We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed in 20 years.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Darnetal

Le Darnetal
Place Darnetal, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
03 21 06 04 87
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maidstone
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Never disappointed in 20 years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been visiting Le Darnetal over the last 20 years (and sadly never thought to write it up for Trip Advisor before) and have never been disappointed with either the food or the service. I rarely rate anywhere as excellent but here it is deserved. It is all a French family-run restaurant should be, and more. We always book ahead, and Madame politely copes with our painful French. There is always a warm welcome, and in winter warm is the operative word. This is an eclectically decorated haven from the cold on a blustery winter's day as was the case when we visited last week. Jean-Paul never fails to provide good food excellently cooked at a fair price and although the wine list is limited it suits the food and the establishment. It is a good, friendly, place to eat, patronised by the locals in a small town that, although touristy, rises above its visitors. We have never been rushed here and Madam is always happy to talk. Our only worry is that in a recent conversation the 'retirement' word came up. Proprietors may move on, but rare places like Le Darnetal should go on forever!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    67
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived on a cold day in March this year. We had a warm welcome that evening when we descended on the restaurant that evening. It is like stepping into an antique/bric-a-brac shop. It makes the place feel cosy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Again, this is not our first visit and will not be the last. The restaurant was busy, so we were glad we had booked a table. The food was very good and to use a cliche, very French and quirky. There are no pretensions however and the atmosphere is relaxed. It is recommended you visit Le Darnetal if you are in Montreuil-sur-Mer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The last few occasions that we have visited Montreuil we have eaten at Le CLos des Capucins. However, on this occasion we found that Le Clos was closed for annual holidays. We looked at the Darnetal and liked what we saw and made a booking for that evening.

Because the evening was very cold we expected that we could be the only diners but were pleasantly surprised to see that there were perhaps another 20 people there.

The Darnetal ofered menus at 22, 29 and 35 Euros. We chose the 29.The food was beautifully cooked and presented. The service was friendly and not rushed and when we had finished no one was hurriedly trying to give us the bill.

The restaurant itself is very quirky with a large array of objects hanging on the walls - including an array of baseball caps. Although the evening was cold outside, inside was warm as was the welcome we received.

We will most certainly return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited Le Darnetal having read some good reviews but were very disappointed.

The service, wine and atmosphere were good but completely let down by the standard of the food.

Food tasted like it was heated (not even hot) and deserts tasted like they were purchased in a generic supermarket.

Overall very disappointing and won't be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Well Worth Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Not having had the chance to revisit Le Darnetal since last May, I grabbed the chance to advise a bunch of colleagues that we really should include it on our 'works outing', So through the Tunnel we went and straight down the A26 stopping for an hour at the Battlefield of Agincourt (Azincourt) which now has a superb museum open year round. Then on to Montreuil for lunch at Le Darnetal.

I took the precaution of making reservations in advance - easily done - and we were quickly settled in by Jean-Paul who really has made Le Darnetal feel like a lovely French living room from around the mid-20th century - wonderfully comfortable.

The food? O la la! This what we expect from the very very best French restaurants, but here the choice of menus range from 20 to 40 euros - hint: the 20 euro menu is superb. The service is pleasant, fun, warm, and as informative as you want it to be.

After lunch we strolled around Montreuil - lovely - before a leisurely drive back up the A26 to visit the V2 rocket Blockhouse at Eperlecque before a 15 minute drive took us back to the Tunnel.

A great day out... and Le Darental remains manifique!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Darnetal also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Darnetal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Darnetal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.