We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls are paper thin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Donnas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Las Donnas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Donnas
Rue Sainte Marie Madeleine, 06660 Auron, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Montreal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Walls are paper thin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Las Donnas is well-positioned in Auron, overlooking the main square and the slopes. You need only cross the square to reach the cable car that takes you the ski lifts. The style is a generic ski lodge look, not luxurious, but well maintained. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is fine, continental, but with added touches such as cold cuts and boiled eggs. Service was efficient on all fronts, but one gets a sense that any complaints or extra requests will be met with a terse answer, if not derision--check the responses to the negative reviews on this site. As far as we were concerned, we were quite happy. Only the walls between the rooms challenged our stay: We were lodged in between families with children on both sides and were privy to every moment.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony overlooking the main square and the slopes, for great scenery, but bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Las_Donnas, Directeur général at Hotel Las Donnas, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mrs, Dear Sir,
Thanks a lot for your review and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
But we are sorry that you've been bothered by the noise of your neighbours. We strive to make our guests feel at home and we aim to be able to answer their requests the best we can. Sadly, sometimes gusts don't realize they are not alone in an hotel, especially youngsters.
We however hope to see you again at our establishment.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thoroughly recommend for a well priced hotel opposite the gondolas. Auron very sweet village
for a few days skiing - easy to get to. A week probably too long!! Great views from rooms with balconies and acceptable breakfast - easy to book and polite staff. Fly into Nice, get the ski bus, it stops almost outside the hotel for one euro!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Las_Donnas, Directeur général at Hotel Las Donnas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mrs,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel.

It was a pleasure receiving you.

Looking forward to seeing you for a next trip in Auron.

Thanks again.

The Las Donnas hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent a great week at hotel las donnas. We took the resort package called "privilege" with ski passes and half board. It was such a good deal. The hotel is close to the gondola, you just have to cross the main square. The room we had was facing the slopes and had a balcony. Staff is very kind and food is excellent (French). We would come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Las_Donnas, Directeur général at Hotel Las Donnas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mrs,

It was a pleasure receiving you during your last vacations.

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you for a next trip in Auron.

Thanks again.

The Las Donnas hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed in 4 hotels in Auron, and this one is by far the best. Rooms are clean and nice, the balcony is great in the morning when you want an invigorating wake-up. The hotel terrace is great on afternoons. I've seen some of my compatriots complaining about the breakfast, but I found it very good compared to all the other places we've been to. The dinning room is well decorated, as the rest of the premises. Hotel staff and owners are friendly and helpful. We came when the restaurant was closed for one week, which was a shame since we ended up testing some of the restaurants of the square and the famous "white grouse pub". Honestly don't go there to eat. The ale's good, the owner talkative but the raclette has no taste, the pizzas are horrible (go to Pierre&Marie). Auron is a family resort, so don't expect too much after 21h it's not Courcheviele. We chilled several evenings in the comfortable sofas of the las donas surfing the web, and as I'm a provence fan, I was happy to find some OTT winery's there. Overall, we found this hotel to be the best deal in town. Don't head up there when it's french school vacations, since Auron is crowded and much more pricey.

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Las_Donnas, Directeur général at Hotel Las Donnas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mrs, dear Sir,

Wow!, it was a pleasure reading your fedback on our hotel.

We thank you very much for your stay and looking forward to receiving you again on your next vacations.

Thanks again.

The Las Donnas hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a no frills resort, this hotel is right in the middle of everything. If all you crave is a hotel right next to the ski lift then Las Donnas is your place, if you are planning on staying the whole time in your room, then don't plan a ski holiday. Trust me enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel. The good points are evident; proximty to the slopes, some fantatstic staff; housekeeping & dining room staff most notably. warm & cosy.

But ... My family and I did not really enjoy our time spent in this hotel. Rooms far too small to be comfortable, no bath unless I wanted to use the shared bathroom. Very limited breakfast option and as a previous poster said - although we'd paid B&B, I preferred to go out where I could get a good coffee and snack.

Options for evening meals very limited. Had to pre-book any of the nice a'la carte options by 3.00 the day before. While this gave me comfort that produce was being bought in specifically, it is difficult to anticipate what you may feel like eating the next day. The set menu we did have once or twice was tasty but on both ocassions, the food was tepid at best. Service in dining room good.

What this hotel has in convenience, it lacks in atmosphere and ambience. We sat in the lounge many times and we were never approached and asked if we would like a drink, coffee, anything ... The dining room was a most uninviting room and not somewhere you would choose to spend your time or money.

I imagine this hotel is however, pretty busy and maybe it is resting on its laurels as a result? In my humble opinion, a bit of love would go a long way to making this place more appealing.

Room Tip: Top tips: Select a room with a balcony and make sure you book a room with a bath! Eat in the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Las_Donnas, Directeur général at Hotel Las Donnas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Madam, thank you very much for your comment on our hotel and we are sorry that your stay was not that enjoyable.

You booked a family suite with 2 rooms. We are very sorry you would have wanted another configuration, but it's not usual to put several showers and bathrooms in the same 2 room suite.

Concerning breakfast, the package you chose was with complimentary breakfast, with no additional cost. The breakfast we serve is French (as we are in France), and yes we do not propose an English or an American breakfast. When we travel in England or in the US, we do not expect a French breakfast to be served to us... However, if you ask us (kindly) we can arrange many extras, too bad you did not ask.

All our cuisine is home-made, that's our choice. In order to provide our guests the best quality and authenticity, we elaborated some rules that have to be followed, that is too not to be able to order a mountain speciality after a certain hour (the same day). We understand that can be frustrating for some, but in order to maintain a certain quality level, this is not negotiable.

