We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Truffieres

Les Truffieres
Bosredon, 24510 Tremolat, France
05-53-27-30-44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 restaurants in Tremolat
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
merritt island Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had a delightful dining experience at this out of the way countryside restaurant. It was more like eating in someone's home then a restaurant. The place was eclectic and cosy. The owner visited our table several times and we felt very much at home. The food was amazing and presentation beautiful. It included all the French favorites grilled duck, veggies, foie gras, and homemade cheese. It was a long leisurely meal and worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    34
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“So different and so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant is to be found in a rural area in the Dordogne and is noticeably different the moment you arrive. You are welcomed by the proprietor with a drink and seated at a table. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal. The decor is interesting with posters and information fixed to the walls reflecting the owners travel and political interests. There is no printed menu. Indeed there is no choice as a fixed course meal is served with appropriate wine and aperitifs and other drinks included. Duck is prominent on any menu in this part of France and that is the case here. The courses are inventive and different and I would certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A gastromic haven in the woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a house over a mile from this delightful restaurant located in the woods on the hill above Tremolat. We walked there through the woods which took about 20 minutes. It is not for the unfit and you need to allow plenty of time, leave the high heels at home, lot easier on the way back down.
The setting is magical and we ate in the gadren under an awning. It is a set menu and you need to like foie gras and duck, not a problem for us. We thoroughly enyoyed the meal seved by the owner Yannick who tempted us with course after course as we did not see a menu. At €30 per head for lunch to include an apero, wine and desert wine with the foie gras it is great value. If you are in the area check it out, it would be best to book beforehand. It is not hard to find as there are signposts on several roads approaching Tremolat. If you stay in or near the village why not ask for directions and walk there but wear your walking shoes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A superb gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the fourth year we have visited. Always a pleasure and a warm welcome. Do not visit if you are vegetarian. Set menu, including drinks, based upon local produce - Simply unsurpassed, better every year. We came here on our aniversary and they opened especially for us! - Highly recommended - basic French advised :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A hidden gem. Difficult to find as it is off the beaten track but well worth searching for. The duck pate is delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Truffieres also viewed

 

Been to Les Truffieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Truffieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.