We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be trusted to honour reservations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Patio

Le Patio
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Patio
17 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cannot be trusted to honour reservations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

In December 2011/January 2012 I booked two rooms. I got an e-mail confirmation of my reservation on 03.01.2012. On about 21.04.2012 I got an e-mail from the Hotel that our confirmed reservation could no longer be honoured as the rooms were now let out to other people.
I would recommend anyone wanting to go to this Hotel to think twice as they might find themselves withou a rooms shortly before their arrival.
I for one will never go there again whihs is sad as the mother of the owner was such a lovely and honourable person.

Room Tip: No comments as I was prevented to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend away with friends, staying at Le Patio in Montreuil.
Our room was clean and comfortable, not overly spacious, but good value.
We ate in the restaurant on Friday evening, which seemed to be full of mainly local people (usually a good sign!). The meal was excellent - varied menu, tasty and beautifully presented.
As you might expect, there was a good variety of (French) wine on offer.
We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the creme carmel - which appeared to be freshly made just for us!
Throughout our stay we found the staff to be pleasant, attentive and helpful. However, this may have been because one of our friends can speak fluent French and was therefore able to engage them in full conversation which I'm sure helped them to help us. I'm not sure that my wife and I would have enjoyed the same experience had we needed to rely on our own, very limited, linguistic skills (I'm ashamed to admit)!

Room Tip: If they are unoccupied, why not ask to see the available rooms and choose one yourself, as some don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arrived at 1900hrs with no reservation having read reviews. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The meal (four courses) was to a very high standard and was clearly prepared with culinary skill and flair in its presentation. We have eaten in many different restaurants in France over the years, it is ones such as this that give memorable experiences of local French cuisine. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Following the reviews we read, we thought we would have a pleasant lunch last Saturday. We were delayed on the way there and entered the restaurant at 1.30pm without having booked.
I explained the situation and looked around as I was talking to check that there was any spare table left. the restaurant was fairly quiet but to my amazement, the lady behind the bar cut me short and said. "sorry we are fully booked in a very sharp way which meant get out, I cannot be bothered!!!"
On one hand we were disappointed as the menu looked very interesting but we thought that if the staff are that unpleasant , we were better off going somewhere else. We ended up having a very nice meal at Le Darnethal were the couple were courteous and polite, the meal was very good and the bill reasonnable. What a shame!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel on our way back to Calais. The room we stayed in was OK but not 'overly roomy' but it did the job for one night....a bit more of a traditional French hotel. However the Restaurant by far makes up for the room. As it was a Sunday evening we were not 100% sure what restaurants would be open in the town, so we decided to eat at the hotel...what a great choice that was. The food throughout the meal was outstanding very tasty and the presentation was first class. The 'walled' town of Montreuil-sur-Mer is a lovely place to visit, full of character and a variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. In the past we have stayed at Hermitage Hotel (part of Best Western), but I think that the character and the food of Le Patio gives it that 'french feel'

Room Tip: If you have a choice try and book the 'Family Room' ...its a very spacious first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We stopped here by chance for a place to eat which did not have meat as it's main course. It was our lucky day! We were welcomed warmly and shown to a table in lovely surroundings. We started with delicious cheese flan served warm with a lovely side salad. It was followed by cod fillet with roasted vegetables served in a chefy piled up style. We asked for them to leave out the chorizo which they were happy to do. The meal was completed with a lovely strawberry tart served on a neat slate platter. We had a small carafe of red wine and the bill came to €37. A real bargain. The meal wasn't huge but it was lunch so was a perfect size for mid day. We thought the whole experience was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We didn't stay at this hotel but we ate in their restaurant whilst on holiday in Montreuil. The food was first class but that's as far as it went. We called into the hotel the day before we wanted to eat there to book our table. We were greeted by a short, dark haired waitres who was very abrupt. We booked our table for the following evening and could not believe the attitude of this lady. We shrugged this off, not thinking much of it and returned the following evening for our meal where the same lady was serving our food. Her attitude towards us was offish and slightly rude. She served and looked after other people before us and left us sitting waiting. A few times my husband asked for a drink and eventually it was brought to us but to top the evening off, when it came to ordering deserts, she near enough threw the menus at us and walked off!
We will go back to this restaurant again despite the service we had because the food was excellent. It's just a shame it was let down by this one individual.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Patio

Address: 17 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montreuil-sur-Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Patio to your Saves list