You did not find our dinning room appealing, we are sorry about that and in fact a little bit surprised since the decoration of the restaurant is often praised by our guests as at the same time being authentic with modernity. Why then having dinner at our place 5 nights out of you 7 nights stay if you did not like it ?

And surprised we are again, when you say the lounge did not have any atmosphere and ambiance: when people sit in our lounge they not necessarily want to have a drink, especially they do not necessarily want someone from the staff asking them if they want to drink something, bothering them all the time. It's the French etiquette. But as we remember you never missed a chance spending some time in the lounge a drink in your hand, so I guess your wishes were taken care of with some kind words to go with them.

Thanks again for your stay and we hope we adressed your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Auron and more importantly right across the road from the ski lift, critical if you're carrying skis whilst walking in ski boots. Plenty of ski hire shops on the doorstep. 

We booked a room with balcony on the front of the hotel, which overlooks the ice rink and village; the rear rooms overlook a car park. Lovely mountain views from the tiny balcony. 

The hotel is basic, but clean and central. Value for money is difficult to call, for the same price I could of booked a 4/5 star luxury hotel with spa in central Nice, but with an hour drive each way down the mountain, even taking the bus for €1 each way, we preferred to stay in Auron. Especially after a day skiing. 

The hotel is old, three stories with no lift and a tight winding staircase; but its clientele is mobile Winter skiers or Summer walkers, certainly not recommended if you have mobility problems. 

The ski room is minuscule with no place for boot storage, so you have to store your snow coated ski boots in your bathroom to thaw. The bathroom however is the smallest I have seen. You almost have to stand in the bath to close the door. Showers were not the promised rainfall heads but a very basic version connected to the taps with a plastic hook on the wall. We had to pull out completely the pop up bath plug to get the drain to flow adequately. Likewise the heating is old, because the building is. Radiators were impossible to control, but the hotel was warm. Toiletries were basic. 

The room itself was again basic, but clean. TV, wardrobe and that's your lot. No safe, coffee making, fridge, bedside light. Nothing  

The €12 breakfast comprised coffee served at your table with a few pastries, cereals and juice; together with a slice of ham and cheese. We tried it once, but found a better offering in the village thereafter. Slalom restaurant offered full American for the same price. 

The elderly couple who own the hotel are very pleasant, the free WiFi works brilliantly, the lounge is open until 9PM if you want to sit comfortably and the €25 dinner looked appealing, although we ate out. 

The food in the White Grouse pub across the road was delicious with a wide choice and nice wine by the pichet, served by very friendly multi-lingual owners. Highly recommended. 

The Brasserie served great wine in the village for €3 per glass, compared to nearer €10 in other places. a big difference if you fancy a few night caps. 

In summary, all the hotels are similar in terms of offering and price, so despite what may appear to be a critical review we would stay here again; the criticalness being relative to the high price per night paid. 

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Las_Donnas, Directeur général at Hotel Las Donnas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir, thanks a lot for your balanced comment, and for the kind words.

We understand all stay can sometimes not be at the top and we want to address some of the so-so points you mention.

We are proud our hotel is the first building of the resort. It has been built in 1937 and since then had had many configuration changes. Starting with only few rooms at that time, 2 additional storeys have been built, now giving the hotel a capacity of almost 40 rooms.

Of course, when you choose a building like ours, it has history, it has a past. Many pieces of the original decoration have been preserved, and embellished, and each time the hotel had been renovated, we never forgot were it comes from.

What people like about our hotel, is that it gives what you can expect for a ski holiday trip. Our rooms go up to 25m2. The room you chose was 15m2. It is considered, in France, as being a good size for 2 people for a hotel like ours and we can guarantee that it is far bigger than many rooms you would find in Auron. (As a funny comparison, the 4 stars Paramount hotel in NYC Times Square has an average room size of 12m2 -and nobody seemed to be bothered by that- but yes, it has been originally designed by Philippe Starck, we are sure that can make forget people the room sizes).
We understand the way you were taking a shower was one of your concern. It seems like people like to take showers differently in Europe: for instance, English people prefer to have the shower head high above their heads and even directly part of the wall, as Italian or French mostly prefer being able to have the shower head in their hand and wash each part of their body specifically. So, it is hard to satisfy each style, it's the reason why our shower heads are mobile and can be plugged on the wall on request, if this is your style of taking the shower.

The ski locker you are talking about can accommodate more than 100 pairs of skis, but, as we asked you, we prefer our guests dry their ski boots in their bathrooms so they are dry in the morning. It's however our guests' choice to leave their boots in the ski locker, but it would not be the best way to have the warm and dry the next morning.

Breakfast wise, we understood your concern about the breakfast you had at our hotel. We have to remind you that you are in France, even more, you are In the French Alps, and we propose a French breakfast which you can adapt with some extras of your choice if you like. When we travel in the US or England, we do not expect a French breakfast being served to us.

We hope we addressed your concern.

Thanks again for your visit at our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Donnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Donnas

Address: Rue Sainte Marie Madeleine, 06660 Auron, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes Maritimes > Auron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Auron, the large ski resort in the south Alps, one hour away from the Nice airport on the French Rivera, the Las Donnas Hotel widely faces the sunin front of the trails as well as 80 meters of the cableway, and is just a couple of steps from the activity center.The hotel will seduce by its exceptional location and comfort. Since 1962, a warm, personalised service and a carefully prepared and traditional catering menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Donnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Donnas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.