We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personally family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coq Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coq Hotel to your Saves list
Coq Hotel
2, place de la Poissonnerie, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
1,041 helpful votes 1,041 helpful votes
“Excellent personally family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stay here 3 or 4 times a year, in conjunction with dinners held by The Wine Society. This time we had three nights : 25, 26 and 27 October. It has about 15 rooms so is on a different scale to, e.g., Hermitage. It is also distinguished by husband (Arsene) and wife (Brigitte) running it and one or other of them is on hand to take reservations, greet guests, serve breakfast etc. Truly a personal touch.

I have written several reports on previous stays so will not repeat the physical description. We again had room 33 which on the top floor has a walk-in shower unit.

The restaurant was not open this time and Brigitte told us that it would not be during the winter. Arsene is concentrating on his soup bar : Pot du Clape. This does not disadvantage guests as Atelier, Capucins, Froggys Tavern etc are all good and within walking distance.

We paid €98 per night + €13 each for breakfast. This takes account of the discount given to Wine Society members staying 3 nights.

We shall certainly stay again next time

Room Tip: Room 33 has a walkin shower and a double and a single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    67
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
103
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Givrezac
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The restaurant called Cocquempot at this hotel was very good. We had tried a couple other places in the town, they were all booked up, but we were not disappointed here the service was very good as was the food. Would recomend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked the room, parking and late arrival in advance and everything worked out fine.
Had dinner on the first night, but quite disappointed. Menu choice is small, as are the portions. Chicken main course on 38 Euro menu is not labelled as leg or confit; very small but was reasonably tasty unlike the very small 'cakes' of vegetables.
Wine choice limited.
Breakfast choice excellent but the viennoise pastries over-baked. Parking is expensive and some diplomacy and good parking required.

Room Tip: Yers, go for a courtyard facing room in the new block, and have a room with bath. necessary after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Parking was tight, as has been previously mentioned, but perfectly adequate. Spotlessly clean larger than usual hotel room, with a full size sofa and an enormous shower room. Nice touches, such as bath robes. Not air conditioned, but this is usual for France.

Fantastic breakfast buffet with breads, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, croissants, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice and so on.

The stay would have been perfect if it had not been for the dog poo in the courtyard and the ever-present small dog in the restaurant. Dogs and food do not mix in my opinion.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a ground floor annexe and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a well-situated hotel with a quiet but efficient welcome. Parking is a problem as the hotel courtyard is small, reservations only and costs €10.50 per night! However, we were provided with Blue Discs to allow us to unload and then, being a Saturday night, we were safe until morning. The rooms are very nice and quiet but were quite hot on a warm night - there is no air on option but this is not a major issue. Breakfast was probably one of the best I have seen but is expensive at €15 per head - a lot for a coffee and croissant but, to be fair, the selection was superb and you could eat much more if desired. So overall, a nice stop but the €170 bill for 1 night B&B was a bit of a shock. Recommended and worth the money I think but don't expect a cheap night and don't expect easy parking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times over the past few years and never disappointed. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and spacious. The hotel's location in the centre of town means that you can park your car safely in the hotel's courtyard and walk anywhere. The hotel's restaurant serves excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Two good tips we picked up from trip advisor for this hotel.... You don't need to pay to use the hotel car park (expensive), there is plenty of free parking near the hotel in town, though bear in mind most of it is 90 minute limit between 9am and 7pm. We arrived 5.30 pm and left 10.30am and parked right out front of the hotel. The other good tip is that wine society members get a discount on room and breakfast - ask for it!

There have been some negative breakfast comments re lack of eggs or cooked options and also price. All I would say is that there is a lovely, good quality array of everything else... And nice touch with butter and jam in dishes, not plastic sachets. Excellent croissants!

Two final things... We rather liked that the proprietor allowed us to practice our French and didn't automatically launch into English: we felt he made an effort to moderate his seaking speed to allow us to understand.

It is often disappointing when you book a room in an old, characterful hotel, only to find yourself ushered to the new bit out back. However in this case disappointment was soon overcome by the quality of the room and indeed an effort seemed to have been made to make the 'new bit' seem quite middle aged! Very comfortable. Room 21 overlooked the pretty courtyard looking back towards the characterful main building.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coq Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coq Hotel

Address: 2, place de la Poissonnerie, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coq Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coq Hotel Montreuil Sur Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coq Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.