We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos des Capucins

Le Clos des Capucins
46 Place du General de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
03 21 06 08 65
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

So good we went back a second night and were equally pleased.
The staff were friendly and the food excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    48
    35
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a evening meal here and would definitely eat here again. A good choice on the menu with average prices. The service was very good as was the food. We had the three course menu for E24 and it was worth it. Wine a little expensive but that's France. If you eat here do try the squid started and have the cheese board.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was by far the busiest restaurant we came across in Montreuil on a Saturday night and we were not disappointed. Service was friendly and the quality of the food was excellent . The beefsteak tomato starter was tasty and made use of interesting ingredients. The cod millefeuille was perfectly cooked and imaginatively presented with white asparagus and vegetables. The warmed strawberry dessert with sorbet rounded off a perfectly balanced meal. Overall the bill was just under 100 Euros for three with wine , which is reasonable for this standard of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I'd eat there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We planned to eat at the Darnetal, a favourite, but it being a Tuesday this restaurant was closed so we chose the Clos des Capucins. There were plenty of British in the town but we noticed that many of the diners were locals - which seemed encouraging. We chose the set menu at €19 for two courses, and with wine, coffee and water our bill was €65. For a main course we had a dish of cod with white asparagus, millefeuille and carrots. The cod melted in the mouth and the rest of this dish was a foil to the cod - although I am not such an enthusiast for white asparagus as the French, finding it somewhat lacklustre. I started with a healthy sized slab of terrine (de lendemain de pot au feu, said the menu) and my wife had a slice of beefsteak tomato with grilled goat cheese - both full of flavour. We chose a very good Quincy at €17 a half bottle (I had to drive afterwards).

The service was efficient and friendly, the restaurant about two thirds full and the atmosphere pleasant. Some hardy folks sat outside but we have learned to avoid Montreuil's brisk winds.

I'd eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

On the town square this is a popular restaurant. Modern in design with a small bar. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the food was wonderful, we had a good evening here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos des Capucins also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Clos des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos des Capucins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.