are staying more than one night and consider eating elsewhere - do not, really, stay where you are, enjoy the view, have a nice cocktail from the bar and sample honest french food you deserve. You are welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenebog, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful comment. The Chef will be glad to know it !

He works with fresh products and offers every day a new multiple-choice menu. You have one dish to choose among three for the starter, main course, and dessert. Moreover it always include local dished and for example every Sunday we make a local menu made up of 6 dishes. Verdon cooking, what else ?

We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

The staff of Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We picked this hotel because we thought we'd get views down into the gorge, but you don't. Maybe it was our mistake, but having read some of the other reviews that allude to views of the gorge - were they really staying at this hotel ? The hotel's own website makes no mention of views into the gorge so I guess it was our mistake.

Anyway, the views from the hotel are pretty spectacular in their own right.

We stayed one night in an Observatoire Double Room on the second floor. A small room interestingly laid out and decorated, but the views from the balcony were wonderful.

We had dinner at the hotel as we didn’t want to drive down to the village, about 1 kilometre away. We sat in the outside bar, on the terrace with a view of the village, for a pre-dinner drink and then to the restaurant a short walk along the terrace, again with a nice view of the village and hills. The food was really good, as was the wine. A really nice evening.

Breakfast in the morning was included in the rate, and was also very good.

Room Tip: The Observatoire Rooms are small but on the second floor so have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenebog, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello,

We thank you for your nice comment on your stay in our house. We are glad to see that you enjoyed it !

Indeed you can"t see the Gorges from our rooms but as you said you are ideally located in the Verdon : a nice view from a hill and we are close to the main hiking trails that lead you to the beautiful Gorges.

By eating for breakfast or dinner on our terrace, you have the opportunity to spend a good time in a peaceful and sunny environment, while having a view on the moutain around.

We wish you a good summer and hope to see you again !

Kind regards,

The Staff of Hôtel des Gorges du Verdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The Restaurant: An absolute must if you want good food in a stunning setting with breathtaking views of the Gorges and the midway village of La Pulad-sur-Verdon- (where most tourists seem to stop!)
I had the best Salad Nicoise! The hamburger was great but the chips were pretty average. The tasting plate was sensational.
The hotel itself looks lovely; the inside restaurant is well decored with numerous quirky items dotted around and there are quite few great seating areas outside.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenebog, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful comment. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here.

The restaurant then is waiting for you next time you come to visit us !

We wish you a super summer !

Kinds regards,

The staff of Hôtel des Gorges du Verdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Gorges du Verdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Gorges du Verdon

Address: Route de la Maline, 04120 La Palud sur Verdon, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > La Palud sur Verdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in La Palud sur Verdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Gorges du Verdon 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional location for this beautiful,cozy and contemporary hotel situated on a hilltop. Enjoy the 360 degree view and incredible calm. During the summer, you will take all your meals on the terrace and the menu will be prepared by a "Maître-restaurateur" chef who will prepare only local food. The wellness area will relax you after walking on the trails of the Gorges du Verdon. A lovely hotel in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Gorges du Verdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Gorges Du Verdon La Palud Sur Verdon, France - Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Gorges du Verdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.