We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly restaurant with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'abri Des Flots

L'abri Des Flots
le Port, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
+33 4 95 56 59 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Ile Rousse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to L'Abri Des Flots, the Chef offers fish dishes of local fish (Chapon, Rougets, Saint Pierre), sa bouillabaisse, lobsters. We suggest you to taste our Corsican Lamb and Veal. Bon Appetit Bon Appetit
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“A friendly restaurant with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We walked past this restaurant on a walk to the lighthouse. It has a lovely terrace with great views and we booked it for our last evening in Ile Rousse. The place is run by a family. The wife is from the US and very friendly. She talked to us about their emigration from the US back to Corsica and how life is different there. They brought us a large selection of freshly caught fish to choose from. This was cooked simply but perfectly.

The restaurant is only ten minutes walk from the centre and worthwhile trying for a different type of evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    27
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great food and excellent service. Only downside is location...right by the port where the ferries dock.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go the extra mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We saw the earlier good comments on this restaurant and decided to give it a go for our last night in Corsica. Good choice - warm welcome, service impeccable and the food was outstanding. The restaurant has not been open that long and they are clearly trying to make a name for themselves.
It is a little out from the centre of Il Rousse, but that has its advantages - easy to park close, more spacious and excellent value for money. You are directly opposite the port, which might put some people off, but it shouldn't - well worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a truly special restaurant, and one in which we had probably the best experience of our trip to Corsica. A short walk out of L'ile Rousse brought us to a lighthouse on a headland with fine views of the sea. As we walked back from the lighthouse we stopped at a closed restaurant and while we looked at the menu, out popped the chef. He then proceeded to tell us about his fish, where it was sourced, how it was prepared. And so it sounding good, we booked the restaurant for our last meal on the island. The restauarant was a family affair, mother, two sons, wife and family friend who we got to know as Pascal. The food was superb, corse meats to start, and after this Chapon. Now Chapon is about as ugly a fish as you have probably seen, red, slightly horny it looks like its been plucked from some recess in hell, and is we think a relative of the scorpion fish or rascasse (which doesn't really improve matters as that's even uglier). In fact Chapon is a humble rockfish with an immense head that is local to the island. So we says, we'll try that! Well in these parts you're introduced to your food before you eat it, so out it pops on a silver platter like John the Baptist and looking like an extract from a horror movie. Assured of it's taste and wanting to try something new we went for it. A while later it reappears in cooked but full form and our waiter pronounces "il est mort", he is dead. But before knife touches flesh, off he goes again only to reappear as filets with some potatoes and an olive oil dressing of capers, tomatoes, and vinegar that gave us one of the best tastes of a fish ever experienced. It may be ugly but it tasted wonderful. Local cheese, some local wine and we were plump full. A coffee and an aqua vita, water of life, which unlike some that turn you momentarily blind, and burn to the pit of your stomach instead tasted smooth and sweet. But by far the best experience was not the food, it was Pascal a retired finance inspector drafted in as a family friend to help for the night. He entertained us from the moment we arrived. He told us of his family, his son a football coach, his love of soccer and rugby, his chance meeting with the French rugby coach and then moved onto his grandkids. But when he talked about Corsica he brought us back to his youth, when his father would cut wheat, how they used a stone to mill it, and the animals lay on it as protection. He told us of the food they grew and ate, the animals they kept, the stars they saw at night. He told us how religion (catholic) was deep within the people, how each village has a saint, and how on one day per year they carry the saint as a statue through the streets before having a party of singing and drinking. His father was one of the saint carriers. He likened the Irish to the Corse for our shared openness, and apparently to the colour of our hair. He told us of clean air how the islanders protect their island. He told us he returned home after many years in Marseille because of les racines, his roots (we heard this used by others). He told us of how a simpler life was better. By the end if it all we were truly convinced and converted. It was one of those rare encounters where a chance meeting leads to someone giving you some of their life's wisdom and experience that leaves you feeling richer for it. As we left, we met the entire family and Pascal, and we more or less floated out on a high due to their food and drink, but particularly due to their incredibly warm hospitality. It was a lovely way to end our holiday on Corsica.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendliest place in Ile Rousse - and food is great too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We ate here on our first and last night in Ile Rousse. The fish soup is superb, and the freshly caught fish beautifully cooked.

And what wonderful people! We had long chats with them about the restaurant and the area.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'abri Des Flots also viewed

Ile Rousse, Haute-Corse
 
Ile Rousse, Haute-Corse
Ile Rousse, Haute-Corse
 

Been to L'abri Des Flots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'abri Des Flots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.