We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Ecureuil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Ecureuil to your Saves list
Hotel L'Ecureuil
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bd G. Pompidou, 06660 Auron, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice hotel
Parking available
Wi-fi not working in our room
The room was clean but we were not lucky, the cleaner forgot the soap bars and the soap dispenser was not working. I had to go to the reception... Shower not perfectly cleaned.
Breakfast charged 10 euros but written 9.50 euros on the door. Nice breakfast a bit overpriced. Receptionist pleasant, but not offering a tiny discount as compensation
Restaurant: no tried as no menu displayed outside, we were afraid to be ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    62
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very central location, within 5 mins of shops and restaurants. Room quite small but adequate if you are out all day. We had as all terrace with table. Breakfast adequate - fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants, ham and cheese, bread and home made jams. Friendly owner and staff. Free parking at front of hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent one night during the beginning of the summer season. The hotel was almost completely empty. The room was comfortable and quite big, breakfast was very good. Service went from apathetic to good (stuff was preparing for the busy season).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We first stayed at l'Ecurieul in 2007 and returned this year for a mid-week ski break. The position for us is spot-on: close to the bus stop (for getting to and from Nice) and to both a drag lift and the main cable car (we havn't encountered queues for either), while not being on the (possibly a bit noisy) main square. Both times we've had reasonably sized, scrupulously clean rooms with pleasant views (once on the lower ground floor looking towards the ski area, once on the first floor looking the other way). There's a comprehensive self service buffet at breakfast, although the residents' menu at dinner is quite simple (but tasty and well cooked) and the wood fire makes the lounge a pleasant place to be after dinner or if the weather is against you. Taking advantage of the Pack Privelege promoted by the Tourist Office makes it excellent value and you don't even have to queue for your lift pass!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Nice simple rustic Hotel, the nearest decent to the base of Col de la Bonnette, typical alpine furnishings, friendly service and fair prices. Good food. The col de la Bonnette is open for a few months each summer and at 2802m high is well worth a hoon (see picture). Look out for the Marmots though, they're great for a bit of no strings attached holiday shenanigans, but before you know it they're on the blower at 2am in tears claiming to be up the duff...

Nice Hotel, friendly owner, I will definitely be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimaud
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We visited for one night this week and found a very good welcome from a couple who work endlessly to do the best for their clients. The hotel room was not luxurious but had everything we needed and it was very clean and comfortable. We scouted around for restaurants for dinner but discovered that the one in the hotel was as good or better than most. They were welcoming to our dog and went out of their way to be pleasant.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auron
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Donnas
Hotel Las Donnas
#1 of 6 in Auron
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet d'Auron
Le Chalet d'Auron
#3 of 6 in Auron
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Club du Soleil Le Pas du Loup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Adonis Valberg Residence du Grand Hotel
11.7 mi away
New Chastillon
New Chastillon
#3 of 7 in Isola
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Terrasses d'Azur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Ecureuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Ecureuil

Address: Bd G. Pompidou, 06660 Auron, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes Maritimes > Auron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Ecureuil 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good place to get the most from your vacation.Playing sports and getting together with family, friends, winter and summer, recreation and pleasure are waiting for you.Mr and Mrs Guillot are at your service to meet your expectations and make your stay unforgettable.Confortable suitable to your needs:double, twin, triple, quadruple. All are equipped with bathroom, tv telephone and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Ecureuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Ecureuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.