We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Montreuil

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Montreuil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Montreuil
4, chaussee des Capucins, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We live in London and we decided to stop in Chateau Montreuil on our way from London to Paris by car. We love Relais & Chateau experiences (usually, with some exceptions) and we found this property gor-ge-ous!! It is a little chateau on the top of the (beautiful) village of Montreuil, very charming, cozy and elegant.

The property has a beautiful garden where guests can enjoy a number of services in sunny days. Inside the property - in the common areas - is elegant and similar to a private country house. The breakfast room offers a beautiful garden view and the quality of ingredients is truly exceptional (and we understand largely hand-made).

We slept in a suite in a dependance (1 minute from the main building) which was on two floors: beautiful, with two bathrooms, a great wonderful sleeping area on top and a living room downstairs. It was winter time and the room had a great heating system on. Charming furniture, very good taste, exceptional style. We loved it. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We slept in a Suite in the dependance, chalet-style. Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    30
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
83
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes, it could just be! From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. The bedroom was absolutely beautiful, full of old-world charm and wooden panels, with windows on three sides, numerous balconies, great views, a walk in closet, and a huge and spotless marble bathroom, simply perfect, in fact I can't think of a better room I have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world. I didn't see the other rooms to comment on, but presume they were similar.
The grounds were beautiful, and very well maintained, as was the pool area, and they were lovely to walk around, as was the town outside the hotel's walls. Dinner was also excellent, combining modern French cuisine, with the friendly unpretentious warmth of home cooking. Add to this the lovely staff and owners, and we simply couldn't have had a better stay. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were enchanted by this hotel. Our room was delightful with a huge period bathroom (even a dressing table in it!) charmingly decorated. The staff were very kind and helpful and we were welcomed on our (very late) arrival with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and a brandy for my husband. Perfect! The restuarant is also a charming room overlooking the garden, and breakfast was very good indeed and well worth having. Sadly we were unable to stay for lunch but will be back sample the chef's skills on our next visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a wet, windy and cold morning trudging around the ramparts of Montreuil we were in need of cheering up, and having avoided the Chateau de Montreuil in favour of something cheaper on the other occasions when we visited the town, we decided that now was the time for luxury. The Chateau is set in a walled formal garden and despite a blackboard outside offering sweet or savoury snacks we saw several couples peer through the gates and then move on. It was after mid-day and in the restaurant the waiters were polishing spoons but the bar, which is a cosy sitting room near the front door, is where the snacks are served and we choose tea, hot chocolate and crumpets.

The crumpets were home-made (of course) and cooked to order and arrive on a chaffing dish accompanied by enough butter, blackcurrant jam and orange marmalade to feed a dozen 18th century travellers. The bill came to €19 including the baffling array of taxes that appear at the bottom of every bill in France, and which I hope includes service. No-one seemed bothered that we sat for an hour waiting for the rain to ease and the only other party in the bar were still drinking champagne and ordering their lunch when we left. By the way, very good toilets, reached by walking through the restaurant (which is how we know the waiters were polishing the spoons).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

One night of perfect hospitality (such nice staff), delicious meal with specially dressed table (top dishes scallops & pigeonneau), plus luxurious and comfortable room made a birthday break to remember. The cooking was generous & excellent; it felt quite traditional in some ways, but had the lightness of a modern approach with a delicate broth sauce. We were still too full of dinner to try breakfast! Not our first visit & I'm sure not our last. This is a really good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 has good 4-poster bed, comfy sofa, flame -effect fireplace & an absolutely fabulous bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you want to treat yourself for a special birthday or occasion, I can highly recommend this venue.
Spent my 60th birthday here and they really treated me like a Queen. Would not hesitate to go back. The staff are lovely, the rooms are spacious, the beds fit for a great nights sleep.
Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south notts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Chateau de Montreil is situated in the heart of a lovely walled town made famous by Victor Hugo who set part of ' Les Miserables' there.We have visited the Chateau many times and have never been disappointed. It is a typical Relais et Chateaux with very high standards of decor, comfort amd service. The restaurant is excellent and the food outstanding.Prices are at the high end of the market but one has to pay for quality. For members of the Wine Society whose depot is in Montreuil it is the perfect last stop on a french motoring holiday to combine some luxury with wine collection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Montreuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Montreuil

Address: 4, chaussee des Capucins, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de Montreuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Montreuil Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer
Château De Montreuil Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Montreuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.