We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience in the quirkiest hotel seen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
2 Rue Petit Coquempot, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience in the quirkiest hotel seen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I called in to Montreuil sur mer on the last day of our trip to France and thought the walled town a gem, with plenty of hotels and restaurants to choose from and wonderful views from the ramparts.
Whilst wandering around we came across the Hotel de France and looked into the courtyard which was a charm to see, and it was a pity it was not a warm summer’s day as the cobbled area with flowers and general layout lends itself to alfresco dining and relaxing.
We went into reception and were blown away by the decoration and artefacts scattered around.
We were welcomed by Janie and Patrick and shown around the hotel and an available bedroom which was again unusual, but just right for this 16c hotel with such a wealth of history.
We decided to stay as it seemed an experience we could not miss out on and we were not let down.
If you want a luxurious hotel with double glazing, TV, radio, trouser press etc this is definitely not for you, but if you want a brilliant experience then give it a go.
We found Janie and Patrick very helpful and we were interested to find out about the history of the hotel and their tenure.
We think a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    11
    9
    49
See reviews for
29
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel has had a glorious past and a history to be proud of in the 18th and 19th Centuries but the accommadation appears to have been untouched since the 1960's at best. Expectations have moved forward, The Hotel de France has not.

We had taken my daughter to buy some fizz from The Wine Society nearby for her 40th birthday and frankly I felt embarrassed when she said "I expect I will get used to the stale smell of the room in time".

I am sure that on a hot summer's evening the courtyard could be delightful, given sufficient wine but on a damp October evening we appeared to be the only guests, the very English owners were away at their Algarve villa. An an English friend did her best but when she said after showing us the rooms "I can do breakfast if you want at 10 euros each" it was not difficult to decline and find a lovely brasserie in the town for much less than half the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent the weekend with friends at Hotel de France in the beautiful fortified bastide of Montreuil sur Mer. Janie and Patrick, our hosts, were fabulous and keen to ensure that we had a great time. I had the bedroom where Victor Hugo wrote Les Miserables complete with sloping floors. The service was great and I can thoroughly recommend the hotel and its restaurant.

Room Tip: Book room 12b
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

to have discovered the Hotel de France. A magical visual feast of decor, history and character. Superb wine and food, and a haven for young children. Bouyant and friendly service from owners and staff. The Hotel de France is a remarkable find, and was the perfect last stop on a two week camping tour around france...memorable and fun.
Will make it our first choice hotel out and into Calais on all future holidays.
Catherine

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mel Smith Room - excellant for families, and my son adored having his own princely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just spent 2 nights in Montreuil (3rd , 4th Aug 2012) to attend the town's production of Les Miserables. Superb and made even more enjoyable by staying at the Hotel de France. It is a hotel with real character and a great courtyard that looks like the last stagecoach has just left. Now used for outside eating if the weather is good.
The hotel goes back to mid 1600's so no Ibis but then if you want to savour history the uneven floors and idiosyncratic decor adds to the atmosphere.
Careful of the hot water - near boiling!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are looking for luxury, do not come here. If you want history - it is perfect. The courtyard is beautiful, festooned with flowers - the rooms, while needing a facelift, have a faded glory which is a reminder of the hotel's historic past. An excellent and modestly priced meal in the restaurant, and a good welcome from our hosts. If you want luxury and total lack of history and atmosphere, go to a Best Western instead.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had booked the "monet room"!!.No reference to Monet apart from a very small picture.Romantic?It was musty,the door didn't shut properly,waited ten minutes for hot waterand very noisy.Overhyped and over priced!!Owner aloof and not very friendly.Would we stay here again.Absolutly not.A rip off.Ibis next time.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Monet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 2 Rue Petit Coquempot, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.