We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely room, but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Rodiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Rodiere
Save
You added La Rodiere to your Saves list
77 rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A lovely room, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

First the good things - the room was lovely & comfortable with elegant furniture and the same went for the rest of the house; there was a plentiful continental breakfast and the house was in an ideal situation in the centre of the town close to all the amenities. The breakfast was prepared by a very sweet lady called Charlene and her recommendations of places to visit was helpful and first rate. Unfortunately these good things were outweighed by the problems. We arrived at 5pm and could not gain access, we were just about to enquire at a local shop if they knew how to contact the owners, when Charlene arrived and said that she was expecting us at 4pm and as we did not turn up at that time she went away again - the owners were apparently away and had left her to look after the visitors. If we had known, we could have arranged a time to arrive, but this was not suggested - and surely Charlene should have stayed in the house until we did arrive. Except at breakfast time we had the run of the house, very trusting of the owners I'm sure, but it did mean that when we needed milk for our tea and replenishments for the hospitality tray, I had to wander into the kitchen and help myself. Also no-one came in during the day to make the beds or empty the bin - meaning we did the housework ourselves and had quite a collection of used teabags in the bin by the end of our stay. One day, the doorbell rang in the late afternoon, so we answered the door and found a couple who had booked for one night and finding the house empty had waited in the square opposite for someone to arrive at the house. We became the hosts (!), let them in, showed them round the house and because they had seen a photograph of the room they'd been offered, took them to their room. Fortunately the charming Charlene arrived later and confirmed their booking. Unfortunately as nice as Charlene was herself and how pleasant the house was, I couldn't possibly recommend La Rodiere to anyone because of the lackadaisal way it was run - I would have marked it as terrible if the kitchen had been kept locked!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larodiere, Owner at La Rodiere, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Unfortunately situations occur when the owners cannot be present, we endeavour to try and have cover which fulfils the needs of our guests. Some things get lost in translation and it was not ideal that Charlene was not at the house when the guests arrived, however she was not far away and was there shortly after the guests had arrived. On the positive side I am heartened that if the only negatives were having to help oneself to milk from the fridge and that teabags needed throwing away, we must be doing the majority of things right. We are only a bed & breakfast although we normally provide a service which is on par with a hotel, in exceptional circumstances we may fall short, not by design but by circumstance. You can see from previous postings that when we are there, which is the majority of the time, our reviews are excellent. Our apologies to our guest who thought they did not get the personal owner service which is normally on offer at La Rodiere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Lucky to find this great little gem. Surprised to see comment about small bath as we had a rather grand affair which was great as a bath but not so easy for marginally handicapped as I am. But good sized room and bathroom and otherwise all good with decent breakie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Against some of the other properties in the square, La Rodiere looked rather shabby from the outside. However, when the door was opened by Ed, his friendly welcome made up for our first misgivings. The inside of La Rodiere has the makings of being truly stunning. There are some wonderful pieces of furniture dotted about and some very interesting objects of arts, nick nacs, etc. The central staircase was gorgeous.

Up two flights of stairs and we were taken to our room. This was very spacious with a very comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. It made for a great night's sleep. The bathroom was 'different'. We expected a standing shower (although I did not specifically request one) and instead had a bath for a midget with a shower attachment. However, the bathroom totally suited the old fashioned feel of the property. There was only one decent bath towel (egyptian cotton from John Lewis), yet two of us were occupying the room! The other towel was shocking by comparison and long past its 'sell by date'. There were many little extras like nail kits and plug adaptors provided, but no hairdryer.

Breakfast was a dismal affair by comparison to all the other places we had stayed at, before we reached La Rodiere. The fresh orange juice however, was a nice touch.

Overall, La Rodiere has the potential to be truly special, but it will need some serious money spending on it initially, which I am sure will reap an abundance of benefits in the longer term. Whilst only a 'guest house' at the moment, La Rodiere could be an awesome hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This B&B is in a really beautiful old town house in one of Montreuil's lovely squares, right in the center of the town. La Rodiere offers free wifi, DVD players (with a great selection of DVDs to choose from) and ipod players in every room. Bedrooms are all ensuite, stylish and very comfortable. Sky TV is available in breakfast room. The breakfasts are truly wonderful. Freshly squeezed orange juice, real coffee and all the food you'd expect in France. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at La Rodiere for one night in July. It is a really pretty property, in a great location. We were made to feel really welcome and our special breakfast requests were met even though we did not arrive until fairly late in the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We had a fabulous time at La Rodiere and were immediately made to feel welcome by the lovely owners Diana and Steve. Steve even let me win at Pool ; )
Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished with a great en-suite.
Le Touquet with its beautiful beaches is just 15 minutes away!!

We can absolutely recommend La Rodiere and we will definitely visit again soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rodiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rodiere

Address: 77 rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chambers d'hotes that thinks it's a hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rodiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.