We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sheer delight to dine at this French country house restautant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Vieux Logis to your Saves list
Le Vieux Logis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Ecoles, 24510 Tremolat, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gourdon, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A sheer delight to dine at this French country house restautant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am embarrassed to say that it took 25 years to return here!! From stumbling upon a haven of gastronomy whilst camping in our teens (clad in T-shirts and shorts!) to our next return for my birthday just recently (now that we are all grown-up and live in France), none of the magic has faded. In fact, we actually walked around the stunning formal-but-randomly designed grounds post-lunch, whereas we were far too embarrassed in our teens to be seen outside so under-dressed!
The setting only but heightened our culinary enjoyment of the afternoon. We felt a wee bit guilty that the kitchen was working solely for our pleasure (a wet February Saturday lunchtime), but what pleasure. We both took the Balade Hivernale - a symphony of dishes executed to perfection, singing the praises of tête de veau, foie gras, scallops, rabbit, cheeses, pre and full dessert and coffee/petits fours. Our service was friendly and yet professionally restrained. There was NO pre-imposed service charge added to our bill - (normally obligatoire in most Michelin & similar establishments), and our delightfully memorable souvenir of the day was sharing the intimate salon afterwards with the snoozing proprietor! - the same man who asked us if we had enjoyed our evening - without batting an eyelid (when we had attempted to squirm under the tablecloth in our camping attire) - all those years ago!!
Bravo et on reviendra bientôt - ne changez rien!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    44
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
135
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were visiting our daughter who is at school in the Dordogne- the school is known to the hotel and a splendid reduction in rates was offered. I am sure this was because this is the off season but it was a delightful touch. The hotel was a charming French country house- rustic and comfortable. In no way luxurious but that didn't matter- the staff were friendly and helpful and extremely welcoming of us and 4 children. The room set up was great for a big group although as the parents we got the smallet room! Everything was perfectly adequate although the bed was rather uncomfortable.
The main draw of the hotel at this time of year was the food- we ate twice in the delightful Bistrot and were looked after extremely well by the wonderful waiter Nicolas. Our middle night we ate at the main restaurant and had a wonderful meal- the children were enchanted by their first experience of a Michelin starred restaurant- they tried everything. We had a wonderful bottle of DRC (at incredibly reasonable prices) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The welcome of the four children was impeccable- there was no sense at all that they were not welcome- in fact the absolute opposite- such a delight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Don't come to Tremolat expecting restaurants, cafes and a wonderful shops and bakeries. Le Vieux Logis seems to be a well worn stop for cycling groups passing through. We stayed in a gorgeous junior suite with our family. This opened out onto a beautiful formal French garden and pool. The decor in the suite was delightfully French and so well done (and we are fussy!). The breakfast was fantastic that we had in rooms. We did not eat in the restaurant as it looked very pricey. My husband asked for other recommendations after we ate in their cafe on the corner and were not impressed by the service or ambience (again, all tourists on tours). They seemed to steer us to restaurants that they favoured perhaps for some reason? He found an amazing restaurant nearby called Chez Julien that was the highlight of his culinary life (better than Alain Ducasse's restaurants in Paris if we are just looking purely at food). We enjoyed this hotel and were sad to leave. The French doors opening onto the garden and pool were great for the kids and the girls loved the TINY room they had that adjoined the junior suite. I would not want to try to stay there myself though as it was the smallest room I'd ever seen- totally gorgeous for the girls though with canopies over the upholstered beds. We loved that we could open the casement windows out to the fresh air and see the ivy clad walls opposite. Very village- like feel. Unfortunately the wi-fi was horrific so don't try to do any work, Skype or use Viber here. You'll have to unplug and relax!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've known this hotel for the past 15 years have have come back many times over the years. We love the hotel, the gardens, the atmosphere. The hotel is set in an old tobacco farm (tobacco being a traditional crop of the region). Each room is different. The staff is always attentive to your needs. The restaurant is fabulous. The hotel is set in a village. You need a car to visit the region. There is nothing really noteworthy in the village, but the region is so rich with towns and sites to visit that you cannot get bored. Otherwise, you can just lie on a chair in the garden (summer only ;-) or in front of the fireplace with a good book (winter time) and relax...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing! Nice rooms, good swimming pool, good restaurant. There was fois gras on the kids menu!!!!! There is also this ice cream that tastes like Carambar, a popular French candy, which is absolutely amazing!!! They let us stay with our dog, which was nice. The restaurant is nice with a pleasant outdoor dining area. This hotel is very fancy though. It is in a very nice town and it is easy to find. It is not on a main road and is very quiet.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What can I say! Is there anything better than coming upon a Relais Chateau Hotel after a 25 km trek through the French forests around Dordogne. We wandered the lovely gardens and made our way to our lovely french toile adorned room. Even the beds were comfortable-which is sadly lacking in most of France. The venerable atmosphere was topped off by a once in a lifetime 7 course dinner at the hotel restaurant. We (embarrassingly) left after the 6th course thinking our amuse bouche was actually dessert-no portion skimping here! The meal ended with a choice of 30, yes 30 different local cheeses. Man, I want to go back!! My wife and I dream of this place at least once a month!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is not quite a luxury hotel or inn. It is an old inn with some degree of charm. Without the restaurant I do not think there would the attraction here. The gardens are quite pleasant, and the setting outside for dinner on a warm summer night is lovely. We stayed one night, and that was enough. We had a "comfort room" (#7) for 225 euros. The room was bright and cheerful as long as the sun was shining into it. But otherwise the room suffered with dismal lighting. The A/C worked, the bed was comfortable, and the bethroom OK. The shower was an impovisation; the European water wand could be hung on a hook. Our friends in room 6 did not have a hook. Apparently, management does not consider this a big deal. I do. Since the accommodations were on the small side, there was no mirror other than the standard bathroom mirror.
We very much enjoyed the grounds and dining under the trees in the evening. The service was excellent. The menu featured traditional choices well executed--no experimental stuff. We looked at the wine list in advance of our meal and had some wines decanted for us, which allowed them to open beautifully. In all, the meal was better than the room. The morning breakfast in the old tobacco warehouse was a treat. The usual breakfast foods were offered in an evocative setting.
As for touring in the area, the refurbished cloisters in nearby Cadouin are just stunning. I would skip the cingle de Tremolat, which we found disappointing. Given that one could go west to St. Emilion or east to Sarlat, I would not spend much time in Tremolat.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Address: Rue des Ecoles, 24510 Tremolat, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vieux Logis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.